We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family break in stunning setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Clere du Bois, Indre, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Tinks3
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perfect family break in stunning setting”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful place! Where to start?
Booking was easy and contact with Peter and Dianne was efficient and what you'd hope for.
Being quite nervous about travelling that far, their directions and tips made the trip hassle free!
We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted by two friendly faces and the warmest of welcomes!
The accommodation is what we had hoped for! It's not brand new and modern, it's authentic and exactly as described.
They are self catering and we were surprised with a little welcome pack which was a nearly nice touch. Some delicious bread, milk, butter, tea and coffee etc.

There is plenty here to do! The swimming pool kept the children entertained and the safety gate put my mind at rest! It's heated, covered and spotlessly clean! The grounds are beautiful with plenty of room for them to play.

There are mountain bikes for hire and I would certainly recommend this! Can easily spend a few hours taking in the stunning surroundings. There are lots of little lakes nearby which you can stop at, many have little beaches where the children can play safely.
I would recommend taking a walk or short drive to the nearby villages. Plenty of small shops, bars and restaurants where you can try some of the local authentic food!
Definitely recommend having a BBQ using some of the produce from the local shops it was amazing!
The wine in the area is great so I would definitely recommend sampling as much as you can.
The area itself is very reasonably priced and we found we got a lot for our money!
Some fellow guests recommended a local zoo to visit however we were so relaxed at the site itself and exploring locally, that we really didn't need to do much else!
We were only one family but if you were looking for a place for a few groups of families and friends then this would be ideal!

The staff were really professional and were there to help with whatever you needed. They were really knowledgeable about the local area, places to eat and visit.

We have loved our time here and we will most definitely retuning next year! A stunning set up with professional and helpful staff topped off by being in such a traditional and unspoilt area! Perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendyxtwo...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Third time here, and we will be back. Loire paradise.”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is our third time here. We stayed in the Dairy again, and have also previously stayed in the Stable. We absolutely love it here, and for many reasons. Firstly - we are returning customers because of the warm welcome from lovely hosts. This was previously Angela and Derek who returning customers will know as the original owners, and as the business has now changed hands, it is cared for by Peter and Dianne who are lovely, and who make you so welcome. Nothing is too much trouble, and they go out of there way to make you feel special. We stayed for two weeks this time, and we really didn't want to leave thanks to them both. Secondly, the place itself is so beautiful. It is tranquil, feels like it is in the heart of rural France surrounded by fields and often sunflowers, and is ideally located so you can visit all of the attractions you would want to in this part of the world. We ventured out every day for a fortnight, travelling 10 mins to 90 mins to visit Chateaus and Gardens. We also visited La Haute Touche for the first time, which is a safari park / zoo less than 10 mins away. Well worth a visit. The new owner is very keen to keep La Vielle Ferme as successful as it always has been, and we are confident that with Peter and Dianne's wonderful welcome and hospitality, this will be achieved. We will remain a returning customer and will certainly be back. Don't overlook this place - it is a must for anyone wanting to explore this area of France. You will love it - just read the reviews!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Thank you so much, Wendy and Wendy! It's great to hear that we've upheld the high standards set before us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevAndrew...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect break in rural France.”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

La Vielle Ferme, The Old Farm, is just that. A lovely set of old farm dwellings expertly and tastefully converted into beautiful, traditional, comfortable gites. We have stayed in The Stable and previously, The Grange. Quite different but equally comfortable. The resident managers Dianne & Pete are much more than managers. They make the stay seem like visiting old friends. Nothing is too much trouble. There was even a delicious lasagne awaiting our arrival - an unexpected very welcome luxury after a long journey from home. We are not active holidaymakers, but we were tempted at least twice every day by the superb pool. Pete even asked if we liked to swim early or late so he could ensure the pool was open and ready for us. Though we didn't use them, we were shown the whereabouts of everything from bikes to badminton. Clere is really a lovely unspoiled hamlet. There is a simple boulangerie / shop, complete with bistro and bar. The resident owners lend the personal touch and it becomes a delight to mix with the locals and enjoy simple but superb food. The village church is worth a visit too. Chatillon, a lovely market town is worth a visit for itself, and you can find a modern supermarket or two as well as more traditional shops and eateries. A little further afield is Loches, truly a gem of a town. We had a couple of 'posh' meals in a couple of very stylish restaurants there. Places to visit within a reasonable drive are too many to mention. Clere is well situated to enjoy so much. All in all it will be hard to resist staying at La Vielle Ferme again soon.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Many thanks Andrew for leaving such warm review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and of course we would love to welcome you back any time. All the best from us at La Vieille Ferme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin M
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“WOW with a capital W”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Gosh where to start, well I guess with Peter and Diane, the caretakers, they are amazing. Contacting us before our arrival telling us not to worry about provisions for day one as there would be sufficient in the cottage to get us through. How right they were, arriving to a fantastic home made Lasagne and superb red wine. The cottage was glorious - we stayed in The Farmhouse - very clean, well kept and everything we could need. There is a covered swimming pool onsite which is tended to daily to make sure it is just right. There is also badminton, table tennis, boules etc available for guests. Peter and Diane encourage the guests in different cottages to mingle and get together, they are fantastic hosts, with a wealth of local knowledge. the village itself is beautiful with a shop/restaurant/bar, nothing superb but enough for our needs serving great Pizza, cold beer and all overseen by the stunning Dog Cuvo, alongside owner Coraline. All in all this is one of the best family holidays we have experienced and the main reason being the cottage and the hosts, we will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Many thanks Kelvin for such a kind review, we're so happy to hear that it's one of your best family holidays! That's what it is all about for us : ) Best regards from us at La Vieille Ferme, we hope to see you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen B
1 review
“Fabulous Getaway”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Having just returned from our stay at La Vieille Ferme, I wanted to share what a fabulous time we had. The property itself is gorgeous, as is the small village and local area. Peter and Dianne were wonderful hosts and have that brilliant ability to be extremely friendly and helpful without ever being invasive. The location gave us the best of all worlds with stunning whether, a comfortable distance to travel down and it is just perfectly located in touching distance of so many things to see and do. We’ve thoroughly enjoyed our stay and come back feeling refreshed but wishing we could stay longer! Thanks for giving us a special holiday and memories to treasure!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing