We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Life Time Encounter with Traditional Indian Heritage”
Review of INDeco Swamimalai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
INDeco Swamimalai
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2009

I was absolutely ignorant of the heritage values of monuments and the beauty of the culture of Tamilnadu though i was brought up in the state through out till i got married and came to Gujarat. It was thanks to my brother who lives in Chennai and is a member of Sterling resorts who suggested this place for our summer holidays.
I was very hesitant earlier and despised the idea of going to Kumbakonam of all places.Little did I know that I was going to discover the most wonderful heritage marvels of our country.My joys are still evergreen everytime I think of my stay in that property though it is almost 2years.
The Swamimalai heritage resort is a very realistic and well maintained property.The architect has done a fabaulous job by preserving the original theme of the early days of the landlord houses .The cottages are wonderfully made with the present day facilities not disturbing any of the olden days values.The reception area,restaurant, massage rooms,swimming pools add more fragrance.
The not to miss attractions of this property are the yoga sessions and the museum within which have a marvellous collection of our Indian culture.
Last but not the least the house-keeping staff, the food service and the food is wonderful complementing the entire ambience of this property.
I would recommend to all heritage lovers this is one place you must experience before you die

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank nikhilVadodara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 223 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2008

A short holiday at a typical village setting, with great ambience and good food was what we sought and got in Indeco Anandham at Swamimalai.
Swamimalai is a temple town about 300 kms South of Chennai, South India. We drove from Chennai through Pondicherry, Chidambaram, Kumbakonam and reached in about 5 hours. Check-in was very smooth and the guest is offered a relaxing foot massage in the front office itself.
Indeco Anandham, earlier called Sterling Swamimalai, is set in a 19th century location. The original home has been refurbished to include all the amenities a well-heeled traveler would require and expect from a quality resort. Additional rooms have been built with the same ambience. The rooms have AC, Television with satellite channels, Direct Dialing Telephone, Fridge, toilets with hot water, etc.
The resort resembles a typical south Indian village, with mud streets, rooms in the form of tiled village houses lining the streets, a common area where cultural performances are regularly held, swimming pool in the shape and appearance of a ubiquitous village temple tank, etc.
The resort itself is set inside a coconut and Banana Grove. The staff dressed in the traditional white dhoti (something like a sarong) and white khadhi shirt, lush fruit-bearing trees, flowering plants, a brook running inside the resort, cattle inside sheds and deer strolling around, etc., transport you to a village where life is relaxed and leisurely.
Even if you have come to this resort to visit temples around, you do not feel like stepping out of the peaceful place.
Don’t miss the several artifacts including palanquins and bullock carts, bronze idols placed at various places inside the resort and Steve’s museum which has a nice collection of antiques.
The plus point of this resort is the friendly, yet not intrusive staff, terrific food, well designed and comfortable rooms. I would love to visit and spend more time at this homely place.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank diwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2007

We stayed there five nights (room 202) and loved it. The hotel has a very nice compound associated with it that is full of interesting things to look at, e.g. animals, a small museum, nice statues, etc. In other words, one does not get bored there. It's a nice place to chill-out after temple viewings in the surrounding area. The staff is friendly and the South Indian food delicious; best chosen from the menu instead of eating the buffet. The lunchtime Thalis were great! The rooms are lovely containing old furniture and the whole place has a feeling of things gone by. This is of course deliberate and nicely executed. At the weekends there are cultural presentations, e.g. music or dance, which were not the usual corny tourist displays. I could write much more about this place but I have to leave it for now.

I would stay there again and although it is a bit on the pricy side (only for Indian and not Western standards!), it was worth it. Highly recommended!

The only thing the place could maybe improve is their Ayurveda offer to customers. If they would have had a simple leaflet explaining which treatments they offer at which costs, I am sure I would have gone for a massage or something like that. Instead I had to rely on the explanations of the staff which were not too brilliant. Small point though.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Garak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2006

Very pleasant hotel with a lot of character though quite basic but still comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sindhu S, General Manager at INDeco Swamimalai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbakonam
4.4 km away
Sara Regency
Sara Regency
#7 of 25 in Kumbakonam
309 reviews
5.6 km away
Quality Inn VIHA
Quality Inn VIHA
#4 of 25 in Kumbakonam
155 reviews
29.7 km away
Ideal River View Resort
Ideal River View Resort
#1 of 25 in Thanjavur
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Sivamurugan Hotels
Sivamurugan Hotels
#3 of 25 in Kumbakonam
198 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1
1.9 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#5 of 25 in Kumbakonam
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INDeco Swamimalai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INDeco Swamimalai

Address: 6/30 B Agraharam, | Baburajapuram, Kumbakonam 612302, India (Formerly Anandham Swamimalai)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur District > Kumbakonam
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Price Range: ₹ 2,801 - ₹ 7,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — INDeco Swamimalai 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra, ClearTrip, Booking.com, Djubo, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your INDeco Swamimalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anandham Swamimalai Hotel Kumbakonam
INDeco Swamimalai Kumbakonam, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing