We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonably good place i a town that has few options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel DSF Grand Plaza
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tuticorin
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, India
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“A reasonably good place i a town that has few options”
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Tuticorin does not have many options when it comes to hotel accommodation. I stayed at DSF Plaza as it was very near where I had my meetings. Unfortunately the hotel is located on one of the noisiest roads in town !

My guess is that it is a three star property and not quite what is usually described as a business hotel, my expectations ., therefore, were not very high. The basics were all there - clean and spacious room, clean sheets and towels, clean toilet etc. If one is on a business trip and uses the hotel mainly as a place to sleep, one can not complain too much.

The staff are friendly but the lack of training shows in the quality of service. Not all of them are fluent in English and, strangely, in the deep south of India, I found hotel staff who could not speak Tamil, which is the local language !

They offer you a limited breakfast buffet and the food is reasonably good though nothing to write home about. You can have a drink at the bar or in your room, but not at the restaurant.

Not the best of places but there are not many options in this town.

JP No 100028482

Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank yesuthasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    42
    24
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
5
6
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

This Hotel is good Initiative in Tuticorin... integrated with a Shopping mall looks great.. good service.. only problem is mission professional quality for a Business hotel..

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolomonAshok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

This is a terrible place, although it is newly constructed it is in the middle of the city with horrible noises of vehicles around never lets u to sleep. The bar is a good one, but u will loose your patientce if u order anything from the kitchen and get dissappointed when the food comes cold and very less in quantity

  • Liked — The rooms are good
  • Disliked — Food, noise inside the room etc
  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thivyan1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

The hotel is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the hotel to go to the theme parks at all. In fact we didn't bother with Disney , having been before and just did a few trips to Universal. It was so hot and busy there, we couldn't wait to get back to the peace and tranquility of the hotel. and its very good experience........ there we can do shopping also .........two floors meant for specially shopping............

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidBino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

It was a pleasant surprise to see a hotel of international quality in Tuticorin. We arrived here after enquiring about almost all the hotels in Tuticorin and were very much surprised to check in to a hotel which was up to international standards.

  • Liked — 5Star
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank albatriq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuticorin
5.5 km away
Regency Tuticorin By GRT Hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Raj
Hotel Raj
#4 of 12 in Tuticorin
40 reviews
1.4 km away
SRM Hotel - Tuticorin
SRM Hotel - Tuticorin
#5 of 12 in Tuticorin
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Kani Hotel
Kani Hotel
#6 of 12 in Tuticorin
2 reviews
33.9 km away
Hotel Chitra Park
Hotel Chitra Park
#1 of 9 in Tiruchendur
80 reviews
33.7 km away
Hotel Udhayam International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DSF Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DSF Grand Plaza

Property: Hotel DSF Grand Plaza
Address: 379 V.E. Road, Tuticorin 628 002, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Thoothukudi District > Tuticorin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tuticorin
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,935 - ₹ 3,612
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel DSF Grand Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra, TravelGuru, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Hotel DSF Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing