We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy tuscany charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Maribelle Appartamenti
Reviewed 17 January 2014

#1 is a two bedroom, second level apt. Enclosed in an enchanting town that cars do not generally drive through. You climb a narrow stairway to enter the charming kitchen/sitting room, that has up-to-date appliances, well supplied pots and dishes, cotton curtains, garden view, traditional furniture. One bedroom is cozy along with modern cozy bathroom. Beds are comfortable. Lots of linens and robes. The second bedroom is good size with a regular size modern bathroom. The whole place was quite clean. (if you want pristine stay in a big hotel) but if you want a cozy tuscany dream this is a darling apt. with charm and character. Sooo quiet and friendly, take time to sit on the benches and talk with the locals. (may 2011)

Room Tip: You get to walk your luggage up the stone streets, decide to enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank smichellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

We spent 6 days in Monticchiello; what a fabulous location. Views were stunning....people friendly and some of the best dining around. Barbara met us at a prearranged time, gave us the once around on the appartment and amenities...then let us know she was only 15 minutes away and a phone call should we need anything. She is very welcoming, wonderfully warm. There is an old gate house Cafe/ Gelataria...wonderful company...the best fresh squeezed orange juice, great Spritz, and Cappuccino's....all this and a terrace to take in the views with. The appartment was cozy, even when we had to battle the dampness from the consistant rain...the heat was easy to adjust and quick to warm up the place. If you are looking for a quaint comfortable apartment...the Maribelle 2 certainly fits. This town is very small indeed, however has very quick and scenic access to both Pienza and Montipulcciano. Overnight parking is available, you have to walk up a bit of an incline for about 100 yards. There are some nice shops offering authentic works of art, from material to womens clothing to watercolour paintings. The location of the appartment is great...and for us , easy to find. Be certain to visit Trattoria Moranda; if you want a fabulous meal close to home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We loved it here! The village is super charming and beautiful. We stayed here with our three kids. They loved the village, running up and down the narrow streets. We found the house to be very comfortable and Barbara was an angel. She was super accommodating and helpful. I would absolutely return and stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bklynyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We are a couple traveling with our adult daughter and we stayed in Mirabelle 3, both the units for five nights in mid September just as weather cooled down. Our experience was totally different from other reviews, it was the most uncomfortable, dirty, and poorly maintained apartment in over four months of travel in Italy. The owner met us promptly and is very charming. She hastily gave us keys, assured us that the wifi was working, and almost as an after thought turned on the flash gas water system that is also the heating system for the apartment. She admonished us not to touch the controls on this heating unit, as it would be destructive to the system. After she left we discovered that the temperature setting was too cold for bathing, there were only two mismatched wine glasses (and we are in serious wine country), the door on the freezer section of the refrigerator was broken off, so no ice, there were only 3 teaspoons, but thereaware 7 tablecloths. There was dust and dirt everywhere, grease all over stove and back splashes, and dirty dishes in the cupboards. One of the bedrooms is below the apartment and has a separate entrance and lock. The porch light for that entrance was burned out, as was the light in the bath attached to that bedroom, and there were no extra bulbs to be found. The next morning we left for the day and emailed the owner to report the water temperature and light bulb problems, we could not call her as there was no cell reception. We returned to find bulbs replaced and a note that she had raised water temperature. I don't know what she actually did, but the next morning we had NO HEAT AND NO HOT WATER. Also, there is NO wifi, it is only available if one of the restaurant owners gives you their code to use their private system in the immediate vicinity of their establishment and it is turned on. It is very deceptive of Barbara to state that wifi is available. We were so frustrated when there was no heat or hot water, we just gave up and were happy when our stay ended and it was time to leave. I suspect she did not reset the heating unit properly after raising the temperature, but her stern warning not to touch the controls kept us from trying to fix it ourselves. The listing for the apartment states there is a living room and kitchen on the main floor. There is no living room, or sofa, or a place to read. There is a very large round table with chairs in the kitchen. That is not a living room. Bottom line: The listing is deceptive and the apartment is in need of serious cleaning and refurbishing. The owner needs to write a more accurate description and to check back with guests to see if all is going well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuigiandFulvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My mother & I recently returned from a 10-day vacation of a lifetime to Italy & were so fortunate to have chosen Monticchiello as our home base & more importantly, Le Maribelle 3 for our week long stay in Toscana. After researching the various towns in Toscana, it was Le Maribelle that sold us on Monticchiello!!! It was the perfect villa, in the quaint little town that had 3 amazing ristorantes & the Bar Guardiola with the most awesome hostess, Corsetta who served the most amazing bruschetta! Immediately when I reached out to Barbara, the owner of Le Maribelle online, she was so gracious & helpful, giving us travel tips & just so helpful that instantly I felt that I could trust her implicitly, which is so important when you're traveling thousands of miles to a foreign country where you don't know a soul! Barbara met us at the villa on the first day to welcome us & show us around. She made herself available to us anytime we needed her by phone, and she even arranged a tour of the Villa Sant'Anna winery in nearby Montepulciano. Barbara is close friends with the owners so there was no charge & when we arrived a little early for our tour, she took us on a ride to the beautiful nearby village of Montefollonico while we waited. Barbara instantly felt like family & was so gracious to us. Her villa, Le Maribelle was perfect for us, though there were just 2 of us, thanks to the bottom floor space, we easily could've had another couple join us. The villa had everything we needed & the upstairs bed, where we slept was so comfortable. At night we would open the window & just enjoy the breeze & the sounds of nature. Our last night in Monticchiello we arrived back to Le Maribelle from a long day in Firenze to a lovely bottle of wine thanks to our fabulous hostess! Barbara is the best & Monticchiello is amazing! Thank you Barbara for being such a wonderful hostess & helping me and my mother make such wonderful memories!!!!! We will forever remember our time in the Val d'Orcia & cherish our memories until we return to make new ones!!!! Ciao!

Room Tip: Barbara has three total villas to rent so be sure to check them all out before choosing So that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monticchiello hotels
0.1 km away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
0.2 km away
Affittacamere Maria Gabriella
Affittacamere Maria Gabriella
#3 of 7 in Monticchiello
82 reviews
2.9 km away
L'Olmo
L'Olmo
#2 of 11 in Monticchiello
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Agriturismo Barbi
Agriturismo Barbi
#4 of 11 in Monticchiello
91 reviews
0.1 km away
La Porta di Monticchiello
La Porta di Monticchiello
#3 of 11 in Monticchiello
53 reviews
0.2 km away
In Toscana Affittacamere
In Toscana Affittacamere
#5 of 7 in Monticchiello
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Maribelle Appartamenti? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Maribelle Appartamenti

Address: Via del Piano 29/33, 53026 Monticchiello, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza > Monticchiello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Monticchiello
Price Range: ₹ 5,976 - ₹ 13,576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Case Maribelle" is situated in the old town center of Montichiello, in what was once known as the "Garden of Montichiello", close both to the town walls and the Piazza del Teatro. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing