We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
18
7
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
7
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We spent 6 days in Monticchiello; what a fabulous location. Views were stunning....people friendly and some of the best dining around. Barbara met us at a prearranged time, gave us the once around on the appartment and amenities...then let us know she was only 15 minutes away and a phone call should we need anything. She is very welcoming, wonderfully warm. There is an old gate house Cafe/ Gelataria...wonderful company...the best fresh squeezed orange juice, great Spritz, and Cappuccino's....all this and a terrace to take in the views with. The appartment was cozy, even when we had to battle the dampness from the consistant rain...the heat was easy to adjust and quick to warm up the place. If you are looking for a quaint comfortable apartment...the Maribelle 2 certainly fits. This town is very small indeed, however has very quick and scenic access to both Pienza and Montipulcciano. Overnight parking is available, you have to walk up a bit of an incline for about 100 yards. There are some nice shops offering authentic works of art, from material to womens clothing to watercolour paintings. The location of the appartment is great...and for us , easy to find. Be certain to visit Trattoria Moranda; if you want a fabulous meal close to home.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We loved it here! The village is super charming and beautiful. We stayed here with our three kids. They loved the village, running up and down the narrow streets. We found the house to be very comfortable and Barbara was an angel. She was super accommodating and helpful. I would absolutely return and stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bklynyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We are a couple traveling with our adult daughter and we stayed in Mirabelle 3, both the units for five nights in mid September just as weather cooled down. Our experience was totally different from other reviews, it was the most uncomfortable, dirty, and poorly maintained apartment in over four months of travel in Italy. The owner met us promptly and is very charming. She hastily gave us keys, assured us that the wifi was working, and almost as an after thought turned on the flash gas water system that is also the heating system for the apartment. She admonished us not to touch the controls on this heating unit, as it would be destructive to the system. After she left we discovered that the temperature setting was too cold for bathing, there were only two mismatched wine glasses (and we are in serious wine country), the door on the freezer section of the refrigerator was broken off, so no ice, there were only 3 teaspoons, but thereaware 7 tablecloths. There was dust and dirt everywhere, grease all over stove and back splashes, and dirty dishes in the cupboards. One of the bedrooms is below the apartment and has a separate entrance and lock. The porch light for that entrance was burned out, as was the light in the bath attached to that bedroom, and there were no extra bulbs to be found. The next morning we left for the day and emailed the owner to report the water temperature and light bulb problems, we could not call her as there was no cell reception. We returned to find bulbs replaced and a note that she had raised water temperature. I don't know what she actually did, but the next morning we had NO HEAT AND NO HOT WATER. Also, there is NO wifi, it is only available if one of the restaurant owners gives you their code to use their private system in the immediate vicinity of their establishment and it is turned on. It is very deceptive of Barbara to state that wifi is available. We were so frustrated when there was no heat or hot water, we just gave up and were happy when our stay ended and it was time to leave. I suspect she did not reset the heating unit properly after raising the temperature, but her stern warning not to touch the controls kept us from trying to fix it ourselves. The listing for the apartment states there is a living room and kitchen on the main floor. There is no living room, or sofa, or a place to read. There is a very large round table with chairs in the kitchen. That is not a living room. Bottom line: The listing is deceptive and the apartment is in need of serious cleaning and refurbishing. The owner needs to write a more accurate description and to check back with guests to see if all is going well.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuigiandFulvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My mother & I recently returned from a 10-day vacation of a lifetime to Italy & were so fortunate to have chosen Monticchiello as our home base & more importantly, Le Maribelle 3 for our week long stay in Toscana. After researching the various towns in Toscana, it was Le Maribelle that sold us on Monticchiello!!! It was the perfect villa, in the quaint little town that had 3 amazing ristorantes & the Bar Guardiola with the most awesome hostess, Corsetta who served the most amazing bruschetta! Immediately when I reached out to Barbara, the owner of Le Maribelle online, she was so gracious & helpful, giving us travel tips & just so helpful that instantly I felt that I could trust her implicitly, which is so important when you're traveling thousands of miles to a foreign country where you don't know a soul! Barbara met us at the villa on the first day to welcome us & show us around. She made herself available to us anytime we needed her by phone, and she even arranged a tour of the Villa Sant'Anna winery in nearby Montepulciano. Barbara is close friends with the owners so there was no charge & when we arrived a little early for our tour, she took us on a ride to the beautiful nearby village of Montefollonico while we waited. Barbara instantly felt like family & was so gracious to us. Her villa, Le Maribelle was perfect for us, though there were just 2 of us, thanks to the bottom floor space, we easily could've had another couple join us. The villa had everything we needed & the upstairs bed, where we slept was so comfortable. At night we would open the window & just enjoy the breeze & the sounds of nature. Our last night in Monticchiello we arrived back to Le Maribelle from a long day in Firenze to a lovely bottle of wine thanks to our fabulous hostess! Barbara is the best & Monticchiello is amazing! Thank you Barbara for being such a wonderful hostess & helping me and my mother make such wonderful memories!!!!! We will forever remember our time in the Val d'Orcia & cherish our memories until we return to make new ones!!!! Ciao!

Room tip: Barbara has three total villas to rent so be sure to check them all out before choosing So that you find the one that suits your needs!
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We have been staying in Le Maribelle 2 every May since 2003. A perfect and peaceful location in a tiny town with sweeping views of the Val d'Orcia. A full kitchen, comfortable king-size bed, and a large private terrace with views over an olive grove/ small vineyard make this apartment wonderful for a relaxing. Close to all the famous sights such as Bagno Vignoni, Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino, and San'Antimo monastery. Owner Barbara speaks English and is helpful and friendly. 145 steps away (my husband loves this!) is the wonderful La Taverna di Moranda (open for lunch and dinner), and there is a small shop for essentials within walking distance making it unneccessary to drive every day. Everything we need (and much more) for our month living "la vita bella."

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonnagumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews