We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for coffee and croissants”
Review of Landmark Bakery

Landmark Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Kaslo
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 16
Cuisines: Soups
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 July 2016

After disappointing coffee at the Treehouse Restaurant, we ran across the street and got lattes and baked treats at Landmark. The service was cheerful, the baking good and the coffee well balanced. We sat in the sun and watched the world go by...

Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, Owner at Landmark Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

We proudly serve Cherry Hill Coffee from Kelowna BC. Thank you for taking the time to post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2016

got buns from the back that were frozen, they went mouldy after a day and were dry. Should have ran across to the grocery store and bought store brand buns instead.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 867jesseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, Owner at Landmark Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Sorry for this. It's for this reason that we generally do not freeze our products anymore, instead small batches are baked and we aim to sell out each day. I always offer money back or credit for new product if anyone experiences less than stellar products. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

By way of explanation - The reason for the mould is that the breads/buns we produce are living products, mixed and baked on site in a natural manner, without preservatives. They have a shelf life of about 5 days in the summer at room temperature(20C), after that they will mould. How the product is stored/transported after it leaves the bakery also matters, as direct sunlight onto the product will create moisture in the bag and immediately increase the speed with which the bread/bun ages. The living enzymes, the nutritious aspect of bread, is subject to the moulding process and is the reason large commercial/grocery chains use preservatives or chemicals in their production, often rendering the bread of lower/little nutritional value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

I stopped here for a latte and a chocolate croissant. The best one I have ever eaten. This baker really knows what he is doing. Don't miss it!

Thank lindacO8724ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, Owner at Landmark Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you! It was a pleasure serving you during our re-opening time this spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

A great little place to enjoy a speciality coffee and baked goods. We were treated with the friendliness you would expect from a small town store.

Thank CanadianCycleTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Bought several bakery items. Nothing so outstanding as in other reviews. Was disappointed they don't take debit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, Owner at Landmark Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Hi, thanks for the review, I am responding in the summer of 2016 as the bakery had been closed during this past fall/winter (2015). A lot has changed since you were here. We now accept ALL CREDIT CARDS (incl Amex and Discover), PLUS we also accept DEBIT, along with BITCOIN. As for our products, we have greatly expanded our products and have a fresh vibe, and fresh concept focused on small and micro batch baking. Would be nice to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Landmark Bakery also viewed

Kaslo, Kootenay Rockies
 
Kaslo, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Landmark Bakery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing