We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coco Tamarind-outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coco Tamarind

Coco Tamarind
Price range: US$ 26 - US$ 51
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Coco Tamarind-outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

A high quality restaurant with a tremendous choice of dishes,fabulous staff and first class service. My wife and I have visited this restaurant three times this year,it gets better on each occasion. I love the fact that the table is yours for the whole evening and that you are never rushed. This restaurant really is the jewel in the crown of indian cuisine.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    49
    12
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have been visiting Coco Tamarind last 3 years and it seems to be getting better and better, the food & service and welcome we receive like other customers is always outstanding and friendly.
We have never had a bad experience and food has always been excellent.We keep introducing Coco Tamarind to our friends and they have all become a regular.The chef patron Mr Ali and his sons are a great example to an restaurant business where they all care about their customers and welcome constructive critisism.
Looking at the Trip advisor and some of the comments and critisism written does not really reflect on the number of very satisfied customers like us.
I would recommend Coco tamarind to anyone who has a passion about freshly cooked Indian food, If you are after a microwave food , do not go to Coco as you will not appreciate the art of indian food.
Well done Coco keep up to the good work.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Somewhat unreliable, but generally good food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have had some excellent meals here and take aways, however two of us were ill after the last visit!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanner321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Tasteless Food, Unwelcoming”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

My partner & me visited Coco Tamarind this weekend after some good recommendations from a few friends.

Sadly our experience was anything but 'good'.

We arrived at just after 8.00, into a half full restaurant and were looked at blankly when we asked if they had any tables, and finding out we hadn't reserved.
We were promptly seated and asked to wait, at this point not grieving too much about the blank look from the waiter.

After 5 minutes we were seated, and given menus to look at, in the meantime a table of 6 rowdy middle aged couples were seated next to us.

After waiting an extraordinarily long time for someone to take our order, a waiter came by and promptly took the order of the table next to us.

Eventually our order was taken some time afterwards and we were served our meal.

It turned out to be the most tasteless tripe I have ever had from an Indian restaurant.

My partners Bhuna, despite having a lovely texture had no taste at all, and the garlic naan bread we ordered must have only briefly brushed a clove, as we may as well just have ordered a plain one.
My own dish was awful to say the least, possibly something I'd consider service my dog.

After eating only a third of what we ordered, the waiter came, again saw to the table next to us, took there starters, re-appeared, served there mains, dissapeared again, before returning to us to clear our table and ask if everything was ok (approx 20 minutes).

We made quite clear what we thought of the meal in a polite manner, in which we received nothing more than a grunt.

I promptly requested the bill, in which another 20 minute wait was deemed necessary, and really couldn't wait to escape.

Awful, Awful, Awful... which considering there's such hot competition locally is very poor, and not even the cheapest of them either.

On the other side, If eating food that a Zoo would think twice about service there animals, and receiving a McDonalds like service is your thing then this is the place for you.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Absolutely shocking! Terrible food and terrible service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The food was all completely bland - extremely disappointing for an Indian. The food was either really sweet or just totally bland. The staff were rude and unattentive. They seemed far more insistent on serving the larger parties, for example, we were seated first yet they got their drinks order, food order and food served before us!! They made us feel like we were just an inconvenience to them. When the eventually came to clear the table (after we had obviously been finished for 10-15mins), they asked how it was and we explained that we were particularly unimpressed with one dish, to which they offered no apology and took no notice to our comments - I don't think they understood what we were saying. All in all terrible staff, terrible service and terrible food. Will never be returning here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coco Tamarind also viewed

Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
 
Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
 
Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to Coco Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing