We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Resort in Java Island near Borobodur Temple”
Review of Amanjiwo Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanjiwo Resorts
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Once awhile in life you ought to splur on your vacation. When you have that oppotunity try to stay in AMANJIWO. This the top notch resort in Java island. Great service and clean. Fantastic view of the Borobodur temple from the restaurant. Even if you don't stay here, you might be able to have breakfast or brunch here. Again, it is very pricey but worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank playgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 331 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

Every review of this place speaks to the amazing service, beauty, grandeur and quality you will find here. All of it is true. This is surely one of the most spectacular properties you will ever stay at. We had booked a Garden Suite but were upgraded upon arrival to the Garden Pool Suite with a view of Borobudur in the distance. Our private pool and cabana were a highlight of our trip throughout Thailand and Indonesia. We also had a deep marble tub for two in our private garden! You cannot imagine the quality of everything in this hotel. From the moment we were met on the tarmac, escorted to a VIP lounge and served pastries and cappuccino while someone from the hotel waited for our baggage and tagged it with leather luggage tags, we were treated like very important guests. After check-in we were escorted to our room and our luggage was already placed in separate dressing areas for him and her with the appropriate small sized slippers, make-up mirror and robe for her! There are even straw hats and bags for your use that you can take home as a souvenir. Now for the caution...the price! A small 6 oz.glass of a non-alcoholic ginger beer was approximately $15 US and most of that was ice! Their signature soursop martini was approximately $30, for one! A glass of orange juice is about $10. The dawn tour of Borobudur for two will cost about $200. If cost is not an issue then by all means book the tours, order in room service, go to the spa. But this property is not near anything so it's not like you have a choice unless you want to take a car and go into the small town ( but that car ride will cost about $35 an hour) and try your luck with the local cuisine.
Again..enjoy each moment you have at the stunning hotel as it is truly a Wonder of this World.

Room Tip: Pool Suite #4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TravellerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

My wife and I travel extensively throughout the world, and have fortunate enough to be able to stay at some of fhe most unique and wonderful 5 star lodgings throughout Africa, Asia, and Europe.

Amanjiwo topped every prior experience we have had. The general manager, Sean, personally greated each guest, along with the flower throwing children. Our room butlers went above and beyond for each of our request!! - we booked the Borobador pool suite, and it was worth the extra money - it was heaven to look out of the perfect bedroom window, over the pool, past the rice fields to see the magic of Borobador. This hotel architecturally was as spiritual as the temple itself, and that is an amazing complement to the architect. The food services manager, Francisco, would make any food request happen without blinking - all in all every need was anticipated, and every kindness extended. We spent 4 nights, and will return for a longer stay in the future. Oh... and I almost forgot the main pool... the most magnificent we have ever experienced.... I know the review sounds too good to be true, but so does every review of this resort that we read prior to going. Do not miss hiking on the peaks behind the hotel, or the silent meditation and chanting at night. We also took bicycles through the local village, and the villagers were kind and wonderful- as curious about us, as we were about them...

Two small issues.

First, the tour of Borobudur should be lead by a buddist - our hotel guide, while being very nice, clearly had no respect for the religion, and his actions were not respectful of the history, or the beauty - I realize that this is a muslim country but we travel with respect for every other religion, and expect no less from the guide to what is Asia's Second Largest Temple in the World.

Second, costs add quickly here, for example, my wife requested some nice smelling flowers in the room - any type (there are fragrant flowers everywhere around all public areas), and we were charged extra for them, and for a number of other little items which we thought was a bit silly... we did not complain, as life is too short, but as you do not sign bills during your stay, don't be surprised.

Room Tip: Spend extra and get the Borobudur Pool Suite - it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank culturebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Perfect. Enough said. But I am told reviews need to be 50 characters. Really -best place we have ever stayed. Bar none.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-fussy-bugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Second visit at Amanjiwo and second memorable and unparalleled experience. It's even hard to find a word strong enough for the level of pleasure and satisfaction we have had during these few days we spent in this unique property.

From the moment you land until the moment you'll hardly leave, Amanjiwo will exceed your highest expectations and you'll be superbly pampered by a family, not by hotel employees. Each person who is working at Amanjiwo will never stop to search how to make you the most happy person, will try to make you special at all times and that's absolutely impressive and so not often happening.

The hotel in itself is a pure wonder of architecture. Designed by Ed Turtle, this very exclusive property is like a little Borobudur, elegant, peaceful, so relaxing and perfectly maintained. The surrounding area is just gorgeous and everywhere your eyes will stop, be prepared to a strong emotion. The view across the rural and superb Javanese countryside on the biggest Bouddhist temple of Borobudur is simply breathtaking.

After a welcome so marvellous with little javanese girls throwing fragant flowers petals on us, we have been escorted by the duty manager, Francisco, and our butler to the incredible Dalem Jiwo suite, a discreet compound where we stayed already last time. But even after one stay in which is undoubtly the most beautiful suite on our planet, we jumped into a dream when we see this open air living room under a rotunda facing a long 15 meters pool like floating up the the rice fields and regarding the majestic Borobudur and all around the vulcanoes.
Everything in this massive 2 bedrooms suite is just so beautiful: the decor, the atmosphere, the space and the two butlers were maybe the nicest guys we met and having them was just amazing. They're perfectly anticipated all our needs and when we were relaxing around our pool, they bring us a divine drink with ginger since they noted we were drinking ginger tea in the morning... It's just like in a dream...

Amanjiwo has designed for us a few excursions or experiences and we're now sure, after trying the sunset martinis at Menoreh Hills; a bucolic picnic in front of Progo river; an excellent and so interesting cultural tour at Borobudur and a village "andong" village tour that Amanjiwo has the secret recipe to drive the guest to the complete Nirvana.

Moreover and that's very important, don't think this luxurious retreat is a snobish place, not at all due to a friendly and cool management and staff. You'll feel so comfortable and relaxed at Amanjiwo and you'll probably never wanna leave. Having a tear when you leave an hotel doesn't happen often but we had one. It means a lot.

Thanks to be the most perfect place on earth...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
3.0 km away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
4.1 km away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 10 in Borobudur
229 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
36.5 km away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Magelang
454 reviews
24.3 km away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 207 in Yogyakarta
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanjiwo Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjiwo Resorts

Address: Ds. Majaksingi, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Borobudur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Borobudur
#3 Spa Hotel in Borobudur
Price Range: ₹ 41,129 - ₹ 74,408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjiwo Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanjiwo (peaceful soul) overlooks Borobudur, the world's largest Buddhist sanctuary, in the rural heartland of Central Java. Located in one of the most scenic parts of the country, the Menoreh Hills rise up behind and no less than four volcanoes grace the horizon. Amanjiwo provides the opportunity for immersion in Javanese culture, offering trips to ceremonies, temples and antique shops. Private dawn and sunset visits to Borobudur and other archeological monuments in the vicinity are the highlight of a stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanjiwo Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjiwo Hotel Yogyakarta
Amanjiwo Resort Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing