We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Allseason(Kollam)(Great Value!)
US$ 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 71
US$ 64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harisree Residency(Kollam)(Great Value!)
US$ 33
US$ 30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nani(Kollam)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
68
19
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
19
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanoe tripmunroe islandvegetarian mealhuge balconysmall canoefish dishesprawn dishcool breezelocal lifean excellent placesunrise and sunsetrooms are spaciousbadminton courtpeaceful placespecial thanksamalotters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018

we stayed at lake n river resort in the month of may.It was a lifetime memorable experience for us.We our family group booked the entire resort including there 9 rooms.The resort offered us a full room package including room ,food and the canoeing.The canoeing is the highlight of munroeisland,very relaxing trip through the soul of the island.
Apart from games & sports activities they will arrange the fishing also.If your are going with a group, barbecue in the night is a good option.Highly Recommended ..
Thanks for the team Lake n river for the wonderful time there.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _paulmpaulmpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

The property even though small ,is good and is facing back water. The Suite rooms where I have stayed is considerable larger. They have provisions for gaming apart from Play area. The cannoying in raw boat which they offer is very much ravishing. By paying rupees 350 to 400 per hour you can travel across the length and breadth of Munroe Island and enjoy its scenic beauty. There are lot of Canals criss- crossing each other and you have to bow when you're crossing a Canal underneath a bridge. Fishing is another experience.

However the service levels where very poor they made the made us waiting for almost 1 hour for checking in and on next day they did not provided bed coffee also. The most insulting situation was when the front office boy asked us to produce marriage certificate

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank sureshnarayanan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

We are a family of four members, we took the lake view suite rooms. The rooms facing the ashtamudi lake and we can see the sunset from the balcony and it was a wonderful experience.
The dinner and the complimentary breakfast was good, south Indian, north Indian and some variety of chinese foods are available.we need to give prior order for the food.
Early morning we went for canoeing, it was a different experience, very relaxing trip for 2 hours through the lake, river and small channels of canals.
Highly recommend!!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank valsalavalsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Lake and River , SKB was a terrible experience for us. Its such an unhygienic place with plenty of flies . I had booked there for two days seeing all these reviews. Just because of the unhygienic situation with flies flying over the food and unclean water (brown collar water ) even through the wash basin. the linen provided to us- the towels , and other materials in cloth were all brown in collar. It was unpleasant stay, we were scared to brush our teeth with the brown collar water provided through the pipe.
We had faced another problem when they switched off the AC at midnight , only that line was not working . After intimating to them that they switched on .So we had as terrible experience. I have lost faith I. Trip advisor

Room Tip: Please avoid this Lake and River resort , Munroe Island
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suresh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakenRiver, General Manager at Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

First of all we would like to apologize for not delivering what you have expected from us.
Regarding the flies it happens once in an year when the rain starts,Because of the light it will come near to the rooms.And we didn't switched off the AC , may be someone from your room plugged anything wrongly and the trip gone off,that's what happened.And you contacted the reception at 3 AM regarding the power issue and our person solved the same in the next minute.
When this guest checked in to the resort the person named Suresh told us it is not 18 acres of land we got fooled etc etc etc.and we told we didn't mentioned 18 acres anywhere.Actually in our website,brochure everywhere we mentioned 1.8 acres of land and this person misunderstand as 18 acres .And we showed our brochure ,then he understood.But from that time onward he is not happy with what we are doing and i hope this makes him to write this review as terrible.

Regards,
Amal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Lake n River is a lovely place for stay! The rooms are excellent and have views of the gorgeous lake Ashtamudi.The off road to the resort make us a bit tensed, but when we reached there every thing was fine.We booked the suite, the room was clean, spacious and well equipped.The restaurant area with extensive views of the river is incredible and the food is also very tasty.Additionally the hotel has a selection of activities for it`s guests - particularly enjoyed the canoeing, it's a 2 hour trip with guide through the river, canals,lake and that was the highlight of our trip ! Fascinating insight into village life. Saw interesting wildlife, including tortoises,kingfisher and saw local industries like fish farming ,prawn farming and coconut fibre rope making, including some practical hands on experience. After three busy weeks touring part of India we found this hotel to be relaxing and just what we needed before the long trip home and work ....!!

Room Tip: lake facing executive suitet
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nambiarvar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakenRiver, General Manager at Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback and it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We wish to express our sincere gratitude for the wonderful feedback you have offered for the team, our services and product. We are glad to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we shall continue to focus on exceeding expectations of valuable guests such as yourself.
We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to India.

Regards,
Akhil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews