We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Something VERY special”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Wriggly Tin

The Wriggly Tin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Wriggly Tin
Back View of The Wriggly Tin BBQ Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The Wriggly Tin
Back View of The Wriggly Tin
BBQ Area
Living Room with Open Log Fire
Living Room
Dining room with seating for 10 at the table
Stairs to Loft bedroom
Twin beds in Loft Bedroom
Main Bathroom
Winter at The Wriggly Tin
The Wriggly Tin In snow
Main Door
3 Bedded Room
3 Bedded Room
Stairs and Hall Lower Ground Floor
1st Double Bedroom with Arched window opening to garden
2nd Double Bedroom
Garden from Dining Room Window
Gravel Area in Garden
Friendly Visitor
Main door over Foot Bridge
Floor Plan of The Wriggly Tin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Millers Dale, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Waggywoo
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something VERY special”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed here from Friday to Monday with 7 other friends. We go away for the weekend together every year and this is by far the best place we have ever stayed and we will certainly be back! The place is absolutely spotless and has everything in it that you could wish for. The personal touches of home made flapjack, chocolate and fresh flowers made us feel so welcome on arrival. Our shopping had been delivered and had all been put away and the owner had let us know it had arrived.
The place had everything you could need from toilet rolls, washing up liquid, cloths, hand wash, tea towels, all of which we normally have to take with us.
We had a walk on the Monsal Trail and a visit to the local pub (about 5 mins walk) and very friendly. We also were lucky enough to be there for the Chatsworth Christmas Fair.
What a wonderful weekend we all had and a fantastic place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house cleanliness and special touches
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we just try to make your stay at The Wriggly Tin as enjoyable as possible. Please come again anytime you like.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapnFinn
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely holiday home :)”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable, spacious and fun! The cottage is an ideal base to explore the area which is beautiful in all seasons.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a good time here.

Kind regards
KAren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A fantastic property”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I stayed at The Wriggly Tin for a weekend with a group of friends. The property was easy to find and absolutely gorgeous. There were lovely welcoming touches - flapjack and chocolate - and the property was spotless and had every convenience. I was lucky enough to bag the room overlooking the garden and the amazing view was a pleasure to wake up to. The surrounding area is beautiful and we enjoyed a visit to nearby Tideswell. The quietness and the lovely scenery meant that we were able to have a totally relaxing weekend, just what we needed away from the stresses of work and daily life.

The only downside was nothing whatsoever to do with the property. We had ordered a grocery delivery from Tesco which was due to arrive on our first evening. The driver couldn't find the property - despite the directions we had given him by phone and text - even though we all found it perfectly easily. We didn't get our groceries, had to spend a long time on the phone, and finally got our food delivered the following morning. I would suggest you use a different supermarket if you want a delivery!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of bathrooms! The beautiful garden. The wood burner.
Liked least: Nothing at all.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here, but so sorry about the food delivery. We would love to welcome you back anytime. Kind regards Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dwpmap212...
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in tip top condition”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We do not do self catering nowadays but this was for our Daughters 50th birthday so ten of us were there for a week 1st Aug to 8th Aug. We all had a great time, some walked on The Monsal Tail, one walked the full length. visits were made all over the Peak District. The Cottage was well set out, and we all thought it was a lovely place to stay.
Well done to the owners. anyone wanting a walking, cycling or car holiday this would be ideal. Margaret & Dennis Peers .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmcdjb
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gorgeous cottage - will be back!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Myself and my family stayed in the Wriggly Tin last weekend for one night, the night before my wedding. The cottage was spotless, homely, large enough for us all and exceptional value for money. We were greeted by creme eggs, very tasty homemade flapjacks and a very warm welcome from Karen, the owner. The house had everything we needed and more. It helped us have a lovely relaxing nights sleep before my big day the next day.

In addition, Karen let us stay a couple of hours longer than normal the next morning so that I could finish getting ready in time for my wedding. Fantastic and so accommodating. Thank you Karen. We will be back with friends for a longer stay in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing