We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveller rating
432
123
32
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
123
32
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool executive villa patio restaurant horse riding morning yoga class mini zoo fabulous hotel call to prayer colonial style fantastic stay beef rendang hotel driver sunrise tour surrounding villages spent two nights mosquito net paddy fields
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 597 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2018

We took an executive pool villa. It was a bit far from the lobby, but if requested a shuttle would come for us. The walk was challenging— 200 steps, good for us.
The room itself was beautiful, the view good. We were almost in paddy fields and a village so you got to hear the cockerels crowing. People complain about the Adhan, it did not bother usas we are Muslims, they supply ear plugs
The staff was wonderful and the resort manager Mia too. They had a big function one night, but they went out of their way to make sure the in house guests were looked after.
The views from the patio restaurant and the roof were astounding. On a clear day you can see the sunrise over Borobudur, whereas the sunrise tour is sunrise from Borobudur.
Food at the restaurant was very good

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ammu610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ni komang d, Resort Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Ammu610,

Warmest Greetings from Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are extremely thankful for having you as our valued guest. We delighted that you love paddy field view from your Villa and breathtaking Borobudur temple view from Patio restaurant. T
The pleasure was mine to served you personally during your stay, I have shared your praise with my team since I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to continuously serves the excellent quality of our product and service.

Once again thank you for all the positive respond through this posting and do look forward to welcoming you back to Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa

Yours sincerely,

Ni Komang Darmiati
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

On the first night we arrived, there was a group of ~25 Asian businessmen in their corporate t-shirts who weren’t guests at the resort having a karaoke night at the restaurant’s outside patio (and directly across from the spa).

There was also a cooking competition with an MC, men in ridiculous chef outfits, and an amplifier (ironically) at the yoga pavilion which was next to our villa. Even with all the doors closed and the TV volume up, I could hear everything. I was soon in cheesy resort hell. There went our idea of a weekend getaway into tranquility and spa bliss to get away from the city’s hustle and bustle.

But oh wait, it gets more interesting:

When we expressed our disappointment to the resort manager, she responded by telling us that these businessmen were a “valued customer”. Huh?

It’s a shame that clearly certain types of local “businessmen” who aren’t even guests at the resort are deemed more valued (which I didn’t even want to get into); hence they can clearly behave as they wish.

A total waste of a beautiful real estate and setting due to poor and inexperienced management. But the rest of the staff were nice!

Advice: if you are dying to stay here then make sure there are no corporate events booked during your stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Washingtonienne73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tweberplataran, Director of Operations at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Mr. Steel,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your valued feedback.

I am glad you were able to appreciate the beautiful setting of the Resort and the level of personal service from the staff which many of our guests have commented on.

At the same time, I regret that you were not able to enjoy the beauty of our Resort to its fullest due to an activity by other guests in the Restaurant and I apologize for the inconvenience. It is our goal and mission to treat every one of our guests as a valued customer and to exceed expectations. It is also our policy that any activity held by our guests in the Restaurant will suit the privacy and tranquility of other guests, keeping in mind the configuration of the villas and the Restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you back at our other properties in the near future.

With best regards,

Thomas Weber
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Life here is comfortable and really friendly with great dining opportunities too. We got up-graded to a room with a small pool where we could relax and cool down on the hot days. Borobudur is a few minutes away and cars are available to take visitors here and to other local sites. The team here is well presented and most friendly so that no request is too much; they go out of their way to make you feel welcome and relaxed.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ni komang d, Resort Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear John P,

Warmest Greetings from Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are extremely thankful for having you as our valued guest. We delighted that you have comfortable stay. I have shared your praise with my team since I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to continuously serves the excellent quality of our product and service. Once again thank you for all the positive respond through this posting and do look forward to welcoming you back to Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa

Yours sincerely,

Ni Komang Darmiati
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We booked this resort as we wanted to stay close to Borobodur which is a 10 minute car ride away.

An amazing resort, in a rural setting, great views of Mt Merapi and Borobudur from the Patio restaurant.Credit to Mia the general manager for running a great resort with exceptional and very friendly staff.

Lovely villas with great views of the Menorah hills - Villa 202 has one of the best views.

We organised a couple of trips through the hotel - Mt. Merapi climb incl. a guide and day trip to Prambanan temple - very efficient service.

Great Indonesian food at the Patio restaurant.

Room Tip: Villa 202 has the best hill views!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pankaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ni komang d, Resort Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Mr and Mrs. Pankaj S,

Warmest Greetings from Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are extremely thankful for having you as our valued guest. We delighted that you love Villa 202 the most. I do appreciated the opportunity to have the time to served you personally and ensured your stay memorable one. Your praise regarding my team already shared as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to continuously serves the excellent quality of our product and service.

Once again thank you for all the positive respond through this posting and do look forward to welcoming you back to Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa

Yours sincerely,

Ni Komang Darmiati
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Since we stayed Plataran Heritage (other Plataran hotel just 5 minutes drive away), we tried Patio restaurant at Plataran Resort which has a good and nice view overlooking the Borobudur from a far.

The booking was done thru the hotel at Plataran Heritage. However, when we arrived there, we were greeted with quite a lot of fuzziness from a lady whom then called a guy then made a contact to someone, and saying our booking was not there, etc.

It seems very bureaucratic although the reservation at Patio was done thru the same group hotel nearby.

We at last accepted in the Patio.

Thought it was crowded etc, since our booking at 4 Pm was shifted to 5 Pm, but actually the restaurant was occupied at less than 50% capacity.

View is nice and we love it.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marly731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ni komang d, Resort Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Marly 731,

Warmest Greetings from Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are extremely thankful for having you as our valued guest. We delighted that you love the breathtaking Borobudur view while dine at the Patio Restaurant . Your valued feedback regarding reservation process for the restaurant has been well noted and addressed directly to department for improvement. I assure you that that was not Plataran service culture and therefore we do apologize for the inconvenience.
Once again thank you for all the positive respond through this posting and do look forward to welcoming you back to Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa

Yours sincerely,
Ni Komang Darmiati
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews