We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
22
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting family run next door the river oma karl grandmother weather matriarch occasion heart charge village mosel
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This is a family business with an 80-year-old matriarch in firm charge. There's a slight air of confusion about the place, but that just adds to the charm.
The rooms vary in size – ours was quite large, but some are far more compact with very small bathrooms so you might want to think about paying a bit extra for a larger one. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and varies a little from day to day. You can eat a simple evening meal and have a drink in the cellar bar under the main building (some of the bedrooms are opposite, in the annexe) and there’s a small private car park 2-3 minutes’ walk away. Virtually next door to Tourist Info in the heart of the lower village, but very quiet at night despite that. A good location for visiting the local wineries and restaurants or as a stopover when walking or cycling along the river.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilboburgler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

A very comfortable stay in spacious room where we only had to go downstairs to partake in the wine tasting presented by Karl-Josef. The sweet award winning wines were delicious after which a home cooked meal was enjoyed at the same table. At the end of the evening one just had to make ones way upstairs to bed.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank cmdwet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Stayed here with friend for 3 nights in Apr 2017 & loved it. Perfect room, perfect location, and perfect welcome! Family run & very friendly. Both breakfast facilities and the restaurant are also excellent - we thoroughly enjoyed our meals on every occasion (the Zanderfilet is outstanding) - and we enjoyed seeing the wine production equipment. And all at a more than reasonable price. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank ben05england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Hannah was still the very busy lady serving good pub food and drinks. She is amazing! We enjoyed snitzel and beer in her basement pub and her son was so proud to show us that they have purchased an adjoining property and will be expanding! The great find was an ancient city well in the floor that has water from the Mosel! They have lighted it and covered it with a heavy glass floor and it is a great addition to their expansion. We wish them the very best!

Room tip: We are only reviewing the restaurant at this time. It is wonderful.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybug512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

This is Germany as it really is - spotlessly clean, plenty of hearty food and amazing value for money. Two of the rooms, 20 and 21 I think, have beautiful balconies. Hanna Derkum and Oma are in charge and couldn't be more helpful. Lashings of Weingut Derkum wine available to drink with meals and take home. Food very traditional German - plenty of it and nothing fancy - but I do recommend the Zanderfischfilet - it's apparently a sort of pike and widely eaten in central Europe.
However, don't expect to get very far speaking English - this is deep Deutschland!

Room tip: At least two rooms with lovely balconies
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peterfredw2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews