We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
9
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2015

We stayed for 2 nights with the SKB family and we loved it. The interaction with all the members of the family and having a nice balcony with a clean bathroom. (-that is the bigger room) Munroe Island is a good place to visit because it really offers indian tranquillity.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Motormouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015 via mobile

Me and 5 friends stayed here in early janurary for one night. The location was great, the rooms were very clean, both with ensuite, we paid extra for lunch, dinner & breakfast (225r for all three- very reasonable) and it was was delicious home cooked Keralan food, with locally caught fish!

We were made to feel very welcome, if anything the only complaint we had was that as backpackers it was quite pricey, however as there is very few places to stay on Monroe island I think the price is the norm.

Well worth splashing out to get more of a chance to explore this beautiful island.

Date of stay: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeQuirky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

Very sparse and basic room it felt like a prison cell. One thin sheet on a mattress and two old pillows with thin covers. I asked for a sheet or cover and was provided with all I can describe as a poor quality tablecloth.The room needed a good clean of the cobwebs. A threadbare towel was provided and I was handed toilet roll and soap through the door. The family do not like the fan on in the night.
Please negotiate for additional meals and take cutlery if you don't want to eat with your fingers.
The location was quiet and peaceful except for the usual blast of horns on a corner bend. A family very welcoming and accommodating. I left feedback for improvement and I'm sure they will take this onboard and suggest perhaps visiting other homestays to see what standards are expected by tourists.

Room tip: Take a sheet or blanket and a mosquito net
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bellabelle61_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKBHomestay, Manager at SKB Homestay Munroe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

For what purpose you write this lies. Could you achieve anything by harassing and insulting us. What do you mean by "Prison Cell" . You said we didn't allow you to switch on fan. Who told you to switch off ? We accepted your dirty used gifts(bags) since we are polite. Please give your address , We have to send those dirty things back. what did you think about us? We had many guest before. You left our homestay with extreme happiness , then what happened to you . Who forced you to write like this.

Akhil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

we goto on munroe island for the classical boat trip with canoas, we got the possibility to stay on this amazing place by asking to our "canoas driver"
we stayed over SKB house for few days, it has been a very nice staying, a wonderful family hosted us and let us get in touch with the real india!
the hospitality of this family touched our hearth we will never forget!
the house is very beautifull, the room was perfect with bathroom and very clean, home made food was amazing. we have been here in december 2013.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKBHomestay, Manager at SKB Homestay Munroe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

Thanks a lot for your review Laura. You were lovely couple and we remember you for ever. We wish to see you again.

With Regards..
Akhil SKB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed st SKB Homestay for 3 night in January. We loved the peaceful, uncrowded, slower pace of Munroe Island and the stunning environment it's set in. We were so warmly welcomed by the family, and felt spoilt with all of the delicious and bountiful food carefully prepared for us by Akhil's mum - what a treat! A highlight was having a canoe tour with Akhil's friend Vishnu - a great way to see the tranquil beauty and community of the island. Our motorboat tour and chance opportunity to visit a Hindu festival also made for special memories! We would absolutely recommend staying here :)

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKBHomestay, Manager at SKB Homestay Munroe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

Thanks Jess and Marty for your valuable review. We are very happy to get guest like you. Thanks for your posts in facebook. You are perfect couple , Wish to see you again.

Thanks..
Akhil SKB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews