We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
156
53
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
53
9
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights on my tour of Tuscany after reading positive reviews from other travellers. The staff was very non-intruding and speaks english well. The building itself is like taken out of a Tuscany postcard, located in the hillside with surrounding trees and the seductive mixture of oker paint and red bricks. Free wifi in the room, decent bed, authentic furnishing and a little restaurant that served great meat-dishes (I didn't try any seafood). An indoor seating-option for dinner would be my suggestion to management for those who easily attract mosquitos. Try the sliced beef fillet with grana padano and add a generous top-off with olive oil if you like tasty meat. Also, the house-wine is very pleasent. Plus for free parking very close to entrance. All in all a very decent proposition for the price asked if this type of accomodation is your cup of tea. Best suited for adults seeking a calm base for exploring Tuscany.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank TouristMDNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Situated half an hour from Pisa Airport, this is the ideal place to stay and enjoy the Tuscan countryside. We arrived after having car problems on the Siena - Pisa autostrada, with a tyre puncture, and Cesare the Manger was wonderful. He made phone calls to help us, and was very professional in all he did., he was so kind. As we only had a temporary tyre on the car, he found villages nearby for us to visit, including Vinci, Leonardo's birthplace, which has an amazing museum of all his inventions.
This Hotel has a beautiful restaurant, with superb food. The staff are all friendly and polite, a delightful, peaceful place to stay. We would certainly return to this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Historical beautiful Villa in the Hills of San Miniato (Pisa). Excellent location either for country side than visiting cities like Florence (30 minutes), Pisa( 15 minutes)!
The building is very beautiful with lots of rooms, halls that make you feel living in a castle. Restaurant is simply delicius! Taste the trufles (typical from Sam Miniato) specialities!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aerogiobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

We were impressed from the moment we arrived. The reception was warm and friendly and our room spacious, clean and comfortable, The hotel is a lovely old Villa with some very striking features. The ceiling in the dining room is absolutely wonderful! The food is excellent, truly Italian and very fresh. Service excellent too! The house wine is extremely good value. Breakfast too was very good, being typical Italian continental style with lots of local sweet and savoury options.

The hotel is family owned and operated and everyone makes a real effort to ensure that guests are well looked after.

Highly recommended. A great location for visiting Tuscany, Pisa and Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marjory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

I was only there for an overnight for business. Did not get much of a change to explore the area but the views and ambiance are incredible.
Hard to find. It is off Castel Vecchio look for the sings, up the unpaved road and there you will find this gem.
Restaurant is good, rooms are ok, bathrooms are updated.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank senu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villasonnino, Direttore generale at Villa Sonnino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2015

thank you very much for your visit.
Villa di Castelvecchio was the ancient name of villa sonnino.
i hope to welcome you again in the next future
cesare andrisano
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews