We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 393
US$ 268
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 69
US$ 65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Borobudur Resort(Borobudur)
US$ 235
US$ 163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 35
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 51
US$ 45
Priceline
View Deal
US$ 21
Booking.com
View Deal
Alip Hostel(Borobudur)(Great Value!)
US$ 17
Booking.com
View Deal
ADA Homestay(Borobudur)(Great Value!)
US$ 14
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alea Guest House(Borobudur)(Great Value!)
US$ 21
US$ 20
Agoda.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
497
67
19
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
67
19
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaman propertyoutdoor bathtubborobudur suitemain buildinged tuttleborobudur templepool restaurantpicnic breakfastrice fieldshousekeeping staffcentral javamain pooldriver guideprogo riverroom numberday bedf b
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Every review of this place speaks to the amazing service, beauty, grandeur and quality you will find here. All of it is true. This is surely one of the most spectacular properties you will ever stay at. We had booked a Garden Suite but were upgraded upon arrival to the Garden Pool Suite with a view of Borobudur in the distance. Our private pool and cabana were a highlight of our trip throughout Thailand and Indonesia. We also had a deep marble tub for two in our private garden! You cannot imagine the quality of everything in this hotel. From the moment we were met on the tarmac, escorted to a VIP lounge and served pastries and cappuccino while someone from the hotel waited for our baggage and tagged it with leather luggage tags, we were treated like very important guests. After check-in we were escorted to our room and our luggage was already placed in separate dressing areas for him and her with the appropriate small sized slippers, make-up mirror and robe for her! There are even straw hats and bags for your use that you can take home as a souvenir. Now for the caution...the price! A small 6 oz.glass of a non-alcoholic ginger beer was approximately $15 US and most of that was ice! Their signature soursop martini was approximately $30, for one! A glass of orange juice is about $10. The dawn tour of Borobudur for two will cost about $200. If cost is not an issue then by all means book the tours, order in room service, go to the spa. But this property is not near anything so it's not like you have a choice unless you want to take a car and go into the small town ( but that car ride will cost about $35 an hour) and try your luck with the local cuisine.
Again..enjoy each moment you have at the stunning hotel as it is truly a Wonder of this World.

Room Tip: Pool Suite #4
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TravellerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

My wife and I travel extensively throughout the world, and have fortunate enough to be able to stay at some of fhe most unique and wonderful 5 star lodgings throughout Africa, Asia, and Europe.

Amanjiwo topped every prior experience we have had. The general manager, Sean, personally greated each guest, along with the flower throwing children. Our room butlers went above and beyond for each of our request!! - we booked the Borobador pool suite, and it was worth the extra money - it was heaven to look out of the perfect bedroom window, over the pool, past the rice fields to see the magic of Borobador. This hotel architecturally was as spiritual as the temple itself, and that is an amazing complement to the architect. The food services manager, Francisco, would make any food request happen without blinking - all in all every need was anticipated, and every kindness extended. We spent 4 nights, and will return for a longer stay in the future. Oh... and I almost forgot the main pool... the most magnificent we have ever experienced.... I know the review sounds too good to be true, but so does every review of this resort that we read prior to going. Do not miss hiking on the peaks behind the hotel, or the silent meditation and chanting at night. We also took bicycles through the local village, and the villagers were kind and wonderful- as curious about us, as we were about them...

Two small issues.

First, the tour of Borobudur should be lead by a buddist - our hotel guide, while being very nice, clearly had no respect for the religion, and his actions were not respectful of the history, or the beauty - I realize that this is a muslim country but we travel with respect for every other religion, and expect no less from the guide to what is Asia's Second Largest Temple in the World.

Second, costs add quickly here, for example, my wife requested some nice smelling flowers in the room - any type (there are fragrant flowers everywhere around all public areas), and we were charged extra for them, and for a number of other little items which we thought was a bit silly... we did not complain, as life is too short, but as you do not sign bills during your stay, don't be surprised.

Room Tip: Spend extra and get the Borobudur Pool Suite - it is worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank culturebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Perfect. Enough said. But I am told reviews need to be 50 characters. Really -best place we have ever stayed. Bar none.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-fussy-bugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Second visit at Amanjiwo and second memorable and unparalleled experience. It's even hard to find a word strong enough for the level of pleasure and satisfaction we have had during these few days we spent in this unique property.

From the moment you land until the moment you'll hardly leave, Amanjiwo will exceed your highest expectations and you'll be superbly pampered by a family, not by hotel employees. Each person who is working at Amanjiwo will never stop to search how to make you the most happy person, will try to make you special at all times and that's absolutely impressive and so not often happening.

The hotel in itself is a pure wonder of architecture. Designed by Ed Turtle, this very exclusive property is like a little Borobudur, elegant, peaceful, so relaxing and perfectly maintained. The surrounding area is just gorgeous and everywhere your eyes will stop, be prepared to a strong emotion. The view across the rural and superb Javanese countryside on the biggest Bouddhist temple of Borobudur is simply breathtaking.

After a welcome so marvellous with little javanese girls throwing fragant flowers petals on us, we have been escorted by the duty manager, Francisco, and our butler to the incredible Dalem Jiwo suite, a discreet compound where we stayed already last time. But even after one stay in which is undoubtly the most beautiful suite on our planet, we jumped into a dream when we see this open air living room under a rotunda facing a long 15 meters pool like floating up the the rice fields and regarding the majestic Borobudur and all around the vulcanoes.
Everything in this massive 2 bedrooms suite is just so beautiful: the decor, the atmosphere, the space and the two butlers were maybe the nicest guys we met and having them was just amazing. They're perfectly anticipated all our needs and when we were relaxing around our pool, they bring us a divine drink with ginger since they noted we were drinking ginger tea in the morning... It's just like in a dream...

Amanjiwo has designed for us a few excursions or experiences and we're now sure, after trying the sunset martinis at Menoreh Hills; a bucolic picnic in front of Progo river; an excellent and so interesting cultural tour at Borobudur and a village "andong" village tour that Amanjiwo has the secret recipe to drive the guest to the complete Nirvana.

Moreover and that's very important, don't think this luxurious retreat is a snobish place, not at all due to a friendly and cool management and staff. You'll feel so comfortable and relaxed at Amanjiwo and you'll probably never wanna leave. Having a tear when you leave an hotel doesn't happen often but we had one. It means a lot.

Thanks to be the most perfect place on earth...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Visited for a delayed birthday, we have been ever so well looked after. The manager Sean, greeted us by name upon arrival which was a lovely touch. All of the staff know our room number and names and are so friendly.
Just a couple of minutes from the main attraction, Borobadur, which is perfect to watch the sun rise from over the brooding Mt Merapi, stunning. Also brilliant to do it before the hoards of school children arrive and want to take your photo!
Rooms are lovely, big and quiet. Denon IPod dock complete with IPod with music for all tastes station are great for relaxing. Huge daybeds next to private plunge pools are secluded and private.
Very relaxing spot, the hotels has a book of activities to choose from.
A fantastic relaxing few days in a slightly cooler climate than we are used to in Singapore

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen1lum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews