We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great at any time of year!”
Drabblegate River Cottage offers you a fabulous welcome.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drabblegate River Cottage offers you a fabulous welcome.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Drabblegate River Cottage offers you a fabulous welcome.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Aylsham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Devonal24...
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great at any time of year!”
Reviewed 30 June 2018 for a stay in October 2017

We first stayed here in the summer but it proved just as good when we returned in later years in the autumn and in January.
The cottage is delightful and in a peaceful rural spot not far from Aylsham. It is clean, comfortable, well equipped and in cooler weather the woodturning stove makes it even cosier.
We enjoy watching wildlife and from the cottage have looked over the river to the water meadows and seen deer, a kingfisher, a barn owl, woodpeckers and lots more. We haven't spotted the otter yet but we hope to be luckier next time.
Peter is an excellent host, always helpful and full of ideas and enthusiasm for the area. There are OS maps in the cottage and folders of leaflets on things to see and do. We have enjoyed trips to the coast, to National Trust properties, the stroll up to the town, exploring Norwich and lots more.
We look forward to visiting again before long.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2018
Thank you so much Alison, as you know my main pleasure is in making guests happy; and you have certainly reciprocated here. I look forward to seeing you sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“What a gem”
Reviewed 27 June 2018 for a stay in November 2017

We visited Drabblegate river cottage in November 2017 for my birthday treat, this was the first time we had visited Norfolk and the first time we had hired a holiday cottage. Well, what a treat it was, beautiful cottage inside and wonderful view and scenery outside. My husband is a keen fisherman so what could be better for him but to be able to get up, tackle up, and cross the lane (100 yards) to fish, needless to say he was in heaven!!!!
The location was great, easy walk into Aylsham town for a meal or a drink, easy to visit surrounding areas by car and further afield to Norwich etc. There was also a bus to take you to these places if you didn’t fancy driving.
The cottage was so clean and comfortable, with every amenity you would need. Really spacious rooms with a lovely wood burner in the lounge which, being November we made full use of, and so cosy it was too.
We have booked a further visit in September 2018 and are really looking forward to our return there.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for this wonderful review Roger & Lesley, It is much appreciated. Carry on using my website as these platforms - Airbnb, Trip Advisor, Bookings.Com etc....add lots to the prices. I look forward to seeing you both in September. All Best Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B
Bristol, England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 9 June 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Holiday cottages are usually a disappointment. Not this one. It's beautiful. And it has everything you need. The beds are super comfy and there is a lovely wood burning fire.
You also look out on the river.
Peter is a great host with a wealth of local knowledge. Plenty of walks from the cottage but if you have a car or a bike the surrounding area is beautiful . Bird life wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D
1 review
“Beautiful River Cottage!”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This was the nicest stay we have ever had in Norfolk, or in fact anywhere in the UK! Drabblegate Cottage is in a delightful location overlooking the river, so calm and serene. The cottage is spotless and really well equipped with everything you need. Aylsham is a beautiful historic town and it is just a short drive to the glorious Norfolk coast. In the cottage, there's loads of brilliant information about what to do in the area and Peter was a such a lovely, welcoming host. A real gem!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing