We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Root Glacier hike”

McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in McCarthy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters was founded in 2010 in the spirit of exploring the great rivers located in Wrangell St. Elias National Park. With over 13 million acres of federally protected land, Wrangell St. Elias is the largest park in the United States. In Alaska, Adventure is the name of the game! With more wilderness than any other state in the America, an Alaska raft trip can create memories for a lifetime. We offer trips for all skill levels, including some of the finest scenic rivers and undiscovered whitewater stretches in the world. McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters is excited to help you with your Alaska plans, our knowledgeable and friendly staff are happy to help you with each step of your travel planning process. Please contact us at any time to discuss your Alaska Raft Trip or any other parts of your Alaska adventure.
Reviewed 21 July 2017

McCarthy River Tours and Outfitters exceeded expectations in every way. Upon arrival it was clear that I had booked on the wrong day. Without blinking, Nick said "no problem, I'll call one of the guys right now and they'll take you up to the glacier". Shortly our guide Logan arrived and was ready to go. He was wonderful in every way: enthusiastic, informative, willing to go at our pace, and careful to ensure our safety on the glacier. There were several other glitches (all of our making) and Logan was over the top nice about managing them. Couldn't have been happier with our day. One of the highlights of our AK trip. McCarthy is less well known as a glacier tour guide service - that's sure to change quickly with this great crew! Thanks!!

Thank JulienL2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review, Julien! As a small company, one thing we pride ourselves in is being able to customize all our trips for our guests needs and it was truly our pleasure to be able to swiftly accommodate your scheduling needs! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time with Logan, he takes his glacier knowledge seriously and I believe it shows in the tours he takes out. Thanks again for choosing us for your Root Glacier Tour and hope to see you again in the Wrangell Mountains!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"safety boat"
in 4 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 8 reviews
"half day trip"
in 5 reviews
"super fun"
in 5 reviews
"dry suit"
in 3 reviews
"great guide"
in 8 reviews
"fun trip"
in 3 reviews
"bucket list"
in 2 reviews
"tennis shoes"
in 2 reviews
"wilderness experience"
in 2 reviews
"glacier hike"
in 9 reviews
"plane ride"
in 2 reviews
"guide service"
in 2 reviews
"these folks"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"glacier water"
in 3 reviews
"root glacier"
in 6 reviews
Filter

49 - 53 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

This was my favorite thing that we did in Wrangell St. Elias (and there were lots of other candidates--we had a packed four days there). Kevin was a fabulous rafting guide and made us feel at ease the entire time. Getting to paddle around the lake before hitting the river was really nice. We got to see lots of interesting ice formation and get comfortable with paddling techniques before heading out to the rapids. Once we did get out on the river, it was a fast and fun ride along a watercourse that had recently swelled in size due to heavy rains. It was really fun to careen through the rapids knowing that Kevin had things well in hand. My only complaint was that it was over too soon! I highly recommend this experience. It's great for kids too.

Thank 545jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thanks for the great review, Jenny! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are extra happy to hear that it was the favorite part of your McCarthy travels. As a company we strive to be able to give guests of all ability, experience and comfort levels a great trip and Kevin is as knowledgeable as they come! Thanks again for adventuring with us and hope your travels home went smooth, hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Kevin and Sam were outstanding raft guides on our trip down the Chitina river. A great mix of humor and knowledge about the Park. The route and meals were well thought out. I highly recommend using McCarthy River tours. Nick and the staff in McCarthy were wonderful.

Thank spietromonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a great review! The Upper Chitina is one of our most remote trips and you were the first rafters this season! The Alpenglow on Mount Logan is a truly stunning picture! I had a great time chatting with you both and getting to know you and Sam and Kevin came back talking about what a fun trip it was. Hopefully we see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

This tour is for people who want to get up close and personal with a glacier and icebergs. There are other rivers in Alaska to raft if you are thrill seeking. The rapids on the tour are class 2-3 but alot of fun. It's only a five mile stretch and goes super fast but frankly the water is freezing so we were ready to warm up when it was over. The appeal of this tour is getting to see the lake and surrounding mountains. We stood on the glacier and actually watched as pieces slowly broke off as it was melting. Jumping off an iceberg into freezing glacial waters was a fun new experience. It was not too physically demanding and the 60 mile drive to get to mccarthy was worth it! Sam was a wonderful guide and the people we had the pleasure to raft with Cassie and Livi only added to our enjoyment. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. As long as you know what to expect (more interesting and fun than hard core thrills) it's a glorious trip.

Thank yocheved g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We did a six night/seven day raft trip down the Copper River and two additional days in McCarthy before the trip. If you really want to have a true Alaskan experience this trip is a must. From the first day in McCarthy to eating fish tacos in Cordova it was spectacular. While in McCarthy, Maggy loaned us some crampons for a glacier walk and the tour of the mine was incredible. On the river we saw almost 400 bald eagles (my wife counted) and icebergs as big as houses from the Miles Glacier floating in the lake. We enjoyed taking a walk on the bridge to nowhere and especially saying "Hey Bear" to the grizzly bear that walked through our camp. Every day brought memories of a lifetime. We saw a total of 2 groups of 4 people each in the seven days on the river. They were from the forest service tasked with counting fish and we actually talked to one of the groups at their counting station. That is all the contact you have to the outside world.

The guides Tim, Nick and Sam were knowledgeable, professional, friendly and by the end seemed almost like family. Sam was particularly good at picking camp and Groover locations and I have a picture from each one. Tim and Nick guitar playing by the camp fire was wonderful. The food was good but you are in the wilderness so you eat what can be brought on the raft. Expect a hot breakfast, sandwiches for lunch and a hearty meal for dinner.

The main reason we picked this guide service was the dry suit and I would not recommend any that did not provide one for this type of trip. The water is cold but not scary. Class 2 is about all you will see in two places. Multiple layers are essential and although space is not unlimited you don't have to worry about carrying everything on your back. Highly recommend a thermos to warm you up on the river in the morning.

Thank martyandpeggy1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours also viewed

McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 

Been to McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing