We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a smile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chail Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Chail Residency
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Chail
Certificate of Excellence
Barnala, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have been to.And much more if you consider its tariff rates. The Manager Mr.Malik is a nice, very hard working man with 'always-at-your-service' attitude. Just ask him for anything and he will be more than happy to serve you. And food here is so amazing that we never thought about eating anywhere else. They add something special to every dish that gives it a unique taste and keeps you guessing.
Neat and clean rooms with excellent housekeeping and very friendly staff.
The view was amazing although an ugly construction was coming up which may block the view a little bit.

Room Tip: We chose a super deluxe room which was excellent apart from the view which was partially blocked by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jashan_pau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    64
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
62
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

i booked the room from seeing the reviews through makemytrip.com , but coming into the super deluxe room there was a 14 inch color tv which you hardly find ina hotel room. the food in the afternoon was not up to the mark and the food at the night took eternity to come. the rice particles were as small as moong daal. the chicken was also not very well cooked. when i spoke to the gentleman at the reception this morning he said our cook is a top class cook. i am still staying in room no.101 and i have got two more days to stay. god knows they might improve their food service and room service or not.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kanika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I have always felt like home here. The food is great and staff is hospitable and yes the budget is very much aligned with the pocket. I visited this place in May with my wife and again going to visit it with my family!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deepak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

First of all, this hotel has very reasonable prices and nice rooms, Every room, whether deluxe or super deluxe, has a brilliant view of the valleys and the mountains, The hotel manager is very helpful,polite and courteous and so is the staff. The room service is excellent and it is nice being treated,always, with a smile. The food was delicious and the best we've eaten in Himachal Pradesh. The town itself is away from the hustle and bustle of the cities. It is the best if anyone wants a getaway from their busy lives.
Chail Residency's stunning view, courteous staff, tasty food and nice rooms make it the best place to stay in Chail.
I highly recommend everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Advisor789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChailResidency, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chail Residency, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chail Residency!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting review of our hotel on Trip advisor.
Your generous feedback of our team is motivating and helps us in our endeavour of continuing towards creating unparalleled experience of the Himalyas.

We are glad to know that you like our food and efforts make by our team to make your stay pleasant. The team and I are truly motivated by your comments. It is the kind patronage of guests like yourself that ensures we keep striving towards exceeding our guests expectations.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Arjun Mahajan
Hotel Chail Residency, Chail
Mobile: +919914470007
Email address: hotelchailresidency@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property for a night on our way to Shimla.
We booked the super deluxe room and the view from the balcony was amazing.
Things we liked:
1. Nice location - Away from the hustle and bustle of city life
2. Big, clean rooms with all amenities - We were surprised to find such well equipped hotel in a small city like Chail
3. Really friendly staff - Special mention to the getntlemean at the reception who was really warm and welcoming
4. Food was GREAT - The best part was the food - Loved the chicken masala and paranthas

We are really impressed by the service provided by this hotel and would surely visit them again if given a chance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aby_maverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chail hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Grand Sunset
Hotel Grand Sunset
#2 of 14 in Chail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Ekant
Hotel Ekant
#1 of 14 in Chail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.7 km away
Maple Resort Chail
Maple Resort Chail
#5 of 14 in Chail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Tarika's Jungal Retreat
0.6 km away
Village Live In Resort
2.6 km away
Fernhill Resort
Fernhill Resort
#5 of 11 in Chail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chail Residency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chail Residency

Property: Hotel Chail Residency
Address: Kandaghat Chail Road, Chail 173217, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chail
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Chail
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,899 - ₹ 3,797
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Chail Residency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHAIL RESIDENCY, nestling in the shelter of virgin forests, at a height of 2250 m is accessible by road from Kalka via Kandaghat which is 32 km short of Shimla, on the Kalka-Shimla Highway. Set amidst scented forests of pine and deodar, Chail was the summer capital of the Maharaja of Patiala before Independence. The verdant forests near Chail are alive with many species of birds, barking deer, wild boar, pheasant. Chail is also famous for its highest cricket pitch in the world. CHAIL RESIDENCY has come up on the Kandaghat-Chail road, close to Chail town, in a sprawling scenic nature, splendour of invigorating clean air, lush green hills, quiet and peaceful surroundings to rejuvenate a new spirit, vigour and zest for life in a delightful mixture of regal and rustic simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, OYO Rooms, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Chail Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chail Residency Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing