We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic holiday - Would love to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Jandia Mar
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Pajara
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fantastic holiday - Would love to return!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel on a holiday with a group of my friends, we arrived quite late at night but were checked in quickly and found our rooms easily as they were attached to the main building.  All our rooms were lovely, really clean with sea views and big beds!  As it was my husband and I's wedding anniversary I has emailed the hotel letting them know just incase there was anything they could do and when we arrived not only did we have champagne and fruit waiting for us but the other 3 rooms in our group did too!!  The restaurant was always clean and the staff always quick to clear, every night we has different main dishes with so much to choose from, people complaining about the food been cold must be mistaken as every night we were there a lot of the food was been cooked as you watched, the restaurant was open for breakfast lunch and dinner and we enjoyed all our meals without any problems!  Wine and beer is self pour and they often has a cocktail on arrival for you or on Saturday night a shot!  The bars were all easy to get service from mostly self pour, the reception area had a different cocktail to try everynight which was great!  The pools are lovely and no one seems to reserve loungers, as there were 8 of us we expected to be unable to get sun beds all together but managed to every day!  The pools were lovely, and the area around them was kept really clean.  The snack bar served burgers and salads at lunch which we all really enjoyed as a change from the restaurant.   We walked into jandia a couple of times which did take quite a while but going downhill we didn't really mind, the beach is lovely and although you have to pay for sun beds it's well worth it, we bought a cooler from the spa at the bottom of the hill and had cool drinks all day!  We went out for one evening in jandia and had a great time visiting the English bar and the clubs and he taxis were only €3.50 at 2am straight back to the hotel reception!  For all the people moaning about this hotel:
- yes it's on a hill but you get amazing views out to sea and it's downhill to the beach and either a cheap taxi back or you can actually get a lift to the barcelo jandia playa and then walk up to the mar in around 10 minutes.
- yes there are only 2 English tv channels but your on holiday for gods sake don't sit and watch tv!!!
- the staff don't speak much English but you have to respect that they all have guests speaking english, German, Italian and obviously Spanish meaning they are vey talented to be able to serve customers from all these nationalities.
- it does get windy but why would you book a holiday to an island that's name literally translates into "strong wind" if your going to moan about it!!

I had a great time and would definitely return!  

Thanks!! 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrsrose2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,677
    1,944
    846
    292
    184
See reviews for
1,901
2,244
80
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

When i booked this holiday, i was told it was only a few mins walk from the resort centre. It was actually about 45 - 50 mins walk and about 20 min walk to the beach. But the thing that ruined it for me was the wind and i don't mean a nice breeze, i mean a wind that blew your drinks off the table if you were brave enough to have a drink outside. I didn't get a sun tan, but got wind burn from the relentless wind blowing constantly day and night. It should also be pointed out that the hotel was up a very steep hill, a killer when you had walked for 50 mins from the town (no coutesy bus by the way) On the positive side, the hotel was clean and the food was good, loads to choose from and always plenty of it.Pool was clean though nobody was brave enough to go for a swim as it was too cold - yes even in July. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janice g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

so me and my friend recently spent a week at barcelo jandia resort and thought it was fab.
When we first arrived the hotel looked amazing it was very big. However the staff at the reception were very slow to acknowledge our presence and felt that spanish were put first due to being able to speak the same language. After about 20 minutes we were checked into the hotel however as the hotel was so large we had to wait a further length of time to be taken to our rooms by golf buggy. the rooms were large and spacious and relatively clean but the bathroom had a lingering smell of sewage. all rooms had a balcony or private outdoor space but not a very good view as our room faced another block of rooms.
The positioning of our room was good due to the fact it was just a short walk to the resturants and pool area however was a treck to the beach! on a night most rooms were quiet and you werent disturbed however one night we were awoken by noisy people shouting and banging on doors.
The beach was extremely clean and the waters were a lovely blue colour it cost 3 euros to hire a sunbed but we used towels instead! During the day the beach was full of families and coupples however on a night time we witnessed a naked man which we were told is common in fuerteventura.
The pool area was pleasent and clean. Both pools were salt water pools. During the day there was activities and entertainment provided that the whole family could enjoy. There was music played at the pool bar and drinks readily available to help yourself too which was the same throughout the hotel.
The snack bar was very out of the way but provided a small range of snacks suitable for lunch such as burgers, chips and salads.
The main buffet restaurant had a large choice of food but for people with a strange appetite. it catered for the foreign having strange meats such as goat and didnt provide foods that would go together as meals. we spent most the week eating chips and pasta which was always available, it was nice but got a bit tedious. On the last night we visited the restaurant were you had to book to eat there. This was a very big dissapoint, we were expecting to be waitered on and have a choice from a menu however what we were faced with was a smaller buffet with little choice and no pasta or chips. the only the thing you ordered was the drinks and you had to pay for wine and coffee which you would recieve for free otherwise in the hotel. We ended up visiting the other restaurant on the same night to cure our hunger.
the hotel contained little english people and had a large amount of spanish, german and italians which outweighed the english heavily.
The entertainment was good on some nights however most nights as visting during the eurocup football tournament, the only entertainment was the football. this filled the whole hotel as clashing nationalities went wild during their matches, it was impossible to escape as it could be heard through the whole hotel.
we visited the spa once for a look around we didnt use any of the facilities but it seemed clean, updated and well equipped.
Some staff were friendly however the entertainment staff were spanish and spoke little english which meant it was difficult to get involved as you struggled to understand what they were saying.
Also it took one hour to walk to jandias town centre so it wasnt in a perfect location but cost 3 euros in a taxi to the centre and there was many shops and restaurants there to have a look around at.
Overall a lovely family holiday however improvents on the food and staff are needed.

Room Tip: all rooms have a personal outdoor space but some are a bit far from the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Firstly, anyone who ggives this hotel less than 4 is absolutely bonkers! Me and my partner stayed for 2 weeks and it was close to perfect.

When checking in to the hotel we were not shown to our room so were left trying to find our room, when we did find the room it was somebody elses!! We were lucky there was noone in there or doing anything lol!

But other than that hiccup everything was great!!

Pools- Were very clean, perfect temp to cool down, and lovely appearence, always plenty of beds to choose from which is also good compared to other busy hotels ive been too.

Rooms- Rooms are so spacious and clean! Bathroom was huge and also cleaned well everyday (cannot fault anything to do with rooms).

Food- I dont know what people were seeing but it wasnt what i was eating! The food was gorgeous! Plenty of choice, meats were always cooked to perfection.. I even had roast pork and crackling on a sunday! Breakfast was my fave though, fry up and pancakes with choco sauce.

Hotel- Always spotless, most staff friendly, other guests were generally nice (mostly spanish/german)

Beach- Absolutely stunning, can get bit windy...

If your looking for a relaxing holiday this is perfect.. If we were to go to Fuertuventura again we would probably go to Correljo just because there is more to do, such as jeep safari etc. But the Oasis Zoo Park is a great cheap day out and worth going to!

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This hotel was great value for us as we booked a last minute deal the typical Swedish way (flights, transfer & all inclusive hotel for 450 / adult, 1 week). We wouldn’t be “all inclusive tourists”, but it was the same price as a hotel with just breakfast so we decided to go for it.

The hotel is big and the buildings are a little worn down, but nicely designed & otherwise well kept. Our room was very spacious and what you can expect at a 4* charter hotel. We paid a little extra for seaview but it really isn’t anything spectacular as a lot of the sea is blocked by the sister hotel Barceló Jandia Playa.

I used to work at a couple of Spanish owned 4* hotels on the Canary Islands back in the beginning of the 2000’s and I find they still have the very same problem: the food in the all inclusive hotels really isn’t very good. Not only does the big school-like room remind you of a cantine, it also tastes like such food.
Maybe you, just like I, kind figured that one can’t expect more from an all inclusive charter hotel, but a friend of ours works at the German owned Robinson Club a couple of km down the road (in Morro Jable) and we had dinner there twice durin our week… what a massive difference. They had a 5* buffet, with a very classy setting.

Having said this Barceló Janida Mar has one major asset: it’s absolutely amazing staff!
The receptionists are fluent in (Spanish), English, French, German and probably a couple of other languages. They are most helpful & will take their time to explain, guide & recommend. Our 2 yr old daughter fell sick the same night we arrived & a lovely girl in the reception kept on calling to make sure we didn’t need a doctor and adviced us about treatment, farmacies & medecines.
The waiting staff in both restaurants also have a very good level of English & German (probably other languages as well) and they are very smiley & polite.

Don’t miss out on going down to the little fishing village Morro jable, just down the road. Go have a coffe, ice-cream or some great fresh seafood or pizza right on the shore/beach. Location is great, as is the food, and with good pricing you can treat yourself, eventhough your in an all inclusive hotel.
Also the beach is very nice down in Morro Jable, with some big sand dunes, clear water & childfriendly waves. MUCH better than the beach at the bottom of the Barceló hotels.
If you do go to the beach below Barceló, don’t miss out on feeding the little chipmunks – they are almost tame by now & will eat some of your breakfast bread, nuts or fruit out of your hands.

If you get tired of Janida & Morro Jable I suggest renting a car & driving up to Corralejo, having some amazing tapas at the Tio Bernabe and then maybe even taking the short ferry ride over to Lanzarote.
Also I HIGHLY recommend the Zoo on the island - the nicest I've ever been to. So cleverly laid out - it never feels crowded, and the animals are visible allt he time. Green & lushious and you can feed animals like the giraffs.

I RECOMMEND RENTING A CAR

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaLee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
0.2 km away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.2 km away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
59.6 km away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
58.5 km away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
4,019 reviews
87.9 km away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Jandia Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Jandia Mar

Property: Occidental Jandia Mar
Address: Playa del Jable S/N | Barranco de Vinamar, 35625, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Jandia Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Pajara
#10 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#17 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,563 - ₹ 18,267
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Jandia Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy more than 50,000 m² of fun, comfort and entertainment in a privileged setting. The Barcelo Jandia Mar**** hotel, which has been awarded the Thomas Cook Marque of Excellence, is situated opposite the spectacular Jandia beach, in the south of Fuerteventura. The hotel offers a wide range of services and activities for you to enjoy your holidays to the max. Relax and pamper yourself in our health and wellness centre, which boasts a sauna, gym, solarium and massage services. For sports lovers, the hotel offers an extensive range of activities including: mini-golf and multi-sports court, water sports, windsurfing, scuba diving and sport fishing. And for the little ones, we have the Barcy Kid's Club. With the Barcelo All Inclusive programme, you can enjoy all the hotel facilities and its superb restaurants (the All Inclusive service finishes at 23.00). The Barcelo Jandia Mar hotel is the perfect choice to enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Jandia Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Mar Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Mar
Barcelo Hotel Pajara
Fuerteventura Jandia
Occidental Jandia Mar Fuerteventura/Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing