We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Memories cherished for a long time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chail Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Chail Residency
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Chail
Certificate of Excellence
Ludhiana
1 review
“Memories cherished for a long time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was my first tour uphills to the city of Chail and it left a mark on us for a long time. We choose the Hotel based on a word of mouth from our friends who had been here before and we were left spellbound by the hospitality shown.
From the very initial booking time till the time of the actual stay, everyone had been more than comforting. I would like to make a special mention to the staff there who traveled all the way down 16 kms and back when our car broke down in the middle of no-where even AFTER our check-out.

We stayed in the super deluxe rooms which were sufficiently big and specially the balconies facing the valley. We woke up everyday to the pleasing sunrise and stayed there for hours. The service and the food of the hotel are worth a special mention. They chef adds a special homely touch to it which makes it delicious.

Come here to forget your monotonous city routine and relax your souls. Choose the hotel for its wonderful accommodation and service. Overall it was a wonderful experience to cherish.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Super Deluxe Room 101 which had an amazing view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    64
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
62
45
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night. We had booked deluxe rooms 301 and 302. Both rooms are quite clean and spacious. Balcony views were awesome from both rooms specially for sunset. We had also taken dinner and breakfast here. Service was excellent, moreover food quality was very good. I really would like to mention about the guy at reception of hotel. He was very polite and helpful. In the end I can't complain about anything of this hotel. Everything was at its place as it ought to be for a perfect trip. Thanks for making the stay Good!!

Room Tip: Room 301 has good valley views from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahijeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Awesome place.. thats the first thing which comes to mind after you reach here..
We (me and wife) stayed there for three days & four nights during Holi holidays, and the stay was nothing less than awesome.. full marks to the courtesy of the staff and their mannerism, which was just unexplainable..

Food was too good.. never had such kind of tasty food in any hotels across the India (atleast where I've been). The review may look highly biased but believe us.. you will find it difficult to find such a peaceful place in India. Please make sure you have enough cash as there are no ATMs nearby. If you are looking to chill out with your family, then this is the place.. Although certain places of interest are nearby... but they are not worth going. Kufri is too dirty and Simla is just like any other hill station. Come to this place, spend the quality time with your family and thats what you actually want..

A very good experience indeed to cherish..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaurPri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed there with my family for two days in Jan 12. Stayed in super delux room. The room was sufficiently big with windows and a balcony allowing us to see wonderful sunset. The staff was courteous and helpful especially the uncle on reception (sorry I forgot his name). He arranged our cab well in advance for Kufri trip and our way back to railway station.He wake us up in the morning so that we cant miss the snow fall over there.It was an unforgettable experience. Food was amazing, so delicious that we had not have in our whole Shimla trip. Thanks to the fabulous cook. The only thing that needs to be look upon is maintenance of rooms. It should be improved to give perfect holiday experience to the travellers.

Room Tip: Super delux room can be a good bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharuAggarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChailResidency, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chail Residency, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chail Residency!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting an encouraging review of our hotel on Trip advisor. We would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback.

We are glad to know that you like our food and efforts make by our team to make your stay pleasant. The team and I are truly motivated by your comments. It is the kind patronage of guests like yourself that ensures we keep striving towards exceeding our guests expectations.

I have noted your feedbcak about the maintenance of the rooms and would like to sincerely apologise for inconvenience caused. We are in process of addressing the issue and upgrading the rooms to create an unparalleled experience of the Hills at our hotel. Kindly reach us on the below mentioned contact details if you wish to add more and help us strive further.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards,
Arjun Mahajan
Hotel Chail Residency, Chail
Mobile: +919914470007
Email address: hotelchailresidency@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Awesome place to escape from our regular hectic life. Our 3 days stay seemed too less.
Balcony view was indeed amazing. We didn't miss a single sunset view and sunshine filled the room in afternoon.
Food was delicious, homely and staff was extremely courteous.
Some work can be done at maintenance of rooms - we had some minor issues with geysers and flush.
I just have one suggestion - since we visited during Christmas, at least some decorations should have been done to entertain the guests and to give a feel of festive season.
Still, would recommend this hotel for great service and excellent views.

Room Tip: The room 201(super deluxe room) was very spacious and had one of the best views available from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dipti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChailResidency, Owner at Hotel Chail Residency, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Maam,

Thank you for posting your review about Chail Residency on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that your stay at Chail was enjoyable. We are glad to hear that our staff was proactive in making the trip as comfortable as possible for you.

My staff and I reviewed your feedback and comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue in the room you occuppied. In addition, we are re-evaluating our inspection processes to ensure these type of issues do not occur in the future.

Your appreciation of our services is generous and motivating and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Arjun Mahajan
Owner
+919914470007
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chail
0.1 km away
Hotel Grand Sunset
Hotel Grand Sunset
#2 of 14 in Chail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Ekant
Hotel Ekant
#1 of 14 in Chail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 km away
Maple Resort Chail
Maple Resort Chail
#5 of 14 in Chail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
0.7 km away
Tarika's Jungal Retreat
0.6 km away
Village Live In Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chail Residency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chail Residency

Property: Hotel Chail Residency
Address: Kandaghat Chail Road, Chail 173217, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chail
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Chail
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,775 - ₹ 4,301
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Chail Residency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHAIL RESIDENCY, nestling in the shelter of virgin forests, at a height of 2250 m is accessible by road from Kalka via Kandaghat which is 32 km short of Shimla, on the Kalka-Shimla Highway. Set amidst scented forests of pine and deodar, Chail was the summer capital of the Maharaja of Patiala before Independence. The verdant forests near Chail are alive with many species of birds, barking deer, wild boar, pheasant. Chail is also famous for its highest cricket pitch in the world. CHAIL RESIDENCY has come up on the Kandaghat-Chail road, close to Chail town, in a sprawling scenic nature, splendour of invigorating clean air, lush green hills, quiet and peaceful surroundings to rejuvenate a new spirit, vigour and zest for life in a delightful mixture of regal and rustic simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelGuru, Agoda and OYO Rooms so you can book your Hotel Chail Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chail Residency Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing