We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
306
45
13
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
45
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool javanese experience each meal volcanic mountains free laundry dragon head surprise upgrade overlooking the valley dedicated staff felt like royalty javanese style amazing experience call to prayer three nights yogyakarta airport laundry service rice fields
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Merapi villa, which was hidden in the Indonesian jungle, for a few heavenly days. There were four bungalow-type rooms with private outdoor bathrooms, a beautiful swimming pool accompanied by a fun slide and
a lovely terrasse and living area. Everything was decorated in a traditional Javanese fashion and the villa was overall homely but also classy.

The staff were exceptional. They spoke very good english, took us exciting outings and were always ready to help. I would personally recommend the bike rides as the staff that took us showed us to beautiful and interesting spots where my family and I discovered new skills and views. Cookery classes are also very fun and I (who adores traditional cuisine) enjoyed the new flavours and techniques greatly.

The food was fresh, flavoured and nutritious. We would order it the meal before from a range of different options in a menu and decide what time we wanted it served. The staff were on time, discreet, the food came quickly and we were always pleasantly surprised by the new tastes and especially the scrumptious deserts.

Overall I would 100% recommend this hotel to family, couples and others. We stayed in probably the best place we have ever been to and the experience was definitely worth the price.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Benjamin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Benjamin,

Greetings from Villa Borobudur! It was a pleasure having you and your family with us. We greatly appreciate the time taken to write your review and we are happy you had such a wonderful stay and do appreciate our service concept of authentic Java and the efforts we undertake to conserve nature and culture in the Borobudur area. We also happy to hear that you could enjoyed the Javanese cuisine.

Hope to see you and the family again, more fun things to do and explore next time!

Best regards,

Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We got a pick up from the train station in Yogya. Then we were very kindly welcomed by the staff. The place looks amazing and has all the kinds of comfort that you need! The staff was very kind and helpfull! This was our best stay during our trip! Would recommend to anyone for sure

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Sam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Sam,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are really happy to hear that you could enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward for your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this place on the mountain hill watching over the Borobudur temple and what has been created here is a unique mix of an authentic set of small villas all in wood, a luxury environment without being posh or over the top and some of the best customer service we have ever seen.
Most of the areas are directly connected to the open air, no air conditioning needed, although available in the rooms. The meals offer an Indonesian experience of fine dining quality yet with down to earth dishes.
The swimming pool is beautiful, clean and long enough for a really nice swim.
The hotel offers a driver Service that made the experience even more unique. We visited Jogjakarta, the Borobudur and Prambanan temples and found beautiful wood and stone work.
A real recommendation if you are in for an experience that is clearly off the beaten track and if you can appreciate nature.

A little warning: if you allergic to nature and living creatures or want hamburgers and club sandwiches, this is probably not the experience you are seeking!

If not: indulge and enjoy a unique experience!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Charly_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Charly and Arjen,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We very much appreciated your understanding regarding our location. We are glad to hear that you could enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass your compliment to our staff who help you during your stayed. Hopefully we can welcoming you again next time.

Kind Regards,

Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed as a family (4 kids aged 16 to 21) for four nights in a private villa (Marabu) . Fabulous views across the lush valley to the Borobudur temple and volcanoes beyond. The villa has three en-suite large bedrooms, private pool with loads of seating & lounging space and a dining & lounge area.
Being up on the hillside there seems to be a welcome breeze most evenings so it’s a little cooler than on the valley floor.
The villa comes with its own staff who are friendly, charming and so helpful. We chose to eat in the villa each evening and the food was delightful .
There is plenty to do and see in the area and not just the Borobudur temple which is definitely worth a visit as is the village tour finishing off with a cooking lesson and lunch in a local house.
The hotel staff are very happy and able to organise trips. We all went on a jeep safari and the kids also went to see/make Batik and on a trek up the mountain to another village whilst we just relaxed enjoying the pool and view.
This has been a perfect few days.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanazil L, General Manager at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Dear Bunney family,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you could enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for the compliment for our staff who are able to give the best service to you and your family. It has a pleasure to have you as our guest. Hopefully we could welcoming you again next time.

Kind Regards,

Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Warning when you order your holiday here ensure that you get the accomodation you booked,we didnt,we saw the glossy picture,yes like the one above and thought'yep that will do us' but when we got to this resort we were given a less than adequate accomodation, we decided to stay as we thought it could be ok...it wasnt..the food was edible the staff were brilliant the bugs were horrendous..after the third day we made a complaint and was offered ?? yes the place we thought we had booked,no the bugs and cockroach on my head was enough to end this journey plus I got an ear infection from the water in the inadequate trickle of a shower...nice pool,nice staff..so be warned about what you are booking and this was our honeymoon..we asked to leave and the offered 3 day refund..which they did pay after one week..we had no issue with the staff just the people who lied about what we were paying for..I have video but cant upload on this site..

Room Tip: dont go there..........
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanazil L, General Manager at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Mr. Kim,

We very much regret that your stay in Villa Borobudur Resort did not meet your expectations.
But we would like to put a couple of things regarding you unsympathetic review in perspective. First of all: We do not lie, as you bluntly accuse us of.
On arrival you were upgraded from the room you booked (a Merapi suite) to a Borobudur suite in Villa Mahayana. Yes, we are close to nature and there will probably be some insects around. However, the "cockroach on you head" and ear infection you state you suffered during you short stay, sound rather unbelievable.
You were also offered an additional upgrade to one of our top private villas; an offer you chose not to accept. Instead you decided to leave prematurely. You should be aware that the refund we gave, we are not obliged to pay. The reason we do this is that we respect our guests, even if you chose to confront us with unreasonable complaints and requests. Then, complaining that you had to wait a week for your refund is rather absurd: We try to do this is fast as possible; we always take our guests very seriously. We would have appreciated if you treated our staff with more respect.

Kind regards,

Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews