We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (621)
Filter reviews
621 results
Traveller rating
540
63
9
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
540
63
9
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rosi and nazir other guests beach house breakfast and dinner perfect hosts home stay communal table three children host family real homestay meal times interesting people idyllic setting nearby village coconut palms local culture very special place
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 621 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great homestay, Lovely food, wonderful hosts, great guests from England, Germany, Austria and Finland. Beach 100 metres away, ensuite rooms and balconies. Some with A/C. When I was there only 32 degrees and sunny!

Room tip: Front rooms with sea view
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiggerLamorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Kannur Beach House is a lovely spot by the beautiful and peaceful Thottada Beach.
When you want to relax by the sea and stay close to beautiful nature this is place is for you. Food was great and very versatile. You can really enjoy delicious Keralan cuisine in breakfast and dinner. Family who are running the place are very friendly and helpful.
Surely want to go back there next time visiting in South-India.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuikero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rosie and Anil host a very special home stay in Northern Kerala. Gracious and quiet stay on most beautiful beach. Breakfast and dinner menu varied and so delicious.
Guests dining together with hosts made for most congenial atmosphere. Robert being the most congenial quest. Rooms are basic and adequate, we booked latish and were in an upstairs room facing the ocean, downstairs are the primo rooms.
Super quiet, altho surprised with singing jackals at night,
Invited to fish from the beach with Anil at dusk. Managed to help out without getting tangled in the net. And ate out catch the following day.
Rosie arranged for us to attend Theyyam, a pre dawn ritual practised in local communities., with elaborate regalia, music and dance, fire and blessings at small local temples.
Book early for this guesthouse.

Room tip: Book early for best rooms, with beach facing terrace. Have mosquito repellent, tropical conditions.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Loveries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2019

A modest & simple home stay just metres from a small river teeming with wildlife & not more than a five minute walk from the beach. Myself, partner & six year old stayed here for three nights in October 2018 & found it very hard to leave! We spent two afternoons on the beautiful, pristine Thottada beach & encountered just a handful of people taking a stroll. The hosts Rosi & Nazir were very attentive without being intrusive & we very much enjoyed their hospitality at meal times. Both had interesting stories to tell, were amusing & very kind to our daughter. Hands down the highlight for us, apart from seeing Kingfishers in the mornings, was the food! Rosi & her assistant cooked up the most amazing selection of Keralan treats every morning & every night. We were so impressed by the number of dishes! Never have we tasted such delicious, fresh mussels, curries & pickles. We travelled around Kerala that Winter & can honestly say that the food at Kannur Beach House was the best food by far of the whole trip. Not only that, Rosi is hugely passionate about her community & neighbours & supports them in every way she can whether it's gifting her coconut harvest or being loyal to a hardworking female tuk tuk driver. We'll be back for more one day!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank girlclapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019

Possibly our fifth (or sixth?) visit to Kannur Beach House but we have never tired of this tranquil homestay with its beautiful position where a backwater/river meets a lagoon then the sea.
Our accommodation is simple, comfortable and beautifully peaceful. Meals - always delicious - are served in the communal outdoor dining area. Rosi and Nazir, the very friendly and attentive hosts, are happy to provide information on all things Indian - including food items, local culture, places of interest and travel queries - but also enjoy the general conversation of guests as they congregate round their table.
We particularly enjoy canoeing up the river in the early morning, walking through the coconut palms to the nearby village or along the long, sandy beaches and taking the occasional visit to Kannur town by bus or rickshaw.
Swimming is excellent most of the time but sometimes there are rollers which strong swimmers love but may deter those who are weaker. The beach is always beautiful.
We strongly recommend staying here and hope, like us, you will want to share sunsets over the lagoon many times with Rosi, Nazir and other new friends.

Room tip: All rooms have excellent views and look on to the garden and lagoon.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews