We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no better experience!”
Review of Amanjiwo Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amanjiwo Resorts
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Like many people, I scour Tripadvisor reviews when choosing hotels, restaurants and things to do - and no matter how consistently highly rated a particular place is, there are always naysayers. This is as true for Amanjiwo as it for everywhere else, but I have to say in this case that the yays have it...

For a start, there is simply no location like this anywhere else. Amanjiwo is simply a stunningly beautiful property. In addition to poetic views of Borobudur and the surrounding valley, it possesses a life affirming aura which is impossible to describe here. The age induced 'fatigue' that other reviewers mention is not obvious, and where one does notice a crack here or a blemish there, this is all congruent with the graceful aging of a grand temple, just like the more famous one down the road.

Some specifics - the service is intimate, genuine, and in my opinion unrivaled; and the food is spectacular, especially the Indonesian 'Makan Malam' traditional dinners. One night we opted instead for an in-suite Indonesian BBQ with private chef, and this was without doubt one of the finest dining experiences in our well-travelled lives.

We also enjoyed the afternoon Borobudur 'Intellectual Tour', which was so good and comprehensive that we elected not to do the much-hyped (and outrageously expensive) Borobudor Sunrise. We may have missed a soulful sunrise but didn't feel that we missed any of the experience.

I highly recommend the Menoreh Hills trek - this was an unexpectedly intimate and rich activity that was really undersold in the reviews here and at the hotel. If you love a bit of exercise, great views and a real taste of Indonesian village life then this is for you.

Other myths to slay - the tennis court is possibly the most beautifully situated, maintained and presented resort court you will find anywhere, and a booking comes replete with new balls, freshly strung rackets, watermelon, orange water, cold towels, iced water and the usual enthusiastic, smiling staff - who, by the way are prepared to be relieved of their duty if you are willing to collect your own balls between shots! I was really pleasantly surprised having seen photos of a weed infested court posted on Tripadvisor by a yet another naysayer complaining that it wasn't up to 'Aman standards'

Do yourself a favour and stay here, there really is nothing else like it.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnlisa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 324 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

This hotel is really one of it's kind.
You wont find it elswhere....the spiritual feeling is soo strong and it's like you have an inner conversation with yourself.
Maybe it's because of the fact that the Borobudur temple is so close, you feels like you can sense it's aura...
Amanjiwo is very well placed, the location of this hotel is unbelivable. The view is priceless and the service is excellent which is expected with the price that you paid.
The food was delicious and the breakfast & dinner were an unforgetable affairs.
I really enjoyed my stay, the room was very cozy and calm....when you get there, you dont want to go anywhere...
It's really worth to try, at least once before you die
*nowonderthebeckhampspendtheirhoneymoonhere*

Room Tip: If you really must see a TV, actually you can ask the concierge and they will set up the TV for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My husband and I escaped our respective offices and children by hiding out in the amanjiwo for 3 nights. Gorgeous setting, luxurious rooms, warm hosts, sumptuous food and air-conditioned black sedans that could ferry us from temple to temple. It was pure bliss and we felt guilty but not for long. Hurray for the accommodating guides, the soursop martinis in the tobacco fields, the shadow play (wayang kulit) by the pool and encouragement to be creative ans paint a postcard. Boo for not being cheap enough for us to stay for an entire month. Sure, visit borobudur by dawn and go clamber over the ruins at prambanan. But take an early morning stroll in the villages and among the lush fields that surround Amanjiwo. You may find peace in unexpected places.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Motai8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The room was extraordinary, the food was great, the proximity and access to Borobudur were unbeatable, and they were accommodating to children.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rpw11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Beside the Glam Factor and Fantastic Service, the resort is an architectural marvel by itself. I was told alot of material were source locally. Entering the resort is like visiting a temple. Circular structure for the main complex, with marble walkway leading to villas and some public area.

One couldnt help but being awed by the complex itself, residing here even for a few days makes one felt like a V VIP. Our butler attend to all our needs, even anticipating some of them. We love the pool and the marble sunken bathtub, we could have just hide in our villa for the duration of our stay, but this is Jogja, we have to go out to explore the UNESCO sites around her. After every outing, we are very happy to go back to our private to relax.

I wanna go back there again !!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plwh888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
3.0 km away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
4.1 km away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 10 in Borobudur
229 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
36.5 km away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Magelang
454 reviews
24.3 km away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 206 in Yogyakarta
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanjiwo Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjiwo Resorts

Address: Ds. Majaksingi, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Borobudur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Borobudur
#3 Spa Hotel in Borobudur
Price Range: ₹ 41,030 - ₹ 77,919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjiwo Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanjiwo (peaceful soul) overlooks Borobudur, the world's largest Buddhist sanctuary, in the rural heartland of Central Java. Located in one of the most scenic parts of the country, the Menoreh Hills rise up behind and no less than four volcanoes grace the horizon. Amanjiwo provides the opportunity for immersion in Javanese culture, offering trips to ceremonies, temples and antique shops. Private dawn and sunset visits to Borobudur and other archeological monuments in the vicinity are the highlight of a stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanjiwo Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjiwo Hotel Yogyakarta
Amanjiwo Resort Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing