We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
102
116
52
46
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
116
52
46
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glen shiel four poster bed jacuzzi bath drying room venison casserole pub food isle of skye bar meals real ale surrounded by mountains stunning location hill walking kyle of lochalsh bedroom window red deer fantastic views long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Ordered a cullen skink and steak and ale pie and it was the grossest food i have ever put in my mouth ya'll must be joking with the prices obviously indian managment/owners in the scottish highlands shows they have no idea what they are doing attractive young white staff though

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank hendersonlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

went in for lunch since it is a convient place to stop in the beautiful highlands. the staff were friendly and helpful even in the events of missing management. ordered a few beers and was told we had to wait because they needed to find a manager to help change the barrels. it was over a 20 minute wait until they found someone able to change it. the aussie girl was great company and kept us updated about the situation with patience and a fantastic smile. the management however i feel, couldn't even been bothered to actually do their job.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank bethanysmithe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

We stopped on our way to Skye just after 8pm for dinner. After around 15 mins of waiting to be acknowledged we had to ask for service and were directed to order at the bar where there was no one serving. The smallest lasagne ever arrived very promptly which was incredibly bad value for money. No one came near us for the rest of the meal or even noticed we’d left. Very poor highland hospitality

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HEHM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is in a wonderful location. The room was comfortable. The lady receptionist was very pleasant. That's the good bits.
For a hotel in such a location one would hope to get an early breakfast. Not so. I had to be on the road the first morning by 7.30 and breakfast is not served till 8.00. so B&B was just B! In the evening I had the misfortune to order Cullen Skink. This was basically hot milk with two tiny slivers of fish. It was inedible. The second nights fish and chips was ok. The servers were very off hand. For a highland Inn there was a strange lack of happy and in fact very few Scottish voices. There are new owners and she told me they are going to make a lot of changes. I hope they do because there is no way I can recommend this place to anyone at present.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Murroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

I stop regularly at the Cluanie Inn as it has always been a great place for a snack or lunch or fuel on the way to or from the Isle of Skye to Invermoriston.It was always a traditional Scottish Inn/pub with great food and pleasant staff, sadly no more. When we arrived we had to use the mobility friendly access as one of our group had walking difficulties. There were 2 Asian young ladies using the lounge area with their large computers, they started to move when we came in (they were the receptionists).there was a small army of Asian gentlemen wandering around carrying drills, wires looking like they were busydoing maintenance but it was not convincing.They just walked back and forward through the dining area.On going to the bar to place our food order, I asked the young caucasian lady behind the bar if the in was under new management. Her reply 'Yes sadly, it is not popular'. When I asked what was the soup f the day the reply, 'Scotch Broth with coconut'!!!Now Scotch Broth is a lovely vegetable soup and does not require coconut.One of our group actually ordered it and it tasted vile as it was also spicy. Do not tamper with good Scottish ingredients and recipes. I ordered the Baked camembert which is usually pretty tasty. The accompanying bread/panini was not cooked and was still soggy dough with a slight thin crust. The apple and blackberry crumble was a joke - a ramekin filled with pink, just warm, jelly with a few bits of indeterminable 'fruit' and a sprinkle of crumbs on top and a ball of hard vanilla ice cream dropped in the middle.This visit was hugely disappointing. Normally the inn is quite busy at lunch time but there was just a few visitors inside. I would advise people to stop in Dornie for refreshments or Kintail because the Cluanie Inn is no longer the wonderful traditional Scottish pub it used to be.Please put it back into local Scottish hands.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews