We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours
from US$ 125.00
More Info
from US$ 115.00
More Info
from US$ 95.00
More Info
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
131
13
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safety boat dry suit a lot of fun super fun half day trip dutch oven top of the line camp fire tennis shoes wool socks memorable trip great rafting experience great guide wilderness experience bucket list great memory special thanks
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Kevin and Sam were outstanding raft guides on our trip down the Chitina river. A great mix of humor and knowledge about the Park. The route and meals were well thought out. I highly recommend using McCarthy River tours. Nick and the staff in McCarthy were wonderful.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank spietromonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a great review! The Upper Chitina is one of our most remote trips and you were the first rafters this season! The Alpenglow on Mount Logan is a truly stunning picture! I had a great time chatting with you both and getting to know you and Sam and Kevin came back talking about what a fun trip it was. Hopefully we see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

This tour is for people who want to get up close and personal with a glacier and icebergs. There are other rivers in Alaska to raft if you are thrill seeking. The rapids on the tour are class 2-3 but alot of fun. It's only a five mile stretch and goes super fast but frankly the water is freezing so we were ready to warm up when it was over. The appeal of this tour is getting to see the lake and surrounding mountains. We stood on the glacier and actually watched as pieces slowly broke off as it was melting. Jumping off an iceberg into freezing glacial waters was a fun new experience. It was not too physically demanding and the 60 mile drive to get to mccarthy was worth it! Sam was a wonderful guide and the people we had the pleasure to raft with Cassie and Livi only added to our enjoyment. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. As long as you know what to expect (more interesting and fun than hard core thrills) it's a glorious trip.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank yocheved g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We did a six night/seven day raft trip down the Copper River and two additional days in McCarthy before the trip. If you really want to have a true Alaskan experience this trip is a must. From the first day in McCarthy to eating fish tacos in Cordova it was spectacular. While in McCarthy, Maggy loaned us some crampons for a glacier walk and the tour of the mine was incredible. On the river we saw almost 400 bald eagles (my wife counted) and icebergs as big as houses from the Miles Glacier floating in the lake. We enjoyed taking a walk on the bridge to nowhere and especially saying "Hey Bear" to the grizzly bear that walked through our camp. Every day brought memories of a lifetime. We saw a total of 2 groups of 4 people each in the seven days on the river. They were from the forest service tasked with counting fish and we actually talked to one of the groups at their counting station. That is all the contact you have to the outside world.

The guides Tim, Nick and Sam were knowledgeable, professional, friendly and by the end seemed almost like family. Sam was particularly good at picking camp and Groover locations and I have a picture from each one. Tim and Nick guitar playing by the camp fire was wonderful. The food was good but you are in the wilderness so you eat what can be brought on the raft. Expect a hot breakfast, sandwiches for lunch and a hearty meal for dinner.

The main reason we picked this guide service was the dry suit and I would not recommend any that did not provide one for this type of trip. The water is cold but not scary. Class 2 is about all you will see in two places. Multiple layers are essential and although space is not unlimited you don't have to worry about carrying everything on your back. Highly recommend a thermos to warm you up on the river in the morning.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank martyandpeggy1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

What a blast! Ethan and Cassie were wonderful guides, just the right mix of wilderness knowledge, thirst for adventure and safety wisdom. Thank you for an unforgettable day, y'all!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Hi Heather, Thanks for the great review! We take pride in our guides and believe they are our biggest asset! It is always rewarding to hear from our guests about the great time they had and the quality job our folks are doing. Hope to see you again in McCarthy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

It was just my mom and I on the hike with Ethan (our guide), and it was great! My mom was pretty nervous about hiking and going on the glacier, but Ethan was really patient and supportive. We had a lot of fun! Ethan showed my mom how to walk in the crampons and was a great guide who told us a bunch of neat facts about the glaciers. If I can ever get back to McCarthy and Kennecott (I hope to) I'll definitely use McCarthy River Tours and Outfitters again for another trip.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank denvero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review your experience with us! We offer a wide range of start times for our glacier hikes and all of them are offered as private hikes. This allows us to specialize our trip to your ability/comfort/experience level so everyone gets a unique trip! The root glacier is a pretty incredible experience isn't it? We love getting people of all ages and experiences out there to see it, if you do make it back our way, we look forward to adventuring with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews