We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, peaceful, sincere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashtamudi Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashtamudi Villas
Ranked #2 of 39 Kollam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Beautiful, peaceful, sincere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We were traveling from South Africa and emailed ahead to the owner joseph to find out about availability and his words were call when you arrive, there is no need to book we will make a plan. We arrived and made the call and true to his word we where collected from the train station and welcomed with open arms to this charming villa by his very competent and charming staff. The rooms are emaculatly kept and the bathroom facilities are clean and well presented. We stayed for 4 nights and where helped by the owner Joseph and manager Yesudas whenever needed, they where both charming and willing to please at every turn. We defiantly felt that these guys really care and pay attention to the smallest detail. Thanks to Ashtamudi Villas for a great stay.

Great food, Wifi, tree hammocks, toilet paper,soft clean towels, up close view of the lake, what more do you need.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbreetzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    51
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
149
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was a great choice, right on the shore of the lake. The rooms new and well furnished and good value. The owner is quite a character who can organise anything for you it would seem and his staff are all lovely - a credit to the place. The only problem we had, was the flocks of very noisy crows who hang out in the trees around the resort, but that could have been bad luck on our part. Also you can hear road noise in the distance.

Room Tip: Get the detached cottage it is much more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blimyslimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

The location, set amongst palm trees on the banks of Ashtamudi lake, is lovely. It feels very quiet and secluded, but isn't too far from the centre of Kollam (a 40 rupee auto rickshaw ride). The veranda and hammock both made for great places to chill out and enjoy the lake view with the occasional houseboat or canoe drifting by.

I stayed in a double room, no AC but the ceiling fan (and in the daytime the breeze from the lake) was perfectly adequate. The room was clean and tidy, and the bed/pillows much more comfortable than I'm used to in India. The bathroom was the most tastefully decorated and cleanest I've seen here, with a good shower. The standard is up there with good European / American hotels but at a fraction of the price. I originally planned to stay only one night but in the end extended my stay for a couple more days just to enjoy the hammock and the view.

The owner Joseph and his staff were extremely welcoming, helpful and pleasant, and all spoke good English.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCTurner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna, austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We decided to stay at Ashtamudi Villas after reading the reviews on this website. Now that we have spent two nights there, I can only fully agree with all the positive reviews about Ashtamudi Villas. The rooms are cozy and very clean, we instantly loved the place when we got there. The surroundings right by the lake with palm trees and hammocks are romantic and quiet. The owner and the manager and everybody else are extremely friendly and helpful. Tip: Riksha drivers are not familiar with it (yet). Make sure you know a landmark so you can tell them where it is exactly when they take you there from the city center.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Our first real great calm down / Chillout stay in whole India. Such a nice place with palm tree shaded hammocks great view and perfect climate to just enjoy a relaxing stay.

The staff was really great. Friendly, speaking English very well and always busy to make your stay as comfortable as possible..

The rooms are brand new, beautifully designed and even with sufficient hooks, shelves etc. Which we found quite rare in this country :) And the bed is also very comfy, even for tall people..
And all that without one mosquito...

So.. We can just hope that the place stays like that!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derroteblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
10.1 km away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
0.6 km away
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
0.2 km away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#1 of 21 in Kollam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
2.6 km away
Nani
Nani
#6 of 21 in Kollam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
11.3 km away
Munroe Island Backwaters Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashtamudi Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtamudi Villas

Property: Ashtamudi Villas
Address: Thevally, Mathilil . Po | Near Nambarath Junction, Kollam 691601, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kollam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Kollam
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,413 - ₹ 6,549
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst Kerala's peaceful backwaters and overlooking Ashtamudi Lake is Ashtamudi Villas, your private retreat in Kollam, offering a unique opportunity to enjoy the tranquility of Keralan life. Accommodation: Situated in their own private gardens, each lakeside villas boasts double bed and modern bathroom facilities. Our brand new villas employ the latest in eco-friendly technology, setting innovative new standards in sustainable tourism. During your stay with us, simply take time to relax in Ashtamudi's tranquil surroundings. Enjoy a book from our well-stocked library or take time to sample the delights of Kerala cuisine. Furthermore, canoe-boat and house-boat tours can be arranged from your own private jetty in the grounds. Location and Access: Ashtamudi Villas is located just five minutes drive from Kollam, near Thevally Bridge. Alternatively guests may arrive via house-boat running between Kollam and Alleppey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ashtamudi Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashtamudi Villas Kollam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing