We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$ 31
US$ 24
View deal
SAVE US$ 7
Free cancellation until 13/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
Booking.com
US$ 31
US$ 24
View deal
SAVE US$ 7
Free cancellation until 13/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.comUS$ 25
PricelineUS$ 27
Trip.comUS$ 31
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
28
7
4
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
28
7
4
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2020

Our stay at monroe island lake resort was disappointing, though not for the resort itself but for the poor management and lack of personal care that we received during our stay. The resort is a bit dated but otherwise is fairly scenic and located in a quite part of the island, far enough from the island tannoy system that the music played throughout the day is only faintly audible.

Our room was clean and the air conditioning worked well. The drains smelt so foul that we had to keep them covered with a bucket for the duration of our stay to try and stop the smell but even this still left the room smelling of sewage.

We ate breakfast and dinner in the resort restaurant and though the food tasted okay, it was very expensive and often too oily, salty and served cold. Somehow they managed to get our very simple drinks order wrong several days in a row. The restaurant itself was a bit run down, with the sounds of rats crawling through the ceiling above us and very little atmosphere thanks to all the chairs remaining sat on top of the uncleared tables as if the place were closed whilst we ate, as nobody saw a need to remove them - we even had to take the chairs down ourselves when we came to eat at the time we were told to. Though all meals were supposed to be agreed upon in advance as the kitchen was small which is completely understandable, we found we were left waiting up to an hour for our food some evenings. Somehow we were left with cold food despite the waiting, as if many of the dishes were cooked as soon as we ordered them and left to out until we ate. Even in the mornings we were left waiting for our breakfast.

This disorganisation seemed to spread throughout the whole of the resort. After a large party of people who weren’t even staying at the resort made such a mess outside the front of our room and spoilt our peaceful time relaxing outside our room by crowding around us. The 3 hour boat trip that we took was only 2 and a half hours, including a 20 minute stop that we did not want but the boatman decided we would do anyway and a stop for him to go to the toilet. On top of this there was also the constant, creepy staring from all the all-male staff at my wife whilst they seemed to be sitting about doing nothing all day apart from arguing loudly in front of us, pushing past us and drinking spirits by the bottle outside our room in the evening.

We would not stay again at this resort and would not recommend it unless we knew that it was under new management, the current staff need to learn what it means to be part of the hospitality trade as they seemed to do nothing at all to make our stay welcoming and comfortable.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank gvshrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2020

Amazing place to disconnect form everything and enjoy full nature. Service was exceptional by one of its workers (cannot remember the name) but he was an absolutely 11/10. Always taking care of us. We really enjoyed the time there. We will recommend it for sure. Can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mabelcallejero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2020 via mobile

The rating i gave is after a deliberate thought. I wanted to give it one star but give it more. Firstly, it's NOT a resort. If it was I would rate it zero. It's something more than a home stay. But doesn't give you any personal touch .It's not cheap, so those of you who think it's cheap will be mistaken. It's not run by any professionals. There's no professionalism in anything they do. Comfort and cleanliness - its a personal parameter. It can be made comfortable. I found it unclean and hence uncomfortable. Imagine coming into a toilet to find used condoms!! Food is prepared by one person who comes in the morning and wants to get away early evening. So they keep asking when you will have your dinner.There is no reception, no front desk and no intercom. No tea kettle in the room.
They say free WiFi but couldn't get any. Was a bit disheartened. There is a contraption in the front which could have been a functional fountain.

The area is unkempt.

The spare mattress to be given on demand lies in the corridor braving the elements.
The toilet has an instant geyser that doesn't seem to be connected to the shower.

With all that I should have given 1 star.
But it's a quiet place and was blessed with a great view of the dawn break. That alone pushed the star forward.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JTCHACKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2019

I wonder how this accommodation got these many higher rating.
Plus:
It's a an economical choice if you consider the rates.
The location and surrounding takes you to a remote village experience.
Minus:
The quality of construction and bathroom accessory is poor.
Had struggled to reach the location as I was travelling in the night and there were hardly any directions visible.
Made multiple phone calls to reach the location.
Could not adjust the room temperature as the air conditioner remote was not working and had to switch it off as it was freezing after couple of hours.
If you don't eat Dosa better pack your breakfast as that is the only thing available for breakfast.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank MalluFoodieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2019

Because there is no way this place should have the star-rating it does. I'm calling it: lots of the reviewers are bogus.

Yes, the price is cheap. If that's all you want, go. But don't be tricked by all the photos.

FACT: 'resort' means anything with over 6 rooms. 6 rooms and under is called a homestay. Different taxes.

This is no kind of resort, but for paying the tax that a place of over 6 rooms must.

Cheap room is simply bad, and stuck off the water, with a power generator on the chair outside your door. You know, the chair you might sit on to take off or put on your shoes.

So, at least pay for the room on the front water.

It will not be that clean though. And the bedding will be threadbare. I'll upload the pics to prove it.

Dinner is served on time.

You can not rent a bicycle, nor will they help you find one. SUPER UNHELPFUL IN THIS DEPARTMENT. I mean, bro, do you want to make some money off me? Find a bike.

Yeah nah.

But here is the worst part. And I hope the staff and manager can see this.

Our stay was completely ruined by slowass senseless staff.

YO TEAM, DO YOU REMEMBER THIS?!

"Please prepare a car to the station for 8:30am, and have the bill ready for us to pay."

"How about 8:55am?"

"No, 8:30 would be better for us. We have a train to catch."

"OK, how about 8: 50?"

"Yeah nah, 8:30 would make us feel a lot better."

"OK."

...

Proceeds to do nothing.

...

Every 5 minutes from 8:25 to 8:55...

"Seriously, you haven't call that car, and you haven't added up the bill."

"Yes."

....

Clown, you stressed my beautiful wife and acted like you didn't know how to add up a bill that included room plus room.

Poor experience all round. And seriously, why is the basin sitting in the view of the fish farm???

*rant aside, the food was good. And damn fresh. But no alcohol, and no attempt to help get some, even though there is a shop on the island. GRRRRRRR!!!

Room tip: It has to be on the water, YES, furthest from the kitchen
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank shinraemonsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews