We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, real expensive and service all over the place”
Review of Thai Garden

Thai Garden
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Naantali
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 March 2021

Thai Garden in popular Naantali Spa offers authentic Thai cuisine. Our starters and mains were tasty and spicy, so nothing to complain about that....except their prices. Starters at least 15€ and mains around 30€ and what was shocking, even TAP water was almost 3€! Service was friendly, like always in Thai restaurants, but real "shaky". They were forgetting drink orders, then brought wrong drink, bill wasn't correct etc. S

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Halkidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2020

This place is really worth a visit if you are in the area - the food was really good, the service as well. Good selection of different dishes, and nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank 693ritam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2020 via mobile

Visited Thai Garden again after a long time- the interior has been renewed and looks very nice. The menu is quite extensive and special requests are taken well into consideration. Some more vegan options would be a good addition.
The starters were delicious, the main courses could have been slightly more spicy to give that authentic Thai feel. Especially the tofu main course would have needed more heat to balance out the sweetness. The presentation of the dishesvis very pretty and it is a nice idea to serve the main courses with 3 different types of rice.
The prices are, all in all, pretty high- there is even a charge for the tap water, which, in Finland, is quite unusual.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Travelerfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2020 via mobile

We had high expectations after reading all the postive reviews on this restaurant but unfortunately we were very disappointed. The setting of the restaurant is quite dark and old looking, not very appealing.
The food looked very good on the plate but not as tasteful.
As a starter we had some spring rolls and those were ok. For main course we had king prawns served with rice and vegetables:
the vegetables were very good, crunchy and tasty in a very delicious thai sauce but the rest was such a let down. There were 3 different kinds of rice (normal, dark and saffron) and they all tasted exactly the same, not the slightest difference (it tastes like rice yes, but why giving the illusion of offering a big variety if there is no difference at all?).
The prawns were the most disappointing element of the dinner. They were completely tasteless. The blend flavour was given only by the sauce that came with them, no fish taste what so ever, not even a hint. 2 tastless king prawns for 25€.
Dinner for 2, 2 portions of spring rolls (12€ each), prawn main course (25€ each), one medium beer and water (usually water is free in Finland as it’s very good from the tap but we had to pay for that too) for a total of 84€. NO WAY.
The service was normally friendly, when the waitress asked us if we were enjoying our food we told the truth about the prawns.
We left very disappointed and we won’t come back.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank silkkun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2020 via mobile

This was our second visit here after being away for a few years. The food was still amazing and really tasty. The service was pleasant and the atmosphere wonderful. Definitely worth a visit

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Kaisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Garden also viewed

Turku, Southwest Finland
Naantali, Southwest Finland
 
Naantali, Southwest Finland
Naantali, Southwest Finland
 

Been to Thai Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.