We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend escape”
Review of Amanjiwo Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amanjiwo Resorts
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This was our first experience of an Aman resort and it will not be our last. Superb friendly accessable service from the moment you leave the aircraft right to the very end of your stay. Nothing was ever too much trouble, everything we needed for a romantic, peaceful and active weekend away was catered for. The Amanjiwo stands out - the outstanding architecture of the buildings beautifully positioned to capture the views, the interaction with local villages, the knowledgable team, comfortably appointed rooms and excellent food and wine. We had high hopes for our stay at Amanjiwo and our expectations were met on every level. I thoroughly recommend choosing Amanjiwo, worth every cent. We will make Aman an annual event!

Room Tip: I can comment on room 6 only. Peaceful views of the valley, volcanoes and Borobodur. lovely quiet ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitri238749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 300 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

First time in an Aman Resort and such a wonderful experience ! We travelled with our one year old baby boy and everything was perfect. You really do feel at home which is just amazing. We enjoyed so much and would like to thank you all the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilosnow29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Overall, the Amanjiwo building(s) and location is truly gorgeous, but at parts the service lacked for us the special Aman heart…

Just two examples: First night our dinner order was simply forgotten… I called after an hour as it just seemed a bit long - just to be told they it was forgotten and that they would deliver. By then it was deep night and we close to be starved – when the food was delivered the service was impeccable and very apologetic. Next day, the manager already knew about the incident and send us a bottle of champagne. Second day, my first ever burnt toast was served for breakfast… Had it to be at an Aman? It’s not that one wouldn’t see toast to be black… My breakfast consists of toast and egg only, so it’s kind of essential to get the toast right. (We believe that these were only little hiccups, so we do not feel to rate the hotel any lower than 4 points.)

But on the other hand, our villa (Borobudur view, with private pool) was pure Aman. Spacious, simple and with the rice fields just below our daybed pagoda, this was like a Javanese fairytale. The view on the Borobudur Temple from the villa (No.24) was magical, so honestly, don’t go there if you can’t afford the better rooms as it would be just cutting the wrong corners…

The hotel is a bit isolated, but this can obviously be seen as a plus and a minus. There were a few children running around and playing at the pool, so if you are after privacy, definitely get your own pool.

Overall, as many already commented, prices are Aman level, so don’t expect anything cheap. It’s just that Aman has to get the reward right, so one doesn’t feel robbed. The staff has certainly restored the balance by being extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a Borobudur view villa with private pool, it's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tkvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I recently visited Amanjiwo for 3 days, fulfilling a long-standing desire to see the Borobodur Temples. Clearly, given the reputation and the price, we had quite high expectations -- which were exceeded on every front. While we do not normally book hotels in quite this price category, we agree that it is great value because we had such a marvelous experience. We plan to visit another Aman resort next year because it was so wonderful.

From the moment we arrived in Solo and were greeted by a charming woman who facilitated our getting a visa and through immigration, to being whisked curbside to the very comfortable SUV and friendly driver to take us for the 2 hour drive to Borobodur. The driver offered a lot of explanations about the countryside and to our delight, had cold drinks and snacks for the ride. Although it is a longer trip than flying into Yogjakarta, we are very happy to have had a chance to see more of the central Java countryside. It is a very scenic drive, through interesting villages, past terraced farms, and with terrific views of the volcanoes. (It is also a hilly, twisty drive, so if you suffer carsickness, be careful -- we were fine, but others might not be)

The resort is located at the end of a small road, so private, with no signs that you wonder where you are. And then you arrive -- gorgeous architecture that resembles the temples, beautiful decor, stunning views, and a warm welcome.. We spent an unhurried 30 minutes or so talking to the manager and staff person, sipping cold ginger tea, selecting activities, and learning about the property. I don't think we understood that this would be such a personal, intimate experience until my husband asked -- and what time is dinner served? The reply was "what time would you like?".

Our villa was gorgeous, decorated beautifully in an elegant way, not ostentatious at all. We had a huge private patio with furniture and bale, where we had coffee brought to us every morning. There are two dressing areas/sinks, huge walk in shower, and a separate private outdoor soaking tub. Our villa had a view over the valley and the Temple, with volcanoes looming in the distance. Everything in the room has been thought out -- from hooks by the sink for your towels to excellent reading lights. There was fresh fruit in the room every day, ice already in the bucket, bottles of drinking water (which were even moved to the bed during nightly turn down service).

Being just the start of the dry season, the hotel was not full -- just a few other people at meals or tea (served every afternoon on the terrace, with local spices, a local cake or sweet, gamelan music). The beautiful pool area was completely ours one afternoon; one other person the other day. Breakfast was fabulous (many choices and lots of food!) and dinners were excellent (both western and Indonesian menu) with very attentive service. Being Indonesia, beer and wine are very expensive, but it is not the hotel's fault, it's due to import tax.

What we most loved about the property is that there were so many cultural things to do; our package included 3 activities from a long list of options. When I say that everything is personalized, I mean it -- when we selected an event or tour, it was "just us", at any time we wanted to do it. It's all arranged to suit your schedule and your wishes. We took the tour of the Borobodur Temple - which included a car to take us down, special entry area, introduction to our guide (who was wonderful, he grew up in the village, spoke excellent English and over almost 3 hours gave us just the right mix of Buddhist explanation and info about life in Java), entry to the temples, and a car waiting to give us cold towels and water at the end. (We opted to walk back to the hotel rather than ride.) The next day, we opted for the tour of the Prambanan Temples (Hindu, not Buddhist) which included a 90-minute drive to Yogjakarta (again with pleasant guide, a/c vehicle, cold drinks and towels, local guide, entry and return). They are fabulous and less crowded than Borobodur; some Amanjiwo guests don't do this tour because of the drive involved, but we highly recommend it.

But the crowning glory of Amanjiwo is how the staff and the property make you feel. The staff all know who you are, they anticipate your needs (water appears poolside without your asking), they confirm your plans without your asking (before you leave dinner, someone will say that they heard you are going to Prambanan tomorrow, so would you like a walk up call), they simply provide incredible kind service, they appear when you need them (e.g., for a drink in the bar) but never hover, never intrude. It's phenomenal. When you add that to the blissful views, the quiet (no TV's blaring, no phones ringing), and the beauty, it is a one-of-a-kind experience. We cannot stop talking about it and cannot wait to return to another Aman property.

Room Tip: I doubt it matters. We were upgraded from a garden suite to a Borobodur suite, which gave us a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The architecture of Amanjiwo is majestic, meditative, and reflective of the distant Borobudur. It reminded me of an excellent Bourdoux wine, with well-balanced structure and complexity, and an enduring taste. My wife and I spent our 6 year wedding anniversary vacation in Amanjiwo, along with our 5 y/o daughter, where we were warmly greeted by the F&B manager Francisco and the rest of the dedicated staff. The fact that Amanjiwo offered 4 hour of complimentary baby sitting was great, so my wife and I were able to enjoy early morning Borobudur tour and sometimes a quiet dinner on our own. Our daughter was entertained by their kids activities, including dancing with the on-site flower girls, mask making, and pony rides. I am very impressed with how the entire staff's level of service; not only are they always anticipating guests' needs, but doing so without being intrusive. One special note to the F&B manager Francisco. He has the natural affinity and superb ability more than sufficient to run an high end resort like Amanjiwo. Being a guest there is like staying at an old friend's mansion, with style and taste! He really reminded me of the GM (Johnathen Blitz) we met several years ago at Amanwella.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael-Wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
3 km away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
2.5 km away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#6 of 11 in Borobudur
1,034 reviews
4.1 km away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 11 in Borobudur
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
20.2 km away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#5 of 11 in Borobudur
308 reviews
36.5 km away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#8 of 23 in Magelang
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanjiwo Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjiwo Resorts

Address: Ds. Majaksingi, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Borobudur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Borobudur
#3 Spa Hotel in Borobudur
Price Range: ₹ 42,229 - ₹ 61,592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjiwo Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanjiwo (peaceful soul) overlooks Borobudur, the world's largest Buddhist sanctuary, in the rural heartland of Central Java. Located in one of the most scenic parts of the country, the Menoreh Hills rise up behind and no less than four volcanoes grace the horizon. Amanjiwo provides the opportunity for immersion in Javanese culture, offering trips to ceremonies, temples and antique shops. Private dawn and sunset visits to Borobudur and other archeological monuments in the vicinity are the highlight of a stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanjiwo Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjiwo Hotel Yogyakarta
Amanjiwo Resort Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing