We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,123)
Filter reviews
4,123 results
Traveller rating
1,563
1,509
594
265
192
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,563
1,509
594
265
192
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand paradise animation team main buffet a la carte restaurants mikiki johnson palm trees other resorts recommend this resort samana airport seafood main pool select club ping pong water aerobics beach restaurant great vacation buffet restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 4,123 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018

We loved staying at Grand Paradise Samana! Excellent food, drinks, and service! The beach was clear blue. Perfect weather for the week that we stayed (March 9-16)! There's a nice little town not even a mile walk away with a public beach there if you want to check out the culture in that area. I would love to go back and would recommend this resort and area to anyone! :) -Katie B

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henryulloaa, Manager at Grand Paradise Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Hola Katie:

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you have had a delightful stay and that you have enjoyed your time with our friendly staff.
We look forward to seeing you again on our property.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Just got back from spending a week at this resort and it was amazing!
I read all the reviews before going and went in with an open mind. My follow travelers had been there before the recent renovations and they were excited to go back and see the changes. Non of us where disappointed, we were a group of six with ages from mid 20's to early 60's.

We had Select Service and I think this is the way to go! Check in was a breeze. They took our bags off the bus and showed us to the Select Bar and Grill and provided us with Champaign and snacks while they got us our room key and safe locks. When we were ready they showed us to our rooms. Where were along the ocean on the side towards the little town 1135, 1139 and 1145. We all had ground floor rooms that looked out on the beautiful trees and ocean. In the evenings we would gather our lawn chairs and play cards or hang out at on of our terraces.

We spent the majority of our time at the Select pool. Everything was always clean and the waiters where attentive. I do agree there isn't much for shade but through out the day as the sun moves if you needed it you can move around to find more shade. We were not worried about this. The snacks and lunch menu were very good at the Select spot. Smoked Salmon and finger foods as well as fruit and nachos. The sandwiches and salads from the menu were also amazing!

We tried all the a la carts and there were all good. Little hard to tell what exactly you where ordering till it came but very good! The Japanese night was fantastic and fun!

Take snorkel gear with you. There is lots to see to the one side of the beach. The beach is fantastic and shallow. You are able to walk out quite a ways. There is also lots of grassy areas so you don't have to mess with sand if you don't want to.

Take a trip into town as well. Its a short walk and its beautiful along the path. We purchased an ATV excursion from a local shop and it was nice seeing sites off the beaten path.

The buffet and the lunch bar are really good as well. There is lots of options. I don't know how someone can walk away from there saying they couldn't find something they liked. The tomatoes where so flavorful!

The bus ride there and back from the airport was not as bad as I was expecting. They had one bus for our resort so we only stopped for more beer and a pee brake along the way. Beer is $5 for big bottles and $3 for cans. Lots to see along the way.

The airport was a bit of a disaster. 3 planes all arrived nearly at the same time so it was a bit back logged to get through customs, they finger printed everyone. On the way back the same thing. 3 flights leave 10 min apart so you are stuck trying to get checked in and through customs with a lot of people and as they say everyone is on Dominican time... slow.

I loved everything about this resort. Its not to big but big enough. You felt safe and worry free. We left our bags at our pool side and never had anything stolen. All the staff where nice and helpful. Yes a bit of a language barrier but your in Dominican what else do you expect... they always tried their best to understand you.

Our A/C leaked one day and we notified the front desk. They fixed it within the day and I think that's no different then staying somewhere here.

We would definitely keep this place in mind for our future trips.

Room Tip: if you want to sit out in the grass go for a ground floor room, if you want to see more of the ocean for for second floor.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jazanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samuelvasquez2017, Manager at Grand Paradise Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear guest,
On behalf of Grand Paradise Samana, we sincerely appreciate your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Thank you for your wonderful comments and for spending your holidays with us. Your comment is very important to us as it encourage us to improve what we do and to do a better job.
We all look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

This place is the best 4 stars that we've been to. Check in was done at airport, cool. Bus ride was 90 minutes. But, that gave us a chance to look around...Upon our arrival staff was very nice and efficient. They brought our luggage to our suites. We had upgraded to junior suite. ( highly recommended , free wifi, free safe, access to Oriental restaurant a la carte private pool for premium with premium liquor and Lewis and Juwanna will make sure that you are well taken care of. Suites are modern, clean and well stocked. We had a king bed, little couch that opens into bed, chair, big screen t.v. big bathroom, hair dryer, shower ( no tub ) Fridge is filled daily with Coca Cola, Sprite, water and beer, of course. You also have a nice little outdoor balcony.
The beach is simply wow!!!! It's the first time that I can say that a beach in DR is just as nice as in Cuba. You can walk in and go far, beautiful white sand and lots of grass and palm trees and chairs.
There is a restaurant at beach, good variety and fresh. Main buffet in front is great. There is something for everyone. We went to Oriental and it was great. We had chicken, beef, shrimps, veggies and fried rice prepared right in front of us by amazing ! There were also an Italian and Seafood which we did not try seeing that buffet was so good. Did not see much of animation team, it was a quiet resort.
We went on an excursion, buggy..side by side buggies. This was booked by Marie Eve from Air Transat. Adam and his team were great. We had the best time, saw the most amazing countryside and went to this restaurant way on top of a mountain where we had lunch. Now that food was simply heaven. Pierre and his lovely wife were very great hosts. But the 360 degree view is unbelievable ....wow.
Any ways, the weather was great, the resort was fantastic and the food yummy and the people ( staff ) were so friendly and polite....all this made this place Paradise for me.
I highly recommend this place, will return for sure !

Stayed: April 2018
2  Thank jcyr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samuelvasquez2017, Manager at Grand Paradise Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hello,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you have had a delightful stay and that you have enjoyed your time with our friendly staff.
We look forward to seeing you again on our property.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Liked the place, enjoyed the time spent there. The employees were very nice, especially Mikiki! Such a wonderful guy who became a friend, I would go back just to see him! Good food and entertainment too!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Cyr_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samuelvasquez2017, Manager at Grand Paradise Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear guest,
On behalf of Grand Paradise Samana, we sincerely appreciate your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Thank you for your wonderful comments and for spending your holidays with us. Your comment is very important to us as it encourage us to improve what we do and to do a better job.
We all look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Grand Paradise Samana
We had a great stay in this resort. The staff working here is amazing, including everyone from check in to check out and in between. The location of the resort is beautiful with breath taking views, interesting places to explore, and many opportunities for postcard photos. It is far from the airport but the road is very scenic. We enjoyed the shows at the swimming pool and it was pure luck that we saw them, because there is no schedule when and where something is happening. We were a party of 8 so we had fun with each other. We danced at the disco, learned some moves from Daylee and Kaki, and had some shots of mamajuana with the entrainment crew. They were very fun and engaging people.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank mdpalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samuelvasquez2017, Manager at Grand Paradise Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Hello,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you have had a delightful stay and that you have enjoyed your time with our friendly staff.
We look forward to seeing you again on our property.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews