We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
LoveTravel784625

Lovely during the week, hellish at weekends. Ignore all the rules or you will feel cheated

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks agovia mobile
We are currently on holiday here until Sunday.

The hotel is a good 10-15 minute walk to the beach depending on your ability, so the name should be changed to reflect the truth, I suggest either "Entering Albir Roundabout hotel and spa"- 10 second walk from hotel, or "Albir Lidl Hotel and spa"-also 10 second walk from hotel.

Albir is a lovely quiet town where all bars and restaurants close at 22:00, so you get used to early nights very quickly.

The hotel has large comfortable rooms, with good Aircon, free shampoo, toothbrush and moisturiser, a telly with BBC 1 & 2 and ITV. No tea making facilities in the room though.

There are lots of "rules", no food out of the dining room, no sunbathing until after 10:00, no sitting in the outside area after 20:00, no more than 8 people in the lifts. . . Well that is if you are British, Dutch or Norwegian who abide by the strict policing of the rules. At weekends however, the hotel becomes a Spanish run establishment, the outside area was cordoned off to guests for a wedding last weekend and this weekend all rules are off for visiting Spanish tourists, sitting and chanting around the pool until the early hours, claiming sunbeds before time and ignoring barriers.
The noise in the dining room was ok and ordered but is now reminiscent of that of eating a pie at a football match or trying to consume brunch at a Taylor Swift concert, food still cannot be removed if you are foreign but help yourself if you're local.

2 of the 3 lifts don't work at weekend where they have been overloaded, so bring a fan as the fire escape is hot and overcrowded with people plodding up and down.

In short if you are planning on staying at the Albir Playa Hotel and Spa Monday to Thursday, you will have a lovely relaxing time in keeping with Albirs ambience. If you are here at weekends bring your earplugs and sleeping tablets OR a large ghettoblaster and a shed load of duty free, you won't be able to beat them so you may as well join them! Have fun either way
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: Book Monday to Thursday only. Ignore the outside ban between 20:00-10:00 the locals do at the...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coordinadora de calidad, Other at Albir Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Love Travel784562,
Thank you for your comments. We do host private events on our premises but we try not to disturb the relaxation and enjoyment of our guests. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.
I hope see you son again.
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹22,283
  • Expedia.com
    ₹22,860
0.5 km from Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Pool
Restaurant
Pool area
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
1.6 km from Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Piscina con vistas a las montañas, es la joya de nuestro complejo de apartamentos. Relax, desconexión, tumbonas y sombrillas para todos los huéspedes.
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.0 km from Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹25,326
  • Algotels
5830.2 km from Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Free parking
Pool
бассейн
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹10,459
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in El Albir
Reviews (1,685)
Filter reviews
1,687 results
Traveller rating
549
686
296
97
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
549
686
296
97
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area lovely hotel half board deluxe room bed and breakfast per day number bus relaxing holiday minute walk to the beach lovely walk short break public areas bars and restaurants plenty of sunbeds salad lovely week something for everyone
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,687 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2024

We stayed at this hotel in the May half term so have just returned. I had a standard room which was more than ample with myself and my 16yr old son.
Check in was easy and we went straight to the room. There are three lifts in the hotel and a bit slow but who cares. The room had a fridge and a safe but no tea/coffee making facilities. The balcony had a couple of chairs on and a small area for wet clothes. The view wasn’t amazing as it was facing the road and Lidl but in my eyes you are only sleeping there.
We were half board I think a lot of people
Must of been bed and breakfast as there were never many people in the restaurant of an evening.
The breakfast was always fine the usual selection of pancakes, omelettes etc as well as continental options.
The dinner I must say was a bit of a let down and there wasn’t a lot of choice especially if you were fussy. But that’s just my own fault. We are 3 nights out of 4 the Indian “a taste of India” across the road is worth a visit.
Also there is a Lidl right next to the hotel so I think I most people were making there own lunches etc and it’s handy having it there.
Just up from the hotel to the right is a Popeyes and McDonalds.
Lots of bars and eateries nearby and only a 15min walk to the beach which is pebbley so you need beach shoes.
The hotel also has electric scooters outside which you can use as we did and you can go and visit further a field. We used them to go to the bars along the beachfront and to go up as far as Altea which is a beautiful place and worth a walk too.
The pool had the sun all day - it was freezing but maybe as the months go on it may warm up ha ha.
It was 15mins in a cab and €15 to Benidorm and €11 in a cab to the water park Aqualandia- well worth a visit - we brought our tickets online. Staff more than happy to call a cab for you.
I would recommend this hotel and would certainly come back.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l3ster3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coordinadora de calidad, Other at Albir Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear I3ster3007,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay during the May holidays and that you found the standard room suitable for you and your teenage son.

We appreciate your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We are committed to providing a memorable experience and will improve where necessary to ensure you enjoy your next stay with us even more.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your kind review.

Kird regards.

Albir Playa Hotel Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2024

This was our first visit to the hotel since the pandemic and we booked a deluxe room.

On the positive side:
Safe deposit box included in price.
Soft drinks mini bar include and replenished as needed.
Complimentary bottle of cava and chocolates on arrival.
Rooms don't have tea/coffee facilities, but we were given a kettle to use free of charge.
ALL staff were efficient,hard working and pleasant.

Perhaps not so positive:
No drinking glasses in the room. Neither restaurant nor reception would give us glasses other than thin plastic or paper cups. Not what we expected of a 4 star hotel,given that we did have a minibar.

Bathroom:
Short flush on toilet was switched off,hardly environmentally friendly. We were told this is hotel policy.
Toilet roll holder was dirty rusty and loose. It was peplaced on request, but man replacing it put old one in bidet which left loose dirt etc in bidet. This was not cleaned.
No rubber mat in a VERY slippy shower cubicle. Re1ception told s hotel do not supply them but we could go to Chinese supermarket and buy one!
Two paper cups at sink were not replaced the entire week.

Bedroom and balcony
Air con did not appear to be switched on until our last day,despite temperatures in high 20s
Floor of room not swept regularly.
Balcony clean on arrival, but bird poo on top of balcony wall was never cleaned. Neither was bird poo on balcony doors. Given how much poo there was, we think it must have been a sea gull!

Restaurant
Food was at best cool. Menu limited and repetitive. Despite pasta being on offer every day, with one exception,none of the sauces were meat based such as bolognese.
There were not enough staff too cover the restaurant when it was busy. The staff were run off their feet.

Elevators
There were three elevators, however, most days at least one was out of order.

Having stayed at this hotel several times, we were really looking forward to our stay.
However,based on this visit, next time we go to Albir we will stay in another hotel.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynniethepooh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2024

Fantastic pool area, rooms nice , bathrooms dated need tender love and care , but they are fine, showers hot, food is excellent and hot, plentiful, staff a loverly, I did not like the charge for pool towels 15euro on return you only get 10 back, towels changed every day. If they changed that to every other day the pool ones could be free, sunloungers comfy, pools ice cold but great, will be returning next year with hubbie

Room tip: Take your own pool towel
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wissywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coordinadora de calidad, Other at Albir Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Wissywoo,

Thank you for your detailed review and for sharing your experience. We appreciate your comments about the food, we are pleased to hear that you found it excellent and piping hot.

We are glad that you found our sun loungers comfortable and that you enjoyed our pools, even though the water may be a little cold. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you and your husband back next year. We are committed to making your next stay even more enjoyable and memorable.

Thank you again for your positive comments and for choosing our hotel, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards.

Albir Playa Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2024

What ever you do don't pay for deluxe - we stayed here last year standard room pool side - this year treated ourselves to deluxe room - no different in fact worse as we face the Lidl. When I asked what I paid extra for i was told the mini bar and shower . So the mini bar has two waters two cokes and a Fanta and the shower is not over the bath - so not worth the few hundred for the week.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2024

We stayed for a week Bed & Breakfast as part of a package purchased through Jet2.

The staff were great, always pleasant and very helpful.
Breakfast was good with lots of choice.
Our standard room was clean and comfortable and the A/C kept us nice and cool when needed.
We spent a lot of time around the pool at the request of our son, and used the poolside bar for drinks and snacks.
As it was the summer holidays there was entertainment on daily and we took advantage of it during the daytime.

The hotel is in a great location and there is a plethora of local bars and restaurants. We ate out each night, the local food is good and there is something for every budget.
There is a free shuttle bus from the hotel to the beach, but as it was only a 15 min walk we didn't use it.

As other reviewers have commented the décor is a little dated, but it is no worse than the budget friendly hotels in the UK.

We're going back next May and are all really looking forward to it.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews