We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“1st post ever on trip advisor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Paradise Samana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Paradise Samana
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Las Galeras
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“1st post ever on trip advisor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

First off, we have never posted anything on trip advisor, but felt the need to following this trip. We don't want to make this a long read for you, but you should give some serious thought before booking at this resort.

We arrived home yesterday, travelled there March 31 - April 7/12 through Air Canada Vacations from Toronto.

Day 1 & 2 - Great, enjoyed the resort and spent the day and evening checking everything out, understandably the resort is not 5 star, but we have stayed at many 3 & 4 star resorts in Mexico and Cuba (Totally out due this place) The beach had extreme seaweed where typically most people were and would hang out, could go down a little further, and the sand was clean, yet the water not as cyrstal clear (Seaweed still on ocean bed)
We did have a little hang up with our room as we paid for "Superior Ocean View" and were told we would have one Queen or King bed. We approched the front desk with this minor concern, is was about as good as they had for ocean view (understandably after seeing the resort), we were showed a villa, and we feel in love with it. They told us 25 dollars extra per person per night, we agreed to pay the fee, then immidiatley told that it was not available (what the heck, why show us, we thought) ok so we were going to make the best of it, and were content with our room.

Day 3 - (Wife) was sick in bed all day, not good.

Day 4 - Went on "Walk the Plank" zip line tour, very cool, as this is something we have never done, nor is this the kind of people we are, but had a great time, and the bus ride to the zipline and back very cool to witness the "outback" of the way the people live just outside of town there. Late in the day that afternoon, room was clean, had to contact front desk twice to recieve towels and refill toiliet paper in room, finally towels arrived only....... ( 6:30pm)

Day 5 - Beach - had a wonderful day on the beach, taking in the sun and enjoying the water, not much located on the beach in the means of shade though.

Day 6 - Pool - had another great day enjoying the pool and drinks "joze" at pool bar wonderful. Again, had to contact front desk for towels in the room (at the end of the day)

Day 7 - (Husband) in bed all day not good ethier!

Overall - We have paid the equalviant amount of money at previous trips south, and have enjoyed the resorts, food, & drink much better than here. Upon check in, we only received one room card (this is all they will give you) the envelop they give you with the resort map, key card etc. has been used many times before (other peoples names written on it, room numbers, and white out all over it, this is a small thing, but kind a makes you think....) We eventually were looking at how to turn tv on in room, and apparently we had to sign out the remote from front desk......hummm (along with safty deposit box in closet, which we had to pay $15.00 for the key to use for the week, a little different as well, but no big deal.) There is a vacation club on site as well "Royal Holiday" again, not a big deal, but we did go for an appointment for information/entertainment purposes only. In all honesty, the crew working the resort to get you interested in the holiday club, should be working for the resort, as they are very personable, freindly and interesting people (especially Oriol and Ceci) great guys to talk with throughout our trip! The buffet had very limited selection, and we think that the rice may have been the issue with us getting extremly sick for the two days, but cannot be sure. The public toliets thourghout the resort were very "touch and go" as if they were clean or not it seemed. The buffet at the Ocean was very good choice for lunch. BBQ type food (hot dogs, hamburgers, fries, nachos, etc....) As the main buffet was again limited and same selection of food as dinner. We found that the "slush drinks" at the resort were more of a regular drink than they were slush. Other than all the bad, the senery surrounding the resort is very nice, including the ocean.

I would not travel to this resort, i would spend the same money and seriously look at other options/resorts.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MJADVISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    1,176
    467
    216
    150
See reviews for
1,024
1,061
168
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed from March 29 to April 5. I will start off this review with the only negative about our trip - travel time from the airport. We booked through Signature vacations and our flight was with Sunwing out of Toronto. For some reason we flew into Puerto Plata rather than Samana so the bus ride to the resort was 3 hours and 15 minutes. All of the other guests we spoke to flew to Samana.

Upon arrival, check in took minutes and the porter took our luggage to the room. We were in building 7, rooms 7301 and 7303. I have no idea what the rooms in other buildings were like but ours looked almost brand new (they were nicer than the Riu on Paradise Island Bahamas and we paid 3 times the price for the Bahamas trip) There was plenty of hot water regardless of the time of day we showered and our towels were always replaced. The fridge was stocked daily with several bottles of water, coke and sprite even if we hadn't used up the ones from the day before. We didn't use the safe or the TV. The air conditioning and electricity in our room worked without our door card (nice bonus for us) but did not in my mother in laws room so she purchased the extra card for $35.

Breakfast is served in the main buffet and had plenty of selection, there was an omelet and crepe station every day, several selections of hot food plus fruit, breads, cereal, meats and cheese. There were also several selections of juice - orange, pineapple, passion fruit, fruit punch etc.
Lunch was available in the main buffet or at the beach restaurant. The main buffet had a selection of fresh vegetables for salads, fruit, breads, meats and cheese plus a pasta station and several hot choices of chicken, fish, pork, rice, beans and potatoes. The rice and potatoes were always cooked differently each day. The beach restaurant had a selection of salads, fruit, pizza, hot dogs, burgers, fries, chicken and rice.
For dinner, in addition to the buffet there are Italian and Seaford A La Carte restaurants (converted from the beach restaurant). The buffet had a different theme each night, dominican, mexican, american etc. Again there was a pasta station and were many selections of fresh vegetables, fruit, bread and hot dishes. There was also a grill station that served different types of meat... pork, steak, chicken and even roast turkey.
We only tried the Italian a la carte, they had several dishes to choose from plus an antipasto bar complete with smoked salmon. The night we ate at the Italian restaurant was my daughters 14th birthday, we ordered a cake from the front desk and after dinner the wait staff brought it out and sang Happy Birthday in both spanish and english. There is also a late night snack buffet available at the beach restaurant starting at midnight. It had sandwiches available. We only tried it our first night due to late arrival so I don't know if it changed daily. The service for drinks in the dining rooms was touch and go but the bar was right there and it was easy enough to get your own. This is typical of every all-inclusive I've been to. I've written a lot about the food because there have been many bad reviews but everything we tried was very tasty and none of us got sick.

The resort has 6 bars - one in the main buffet, 2 pool bars, 2 beach bars - one doubled as the sports bar with pool tables, ping pong and shuffle board. There was also a bar in the disco that opens at midnight. Bailey's Irish cream was the only thing I noticed that was not available. All of the bartenders offered great service but Jose at the main pool bar was my favorite.

There are 3 pools. The main pool area has two side by side, a shallow kids pool with a walk in and a sports pool. The third pool was in the "french area" but was NOT restricted to french guests, we spent a couple days there. The french animation staff do not allow non-french guests to join in their activities but that didn't bother us at all. There was one french animation staff member that was not very friendly but the rest would say hello to you.

At no time did I feel that the resort catered to the french, they had 8 on their animation team compared to about 15 on the main animation team. The animation team were all friendly, Frank was our favorite. The nightly shows they put on were very good, especially the pool show. Many of them also worked in other jobs for instance Jessie worked in the kids club as well as dancing in the shows. There were plenty of activities, ocean aerobics, step aerobics, archery, basketball, beach volleyball and mini-putt. We didn't use the kids club but did go in to look around. There was a ball pit much like you'd find at Chucky Cheese, Art and craft
stations, a TV area and a large playground.

The beach did have seaweed but the water was very shallow and great for kids, we never had a problem finding loungers.

The resort has 4 photo staff members and a photo booth. They walk around the resort taking pictures of the guests, sometimes with parrots, a monkey and an iguana. The photo shop opens at 5 and you can purchase prints or a cd of the photo's you like. The prices were high. $20 for an 8 x 10, $10 per photo for the cd. We ordered some of the shots on a cd and the cd was fine when we got home, all of the shots we ordered were there and the quality was good.

We didn't go on any excursions because we were travelling with a toddler who still naps in the middle of the day but we did do the walk into Las Galeras. I recommend it if you're looking to buy rum or cigars as the prices are half of what they charge in the resort gift shop. The vendors will all try to get you into their shops but they are not rude and leave you alone if you tell them you're not interested. The walk along the beach was very nice.

I cannot understand the bad reviews on here, we had such a great experience. For the price we paid the vacation was a steal. That being said we did talk to a couple people who were not happy with their rooms but after requesting a new room they were switched. I did not hear of anyone getting sick.

Despite the long transfer from the airport I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TLG444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We just got back from a great trip,
Booked through Air Canada, will never use them again, have to buy your own food on the plane with a credit card.

Drive to resort was about 90 minutes from Samana airport, lots to see as you go through 3 towns, Sanchez , Samana and Las Galeras. Check in was pretty good as there were prob 60 or so ppl arriving . Rooms were clean we were in room 2210, air conditioner was kinda loud but worked. Our friends had room 4121 and had no problem .Other than having to wait for the maids to bring up towels a few times.

Buffet was good, not alot of varitey tho. No one in our group of 6 got sick, and we talked to several other people and didnt hear of anyone getting sick.Beach snack bar was the best for lunch.
Pools were kinds small, but there are 3 of them, 2 are in the main area and the other one is in the french lookea club but you can use it as well.
Beach could have been raked of seaweed but it was nice. lots of chairs but not alot of shade

Air Canada rep Joel was ok , only at resort 3 times a week , for about 90 min, from 11-12:30
Jeep Tour was a waste of money spent too long at each place, could have done more , plantation, beach and river and iguna farm, were supposed to see a school but closed for holy week.Best part was throwing clothes and candy out to kids.

Everyone we met was friendly except for the Look-ea club (french) people, even if you tried talking to them most just ignored you.
10-15 min walk along the beach to a little town ,Las Galeras, lots of locals trying to get you to buy cheapie, cheapie, not much to see in town, typical shops and such, nice for the experience tho.

Best bar was pool bar, best bar tender was Rosa, Manuel at the buffet was super great. Gotta find Oreo and Cecil form the Royal vacation club, they are funny

All in all we had a great trip, resort was nice size , easy to get to meet people, I wanted to stay for 2 weeks, most resorts I cant wait to get home after 1 week.

Room Tip: Not alot of rooms have a beach view, most villas do but are more per week. All rooms have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pmrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Prior to my going to this hotel I read the reviews and was worried. I kind of figured the ones leaving poor reviews were the type of people who would complain about anything and everything. Well I stand corrected they were so right.
My sister and I spent 2 weeks here Mar 18 to Apr 1, 2012 and were very disappointed. We knew it was no 5 star, but even a rating of 3 is pushing it. We took precautions - Dukoral prior to our leaving thinking with proper hygiene we should be good. Ohhhh we were so wrong. Day 5 hit with a vengeance for 4 days. Then I became sick again the morning we left. There is something so very wrong with their food preparation; there were many people sick. There is a no toilet paper in the toilet rule. After using the toilet you are expected to place your used toilet paper in the garbage beside the toilet, whether wet or SOILED. There is a lot of SOILED at this resort. I can't tell you how may times I washed my hands and used alcohol based cleaners.
Our families tried 9 separate times to contact us by telephone to no avail. Each time they called the hotel there was no answer. I even used the lobby phone, called the front desk and although people were standing right there they never picked up.

The beach is wonderful but the problems with the food and hygiene out weigh a nice beach.
Comments made by previous travelers about the preferred treatment of certain ethnic groups is also very factual. The color of your bracelet you receive when you arrive deems what kind of service you will receive. If you are from France and get a red bracelet there is nothing they won't do for you; even sit you at a table that people with yellow bracelets are attempting to sit at.

I really hope people will heed this warning, I certainly wish I had.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We spend spring holiday of our son in Grand Paradise Samana. If i forget about the long journey and that Im pregnant I have to say it was one of the best holiday we had. It was our first visit of Dominican and i beleive it was great choice. The accommodation is great, everything is clean, people are very nice there, the huge hotel gardens are full of palms, trees and grass. On the beach, there is big palm tree park where you will find plenty of sunbeds so you will always have the chance to be there without fighting for it.:) There was a big choise of great food. U could have almost every day fish or some seafood. There was everyday plenty of fresh fruit, vegetables,..... We never eat the some food twice. For breakfast we have almost same everyday, but the choise was so big, that if you are not big eater u will have even for breakfast always something different. Everyday we had fresh towels, just dont forget to ask for the beach towel card on the reception when you arrive.We knew that once a year for about 3 months are whales from the Northen sea coming to Carribien to make a couple and deliver little whales. We wanted to see it so we asked in the hotel diving point about that and they did arrange this trip for us without need to go to the city Samana. We went with them to see it from our hotel beach. I didnt find anything i would want to complain about. Lots of sport opportunities, plenty of space and nice fresh air with the taste of Carribien. We will definatelly go back again. The very important part of the holiday was also price as I think it was one of the cheepest holiday to this resort. We went with the German travel agency and we were really happy, even thought we are czech. Just one thing i want to mention is, that the hotel is not new so sometimes you can find something that could be repared or renovated especially in the bathroom. Compare to price no one can complain. I do really recommend it mainly for families with children. Our son loved that.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
1.3 km away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#2 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
41.3 km away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
37.7 km away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 37 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 km away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
16.8 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
18.8 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#7 of 62 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Samana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Samana

Property: Grand Paradise Samana
Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic (Formerly Casa Marina Bay)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Las Galeras
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,396 - ₹ 32,146
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Paradise Samana 3*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Grand Paradise Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Samana Hotel Las Galeras
Casa Marina Bay
Grand Paradise Samana Las Galeras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing