We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best”
Review of Amanjiwo Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amanjiwo Resorts
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Had the best weekend getaway ever.
Aman resorts never cease to impress me.
The bungalow was just perfect and so private.You can even have a skinny dip in your private pool in the middle of the night:)
The view is breathtaking!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 309 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

We went to Amanjiwo in last september for a family trip and it was our third experience in this very special place. Actually, we were a bit sad to see Sean, the previous GM leaving to manage an other Aman property in Bali because he knew perfectly how to give an exclusive atmosphere to Amanjiwo and was a very great guy to talk with. However, i'm confident he will be as good for Amanusa and we'll be happy to meet him again in Bali.

Now, Mark arrived to Amanjiwo and he was already the GM when we went in September. We have been perfectly welcomed by Mark who is such an adorable and passionated person. He knows so much about Indonesia and his way of being is so serene and so calm. Just talking to him in such a beautiful place will drive you right away in a kind of meditation. It's remarkable to feel so relaxed immediately when you arrive somewhere and it's really treasurable. Leaving in some busy cities, we really needed to relax and Amanjiwo is the place where we slept the best and where we didn't have any stress. Life is just peace overthere and our three days were just magical.

As usual, we stayed in the exceptionnal Dalem Jiwo suite. This discreet suite secluded on a quiet side of the resort is probably the best suite we had. Massive with a fantastic rotunda to relax and enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner but to relax as well on the huge day bed with a great book. You can choose as well to deep in the very large infinity pool overlooking the stunning countryside, the tobacco fields, Borobudur and as the background, all the vulcanoes. On each side of the Rotunda, a pavillion of about 100 sq. meters where are a gorgeous bedroom wonderfully designed by Ed Tuttle who has designed other Amans; a very marvellous bathroom so spacious and really great with a sexy outside bathtub just so good for an evening romantic bath when having a nice glass of wine and a marvellous terrace. Apart of the unique beauty of the Dalem Jiwo Suite, you'll have 2 hyper efficient and adorable butlers to take care of you and your stay. Moely and Joko are so nice, smily and they always look at the littlest detail to try to make of your stay a memorable experience. They pampered us so well we didn't wanna leave and we almost cry when the car left. It's an emotional experience to stay at Amanjiwo in the DJ suite and we're waiting to go back again.

What else to say i didn't say yet about the most fabulous Amanresort we have visited... Great cuisine with a "to die for" lemon curd to put on yummy brioches for breakfast. Scenic and unforgettable excursions perfectly organized: Sunset Menoreh Hills martinis; Borobudur at Dawn; Progo River picnic are some you don't have to miss; a team you'll consider as a family in Java... Sincerely, nothing can be better and thanks to Mark, the 10 years Sean's work has been well preserved. Now, Mark will give to Amanjiwo his very special touch and no doubt it will be something simply amazing...

Amanjiwo is really the only place you can't miss in your life. We all miss Jiwo so much, we miss the special atmosphere of this place which rejuvenate the body and the mind, we miss the smiles of Javanese people who are so nice, we miss the nature so beautiful, we miss our Jiwo family and we miss Mark... Can't wait to return for the fourth time... EXCEPTIONNAL.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the Dalem Jiwo suite is the most fabulous suite where we stayed. If not, all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed over the Chinese New Year period at this beautiful resort. Really loved the stay there. The architecture of the place is simply stunning. It is designed to complement that of the Borobudur and did a great job with that. The surrounding Menoreh hills makes a beaultiful backdrop to the resort. Views of the padi fields and Borobudur in the distance can be seen from many areas of the resort. If you can afford it, do go for the borobudur or borobudur pool suite as it would really made your stay even more special. The suites are really spacious and beautifully designed. Beds are soft and comfortable for a good night's sleep. I also loved the spacious outdoor sunken bathtub.


My stay was made even more memorable by the outstanding services provided by the guest assistants in particular Nining and Fenny. They have gone all out to meet our requests and answered our queries, to the extent of anticipating our needs. Nining especially has been very helpful when we wanted to buy some local Indonesian snacks to bring home. They really have the "Whateve/Whenever" service that W hotel has oversold but failed to deliver. I asked if what time the pool closes and whether i can still swim at 10pm, they said it closes at 6pm but i can still swim anytime i want and they will arrange for pool towels for me. I asked what is the earliest time i want to have my breakfast and they said anytime up to me. I am really impressed!

Having stayed at W hotel and the like, none of their services can compare to that of aman resort.

The breakfast is quite good with a decent selection and quite tasty too. Loved the Mee Goreng.

I also liked the daily afternoon activities that they organised free for the guests such as Cooking lessons, pottery lessons, etc. They also served afternoon tea at the same time.

I will certainly return to this resort and I am already looking forward to my next stay there in future.

Room Tip: Go for the borobudur or borobudur pool suites if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sporetravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Having stopped over in Singapore, this was our first hotel on our honeymoon in Indonesia. What an incredible start! We were expressed through customs at Solo (a huge plus given how long we waited to get into Indonesia on an earlier trip to Bali) and were delivered a couple of hours later at the stunning Amanjiwo.

This is more of an experience than a hotel. Incredible architecture, beautiful rooms, food and service with a very personal touch. Not cheap but, in my opinion, worth every Rupiah. The whole place is extremely peaceful and the view of Borobudur in the distance takes your breath away.

The hotel seems to be very in touch with its community with lots of interesting cultural excursions both locally and to some of the incredible temples nearby.

One tip - if you are flying in or out of Yogyakarta, you could always combine a visit to the Prambanan temple precinct on your way in or out of the hotel (although probably not if you are embarking/disembarking on a long haul trip). The precinct is amazing and don't miss the buddhist temple area as well as the hindu one (a lot of people do and while it was equally beautiful it was virtually empty).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_soldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We just spent 4 nights in Amanjiwo. From the minute you arrive at the airport to the minute you are chauffeur driven to your departure flight the staff are friendly, efficient and extremely helpful. The hotel is about an hour away from Yogyakarta airport, but you have sufficient yummy snacks in the car.

The entrance of the hotel is unique. You drive down the driveway and look through the lobby entrance to a view of the Borobudur Temple in the distance. The freshly brewed ginger beer is a great welcome drink.

We stayed in a pool suite and could have easily have spent the entire 4 days in the room swimming and napping in the incredibly comfy bed. We decided to be more active in the mornings as it rained in the afternoon- which was the perfect excuse to be lazy!

Definitely do the Borobudur Sunrise trip. Luckily we were still suffering from jetlag so we were up before 4am anyway. Do the intellectual tour at the same time if possible. We also did a market tour and a walk through the rice fields. Our guide Diddit is very knowledgeable on Javanese and Indonesian history and culture and we learnt a lot and enjoyed our trips with him.

All staff members are extremely friendly. Mark, the GM, gave us some great tips for the next two Aman hotels we are staying at and got us hooked on the idea of an Aman trip to Bhutan!

Would definitely recommend a stay here. Be sure to leave some time to relax in the room and definitely try the Indonesian meal at dinner (although I would recommend sharing as it is quite a lot for one person)

Room Tip: Loved the pool suite with the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
3 km away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
2.5 km away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#6 of 11 in Borobudur
1,034 reviews
4.1 km away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#2 of 11 in Borobudur
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
36.5 km away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#8 of 23 in Magelang
472 reviews
20.2 km away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#5 of 11 in Borobudur
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanjiwo Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjiwo Resorts

Address: Ds. Majaksingi, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Borobudur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Borobudur
#3 Spa Hotel in Borobudur
Price Range: ₹ 42,283 - ₹ 61,607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjiwo Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanjiwo (peaceful soul) overlooks Borobudur, the world's largest Buddhist sanctuary, in the rural heartland of Central Java. Located in one of the most scenic parts of the country, the Menoreh Hills rise up behind and no less than four volcanoes grace the horizon. Amanjiwo provides the opportunity for immersion in Javanese culture, offering trips to ceremonies, temples and antique shops. Private dawn and sunset visits to Borobudur and other archeological monuments in the vicinity are the highlight of a stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanjiwo Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjiwo Hotel Yogyakarta
Amanjiwo Resort Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing