We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunset in Chail” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Grand Sunset
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Chail
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunset in Chail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The view from the hotel is gorgeous - it lives up to its name: Grand Sunset. The windows in our rooms opened to the west and we got a beautiful view of the skies and the hills and the sunset. The hotel is done up tastefully and it is a very family-oriented place. The staff are courteous and although room service was sometimes slow, by and large we had a pleasant experience and intend to go back in Decemebr when it is snowing.

Room Tip: take a room with windows facing the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jajabori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear jajabori

On the behalf of whole Grand Sunset team I would like to thank you for your precious comment that you had given to our property.
Also I would like to apologize for our slow service, and we also admit that service had become a bit problem in the season time. Higher management is hiring more staff to overcome this problem. We hope that from next time we would able to serve you better.

We look forward to having you back with us in December.
Sincerely,
Customer Relationship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    87
    18
    11
    14
See reviews for
131
34
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greater Noida, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Wonderful experience and an awesome view overall....views from the balcony and the lobby were breathtaking which inevitably gets one awestruck....the hotel well excels in hygiene consciousness...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Souvik1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Souvik1987

Thank you for your kind words. We’re glad that you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Grand Sunset.

View from our rooms & from the lobby is our USP. Many of our guests use to make a request at the time of booking that they need valley facing rooms. Premium Deluxe rooms & some Deluxe rooms are having the best view of the valley. And we also get the best view of the sunset from our terrace, which can be enjoyed with family & friends.

We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Sincerely,
Customer Relationship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed in their Premier Deluxe room in June. Hotel is located on Kandhaghat - Chail road. Local market is about 1 km from hotel and Chail palace is about 3 kms. As the name suggests, all rooms of the hotel face the west direction and hence offer good views of sunset. Plus they have an excellent terrace for watching the sunset and having food,etc.
Rooms are fine however slightly smaller in size. Hotel is not maintained that well as my room had a broken handle on the bathroom door and a cracked glass on the window plus the ceiling fan in my room made a lot of noise which totally destroyed the peace Chail offers. However considering the tariff of the hotel i think its offers good value but it has tough competition from other nearby hotels which offer more or less similar deals and views.
Food quality is ok but nothing exceptional. Hotel does buffet breakfast and dinner which is good however the timings are weird as dinner starts at 9:30 a.m and breakfast at 9:00 a.m (both i think are late especially if you have kids travelling with you)

Room Tip: All rooms have similar views of sunset. However rooms on higher floors have slightly better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borntotravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear borntotravel123,

Thank you for your candid review.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused due to few infrastructural issues that sprung up pertaining to your room, we will like to inform you that management has decided to use the off-season time to work on small infrastructural issues like door-knobs, etc to get them ratified. We certainly don't want to spoil our guest's experience due to these small issues...

We're glad that you've enjoyed the views from the rooms, and had a chance to experience peace that Chail, and particularly the valley in which we're located had to offer.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

First of all, the drive from chandigarh to chail is awsome. The name GRAND SUNSET defines the hotel well as you can clearly see the sunset from any room. The view of the hotel from our room (premium delux top floor) was great. The room was clean and nice. The food of the hotel was not at all good. The menu was just a show piece, whatever was cooked for the buffet was the actual available food. The service was good and fast. There was battery backup available 24*7 but we had to always give the reception a reminder that there is no electricity. The hotel includes services like Table tennis and carom. The parking was not good and was too STEEP. Overall I'm satisfied.
The food of the Chail Palace was also not good. Hotel Ekant close to Grand Sunset had the best food in town.

Room Tip: Premium delux room on the top floor had the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hardikbh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear hardikbh09,

Greetings - and thank you for your review.

We're glad that you found the location worthwhile and rooms clean.

Regarding food, thanks to tripadvisor community we've got several feedback regarding it. We're working in this direction.... Our focus has been to provide a small, but delicious and most importantly clean food. But given the feedback we're in process of revamping the menu and certainly you will see new additions... The whole process shall be complete by the next season... and our guests will hopefully start seeing improvement from immediate effect.

We're glad that you were satisfied with the trip.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We made a trip in May and had booked two rooms. Both of them had excellent view. In case you do miss out on the preferred view, the best part of the hotel is that it has verandas/viewing platforms on each floor. Service is good and courteous and the food decent. The rooms rents are slightly steep compared to the neighborhood hotels but as this seems a newer hotel, it's okay. Even in peak season, the rooms are not full , so we had our privacy. BEWARE: this one and many other hotels in Chail accept no credit cards and there are NO ATMs in Chail...so carry plenty of cash:) One suggestion: they should replace some of the lights in the room with yellow light and get rid of the tubes.

Room Tip: Choose the ones facing the valley- one floor down from the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaushik-on-wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Kaushik-on-wheels

Thank you for your precious review you had given to our hotel.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Grand Sunset, and you are correct, one have to carry a lot of cash as their is no credit card machine or ATM in entire Chail city. But we are trying to bring credit card machine in order to serve you better in your next trip.

Hope you visit our hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Customer Relationship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chail
0.4 km away
Hotel Ekant
Hotel Ekant
#1 of 14 in Chail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.6 km away
Maple Resort Chail
Maple Resort Chail
#5 of 14 in Chail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Chail Residency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Aamod
Aamod
#1 of 3 in Shoghi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.7 km away
Tarika's Jungal Retreat
0.5 km away
Village Live In Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Sunset? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Sunset

Property: Hotel Grand Sunset
Address: Village Mihani, Chail 173217, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chail
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Chail
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,702 - ₹ 9,882
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Grand Sunset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Sunset is located at 3 km milestone from Chail. We are one of the biggest hotels in Chail with 20 rooms. Hotel is equipped with all modern and state of the art facilities. We are situated at the most prominent location of Chail, from where each room gives the most exalting and scenic view of Sunset and Sunrise. Each room also offers the picturesque view of the Chail valley and the surrounding Hills and a soothing view of lush Green vegetation of Chail. Nestled at the cool, calm and relaxing serenity of Chail, Hotel Grand Sunset is located at the starting point of Chail which offers the most attractive view of Sunset from every rooms. Not only the sunset, Hotel Grand Sunset offers the best view of Chail valley and the surrounding views of Hills and Lush Green vegetation of Chail. You will find every room an ode to synchronicity, a rare harmony of the classical elegance and modern comfort. Friendly room service is part of ambience. Yet, the desire to look outside is irresistible. Unfold curtains of Glass Windows and an entire Panoramic View of the hills and valleys reveals itself. Coupled with taste of cuisines served, there's just one word... Perfect!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Hotel Grand Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Sunset Chail, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing