We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com$43
eDreams$43
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
Agoda.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
133
86
17
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
133
86
17
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river tents were clean outdoor activities a lovely stay close to nature bird watchers very nice place dr salim ali different species kayaking cycling guide birds badminton cricket february reservoir
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2020 via mobile

We love tented camps and we were told this would be simple. It is too simple, though! In the tent a bed and a small table, nothing to hang clothes or put something down. Very basic bathroom. Maintenance of the tent ok. No internet connection although civilisation is not that far - we were told there is not any (we were later told they normally have, so they probably didn‘t maintain it). The kitchen was ok, but set menues only.
It is a great place to explore the Thattekad, and it would not take a great effort to make this a great place in other respects, too.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank uhu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Amritara HornbillCamp Thattekkad Kerala, Owner at Amritara Hornbill Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Thank you so much for your review! We incessantly work hard to have happy and content guests; Our recent Tripadvisor Travellers Choice award is a recognition by people who stayed with us like you and we still remains as the No. 1 in the region. On your suggestions we take all of it positively, at the same time will clarify in detail on few of your mentions. Yes, it’s a nature camp, hence there will be a gap between the urban lifestyle offing’s against ours – Yes we have only a table besides beds in the living room, however we have 2 large cane chairs and a teapoy in the veranda for unwinding which you have probably missed to mention. Menus, we presently offer only set menus – however we are planning to revisit the system and see how best we can give a few more options. Between the bath and the bedroom there is a small closet with few hangers where one could hang clothes or keep them, this is right next to the bathroom door for easy accessibility. Internet - we have yet not offered to the guests, as there is a challenge in getting Hi Speed internet lines there & most of the mobile service providers have very feeble connectivity, that too restricted to few spots within our camp.

We have noted your review in detail; certainly & much sooner - we will upgrade our facilities a notch higher.

Many thanks for taking time to share your thoughts and looking forward to having you and your near ones at the camp for another connect with nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020

We stayed at the camp in February 2020 for 2 nights.
The accomodation was very compfortable, the service and the food was impeccable. We absolutely recommend the kajaking tour along the riverside. And if you are lucky during your stay you can enjoy your morning tea watching elephants.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 162floriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sapnaj76, Owner at Amritara Hornbill Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hornbillcamp. You definitely are lucky to have sighted the elusive elephants . Hope you will come back sometime to the Camp and recommend it to your friends and family . Hope you are back home safe .
Cheers !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

Hornbill camp is about 2 hours away from Kochi airport and is situated close to the famous "Thattekad Bird Sanctuary". It is on the banks of a reservoir of the Periyar river. On the other bank lies protected forests and the bird sanctuary.

When we visited in early February the reservoir was full of water. The tent that we stayed in was clean, comfortable and air conditioned. The staff are very friendly and made our stay very pleasant. The food was wholesome & tasty served buffet style and so we did not mind that the spread was limited.

We were taken birding early next morning to the forest area, accompanied by Mr. Praveen, the camp naturalist. We spend about three hours and saw about forty species. As we got out of the car, the first thing we saw was a wild elephant crossing the road. Thus chastened, we climbed up a nearby hill with was surrounded by the canopies of several fruit trees.

We saw hundreds of birds signing and feeding by the sun's early light from this vantage point - Greater Flame back wood peckers, Heart spotted wood peckers, Gray fronted pigeons, Asian fairy blue birds, Malabar Barbets, Purple & Purple rumped sunbirds, Grey hornbills and plum headed parakeets to name a few. A pair of Malabar Squirrels were also feeding on a fig tree.

We then climbed down to the forest below, where the trees towered above us, to see a pair of Sri Lankan Frogmouths. As we got back on the road, we were lucky to see a pair of Malabar Trogons high in the canopy. We also saw a young Brown Fish Owl that had just fallen from its nest onto the forest floor. It was being chased by a bunch of crows and its concerned parent was watching from a tree.

We saw several groups of birders, guided by local naturalists, who seemed to be very knowledgeable. Our naturalist Praveen was very enthusiastic and skilled in spotting birds. Thattekad is a must visit for serious birders, and at the Hornbill camp you get real good value for your Money. I am told that December to February is the best time to visit.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VivekR121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sapnaj76, Owner at Amritara Hornbill Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Thank you very much for the extensive review of your stay and birding . Very happy to note that you had a satisfactory stay . We will definitely look into the food aspect , since we are a Camp and in a remote area we have limited supplies hence the limited choice in food . We are working towards more options and hope to have a full fledged menu available in the coming season . We would love to have you back sometime after things settle down with the Carona virus scare . Do come with other friends and family who would be interested in a holiday in the wilderness. Hoping to see you sometime soon .
Cheers !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

This place is a must if you like nature and birds. The guides were knowledgeable. We stayed in the clean and comfortable tents.
We saw incredible birds also a hornbill
The staff were attentive and looked after us extremely well.
The food was amazing.

Date of stay: March 2020
2  Thank Dreamtides
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sapnaj76, Owner at Amritara Hornbill Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Thank you so much for ch for that 5 star review! We strive to have happy and satisfied guests . Hoping that you will recommend the Hornbill Camp to your friends and family alike .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2020

Lovely, scenic location set on a river and surrounded by picturesque countryside. Spacious, comfortable, en-suite tented accommodation with a fan. Staff friendly and helpful. Communal, tasty, buffet style meals with lots of variety for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Tea and biscuits served at 6 a.m. for those going out bird watching. No alcohol is available here. We were there for the bird watching. If we had more time there we would have tried the kayaking and cycling activities which are offered.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sapnaj76, Owner at Amritara Hornbill Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Do come back again ! You definitely need to do kayaking the highlight of many a guests itinerary. Cycling through meandering lanes and through nature is another must do at the Hornbill Camp .
Glad that you enjoyed your bird watching. Please do come again and give us the opportunity to give you another wonderful experience. Looking forward to seeing you again sometime.
Cheers !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews