We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT PLACE FOR RELAXATION”
Review of Kannur Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kannur Beach House
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Our stay here was not long enough - just 4 nights but we loved every minute and felt very relaxed on leaving.

This is a home stay, rooms are small but very comfortable. Do not expect luxury. This is basic accommodation but very clean and comfortable. There is no pool, no TV, no fridge, no hairdryer, no kettle, no toiletries provided, no alcohol or hot water. What you will get is a warm welcome and an idyllic setting.

We had a nice room with a large balcony overlooking the garden, lagoon, beach and sea. Perfect for relaxation and bird watching.

We spent our time exploring the beautiful beaches, canoeing up the river, visiting the local small villages and lazing in hammocks. A 15/20 minute walk takes you to the local shop to buy bits for lunch.

Rosi and Nazir are excellent hosts and can make arrangements for you to visit various places. They have a wealth of local knowledge.

The food is excellent, Indian home cooking at it's best. Rosi always on hand to explain the various dishes. Delicious. You sit at a communal table so you soon get to know your fellow travellers.

Wish we were there now, but already planning next years visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice balconies and views of the lagoon and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank skier54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2017

This is a review that is long overdue. We had booked for a three night stay at Kannur beach house in late October. On that fateful day of arriving in Kannur, there was a hartal. Ms.Rosie and Mr.Nazir had informed about it earlier and assisted us on arriving at the Beach House without any major problems.
A wonderful setting right out there on the beach. Heritage home providing traditional Kerala cuisine. Food catering to the tastes of the children requires special mention. The couple's recommendations on shopping in Kannur city, their hospitality and knowledge of local environment are highly appreciated. Special Thanks to Ms.Rosie and Mr.Nazir for being courteous enough to drop us off at the bus station and ensuring that we got into the bus. Definitely, a place to visit and people to meet.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Prasanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We had the most relaxing and lovely four night stay in Kannur Beach House. The homestay has a lovely and relaxed atmosphere, especially the long and excellent meals where Rosi and Nazir looked after us brilliantly, and where very happy to answer lots of questions about life in India and Kerala, as well as beig always on hand to offer advice on where to go shopping or where we could watch a Theyyam (I'd highly recommend this if you happen to be in Kerala in Feb, go to an early morning dance, it's loaded wth atmosphere and mystic).

As well as a stunning beach on the doorstep one of ur highlights was taking the canoe ut in the early evening and watching the amazing birdlife on the backwater lake as the sun sets. Its really magical.

Given that we booked at the last minute our tay couldnt ahve been better. Thanks Rosi and Nazir.

Room Tip: Some of the more comfy beds in Kerala!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoaTreeCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Relaxing, charming, friendly, comfortable, beautiful.....and dolphins! Rosi and Nazir's strengths contrast yet compliment each other perfectly to offer their guests a memorable stay. They both have exceptional knowledge of their local environment, culture and surroundings. Food is scrummy and even had me eating traditional Keralan breakfasts. The daily shopping 'slog' involved pootling up the river to the samosa shop to pick up daily provisions and have a chai with the ladies. A really wonderful stay ...highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dottydarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

It is 9 years since we last visited the Kannur Beach House. We had meant to return sooner but were delayed for a number of family reasons.
But this January we returned and found that little had changed. Our hosts Rosi and Nazir were as welcoming as ever, the location is still great and the food was excellent, with different Keralan dishes served every one of the 8 days we were there.
If you are looking for a holiday that provides peace and quiet and opportunities for exercise, swimming and walking, or as a base for exploring the surrounding area, I can highly recommend the Beach House. We particularly enjoyed the opportunity to meet other travellers over the breakfast and dinner tables to share our experiences.

We will return again, hopefully sooner than in 9 years time.

Room Tip: We had an up stairs room in the main building which had a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kannur hotels
0.3 km away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#3 of 23 in Kannur
194 reviews
0.0 km away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
70 reviews
6.3 km away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#16 of 23 in Kannur
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#12 of 23 in Kannur
61 reviews
5.3 km away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
225 reviews
8.6 km away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kannur Beach House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kannur Beach House

Address: Beach house | Thottada Beach, P O Thottada, Kannur, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kannur
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kannur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kannur
#2 Family Hotel in Kannur
Price Range: ₹ 4,930 - ₹ 6,357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a homestay on the beach front in Kannur, Kerala, India. This charming place in a quiet and secluded area, very close to a pristine and mostly deserted Thottada beach is also situated by a small river. On a beach amongst lush green coconut groves and with a view of the sea, it offers the best in food, relaxation and comfort. With 4 double rooms and a triple room, the beach house has been every travelers delight. All the rooms offer a breath taking view of the beach and the sea. Meals are set and conducted at a communal dining area at fixed timings. There are no room service, TV or porters. Wifi is available. Activities include walking on the long stretch of golden beach, among thick coconut plantation through the village, basking in the sun and sand, bird watching, boating, angling, sightseeing or simply watching the village life go by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kannur Beach House Hotel Kannur
Kannur Beach Hotel
Kannur Beach Resort
Kannur Beach House Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing