We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
60
21
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
21
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely garden eggs the owner aunt hosts town
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Had the cottage in the garden in this lovely B & B. Owners very friendly and helpful, and booked restaurants for us. Beautiful area and quaint village nearby town very elegant. Would suggest breakfast could be improved with some fruit and perhaps eggs otherwise perfect. Went to a wedding on the Saturday of our four night stay in perfect location.

Room tip: Ask for cottage in garden
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tinaonhertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

I cannot recommend this B&B enough! We travelled with another couple and stayed in the 2 upstairs rooms which had a living area outside of our rooms for reading, evening conversations and wine. Guido and his aunt run this B&B; they were exceptionally accommodating to our needs. We chatted daily after breakfast about daily excursions sites in the region. Every location suggested was perfect! They did laundry for us (for a nominal price) and answering tons of questions about local culture and activities. I would highly recommend booking La Porto restaurant when you book this B&B - as there are only a few restaurants and La Porto is by far the best and has a amazing sunset view. We used Monticchiello as 'home base' and did daily trips in the region. This peaceful quiet town was perfect for our needs. There are plenty of visitors in the daytime as the views are stunning - but very quiet at night!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CynthiaL1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We spent five nights at Maria Gabriella in June and July 2015. Our group of four couples rented the entire place, and it could not have been a more perfect spot. The main house has two nicely sized bedrooms on the second floor that share a common area / living room. There is another bedroom with a separate exterior entrance that has a queen sized bed and twin bed in a small alcove. The fourth couple stayed in a small detached building on the property. Breakfast was prepared every morning by Guido, the proprietor, and his aunt. They took excellent care of us and were available at a moments notice if we needed anything or if we had questions about our accommodations. Guido made reservations for us several times and helped us secure a driver to pick someone up in Florence.

We were in Italy for a wedding and many of the other groups rented 6-8 bedroom houses. Everyone was jealous of our selection. Maria Gabriella is a few hundred feet from a delightful wine bar where we spent every evening. The entry to Monticchiello, a small medieval town, is just beyond the wine bar. The restaurant, La Porta, which is located just inside the arched entry has a much deserved Michelin Star. We ate there four times.

Monticchiello is centrally located in Tuscany. We took day trips to Montepulciano, Pienza, Siena, and Florence.

If we ever have the pleasure of returning to Tuscany, I wouldn't think twice about staying here again. We really loved every second and wouldn't change a thing.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JulieRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2015

What a beautiful place for a romantic stay. The house has a beautiful terrace at the back where you can enjoy the sunset and the peaceful surroundings (many birds are enjoying the place too...for bird lovers!). :)

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nadiavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

My family stayed here for one night. It is conveniently located steps away from the village, but it is very serene and welcoming. The rooms were perfectly clean, the space is huge and well decorated, and the hosts could not have been more attentive or accommodating. I loved everything about this beautiful respite, including the incredible sunset we enjoyed in the garden that night. Breakfast the next morning was homemade and delicious. Highly recommend staying here!

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews