We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,423)
Filter reviews
1,423 results
Traveller rating
451
501
257
133
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
501
257
133
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities bottle of wine evening meal leisure club buffet style long walk weekend break steam room wedding venue standard room lovely grounds changing rooms training course saturday night restaurant staff couldn't do enough relaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 1,423 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We celebrated our daughters wedding here this weekend and would like to say a huge Thank you to all Cranage's Staff for making it a super day.,and ensuring everything ran perfectly. The meal was fantastic and we had a lot of positive feedback from our guests. The sun shone alowing a perfect outside wedding. Quite a few family and friends stayed over for the evening and it was lovely to all meet up for a plentyful, hot breakfast. Some of our guests used the swimming facilities during their weenkend stay and said how enjoyable it all was.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pompey200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasminCranage, Front Office Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear pompey200

I am so happy that you had a wonderful weekend here for your daughters wedding...truly an experience you will never forget. All the team at DeVere Cranage Estate had great pleasure in hosting such a lovely celebration.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best Wishes
Richard Morrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. It was a most welcoming break . Staff all very helpful. Beautifully kept grounds . Great leisure facilities pool sauna steam room and jacuzzi. Also a gym and treatment room which I presume you need to book . The breakfast was superb. Had a pizza in the bar area one evening which was lovely I would recommend this place . We drove to Crewe and got the train into Chester which was a pleasant journey . Rooms were basic but very clean . I maybe recommended a little fridge in the rooms .

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank H7741PElindaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasminCranage, Front Office Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Linda W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your excellent review of DeVere Cranage Estate. You have highlighted the amazing facilities and helpful members of staff that we are famous for. Please note fridges in the bedrooms are available on request and if brought to our attention we would have been more than happy to provide you with one straight away. I do hope to see you at Cranage Estate in the near future.

Best Wishes
Richard Morrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We stayed on a Saturday night with a group of friends for an annual reunion of former colleagues and spouses. The Cranage Estate is easy to find from the M6 and parking is plentiful. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere, much of which derives from the very friendly, helpful staff. Check-in was very efficient and welcoming, the room was very clean and comfortable and the WiFi was excellent. Our evening meals were very good. The menu has something for everybody. I really enjoyed the fish and chips served with mushy peas. The only main course which seemed below the highest standard was the South Indian Vegetable Curry which my wife said would have benefited from a wider range of vegetables. The service was very attentive. After dinner we were able to find seats in the bar to enjoy a late evening drink. The only thing missing was cask beer although they do have hand pumps which unfortunately were not in use.

The following morning the breakfast buffet was superb with a fine choice of hot and cold food. Overall the Cranage is in a convenient location, ideal for an overnight stay, meeting friends and enjoying a relaxing time. Strongly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasminCranage, Front Office Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear John R,

Thank you for choosing to stay at DeVere Cranage Estate for your recent reunion. I am so happy that you had such a good time with us and highlighting the great facilities we have on offer. I hope to welcome you back to DeVere Cranage Estate in the near future.

Best Wishes
Richard Morrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Booked a Saturday night room at last minute and was at the hotel within an hour. Room was basic and a little tired as per the decor, the mattress was well passed it best and the bath was far too small. Everything else was fair to good, we used he pool, sauna jacuzzi etc in the afternoon. We booked an evening meal which i must say was very good with good service as was the breakfast the following morning. So only gripe was the mattress i felt like id been run over when i woke after sleeping on the far too soft outdated mattress.

Room tip: Budget rooms are a bit tired.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pidgeWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasminCranage, Front Office Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear pidgeWarrington

Thankyou for your review. I am sorry to hear your comments reference the mattress, please be assured that if made aware the team would have allocated a room with a firmer mattress for you. Our housekeeping manager wishes to be associated with my apologies and is investigating the mattress claims noting all of our mattresses are checked on a daily basis. I am glad however to hear that you enjoyed dinner in our Tempus restaurant and our excellent breakfast offering. I do hope to welcme you back to Cranage Estate in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Richard Morrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Very welcoming and efficient staff helped to make our stay very pleasurable. Despite the fact that it was a Saturday and there were 2 weddings taking place this didn't impinge on our stay at all. Our room was at the end of the extension and very quiet. Breakfast was busy the following morning but the first morning (Saturday) was perfect.
I would definitely like to add that the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the Hotel was very clean throughout.

Room tip: Rooms in the extension are very quiet
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wisteria_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasminCranage, Front Office Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear wisteria_10,

Thank you for your recent review of DeVere Cranage Estate, I am so happy that you had a lovely weekend spent with us and highlighting the 'perfect' breakfast we provided.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future so that you can come and enjoy another night of our 'extremely comfortable' bed and pillows!

Kind Regards
Yasmin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews