We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite, secluded, secluded, beach front resort in a 100 year old house with charm and character.”
Review of Kannur Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kannur Beach House
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Rosi and Nazir were amazing hosts. Organizing our train trip to and from Cochin, organized an evening at a Theyyam, and cooked great meals featuring dishes from India suited to our Canadian palette. We came as tourists, we stayed as guests and we left as friends.

Room Tip: Each room unique, some have balconies, all rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank martyc224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2017

This is the 2nd time we've visited Kannur Beach House - you can never have too much of this beautiful magical place. We came back in January, this time bringing friends with us to experience the peace, tranquility and wonderful cuisine. We were looked after so well by our hosts, Rosi and Nazir, who are always happy to help and share their local knowledge. The food is authentic, healthy and as good, if not better, than a top class restaurant. The views from the home stay are stunning, thottada beach is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to and to be able to stay a few meters away is amazing. We hope it won't be too long before we can come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kez6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

A homely secluded stay. Rosi and Nazir are very keen to introduce guests to Kannur life from the food to information about local customs. We learnt about how many varieties of mango there are in Kerala and when they are in season, about fruits that resemble dates and sweet oranges.
Taking the canoe out by ourselves to see the birds getting ready for bed on the lagoon was one of the highlights of our three week trip. Ask Rosi when the best times are to see the most varieties. There were thousands of ducklings during our stay in early January. Another highlight was witnessing a theyyam ritual. We set off at 4am and that morning will stay with us forever.
We didn’t visit Aleppey, instead wanting to visit a part of Kerala less travelled and Kannur beach house was perfect for that. Get there quick before the new Kannur airport opens and changes this laid back little place.
This was our first homestay experience and as quite an independent pair we are used to doing our own thing- so the set mealtimes and group dinners took a bit of adjusting to but we thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would do it again. Thanks Rosi and Nazir for your attentive hosting.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I can't explain how much we love this place, and Rosi and Naz. The rooms are beautiful, lots of locally made fabric, dark wood, and wonderful bathrooms. Each room as a terrace/balcony, which is perfect for watching the sunset. The breakfasts and dinners which are included in the price are the best i had in the whole of India, healthy, home-made and totally authentic. Its so lovely to sit around the table with the other guests, making friends and sharing stories. The beach is out of this world, you can have 2km of white sand beach to yourself. At lunch time we take a walk to the nearest bakery where the food is excellent. We have been visiting here for 3 years and can't wait until next year.

Room Tip: I like the first floor, room on the left if facing the house. But honestly they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

This beautiful house has a great view across a lagoon to the golden sands on Thottada beach, flanked with coconut trees. Thottada beach is the most pristine and unspoilt we found on our travels and the Kannur Beach House a fantastic way to enjoy it. The rooms we had were spacious and simply decorated with a traditional homely feel. There are plenty of verandas and hammocks to relax in the shade. The homestay includes breakfast, tea and dinner in the company of the other guests and fantastic hosts Rosie and Nazir. We were extremely well looked after, enjoying the hosts local knowledge and meeting the other guests. Our hosts arranged for us to see a Theyam event locally which was a great cultural experience and we really enjoyed use of the canoe for birdwatching on the lagoon. This was a truly magical stay and a highlight of our trip.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Seren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kannur hotels
0.3 km away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#3 of 23 in Kannur
194 reviews
0.0 km away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
70 reviews
6.3 km away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#16 of 23 in Kannur
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#12 of 23 in Kannur
61 reviews
5.3 km away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
225 reviews
8.6 km away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kannur Beach House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kannur Beach House

Address: Beach house | Thottada Beach, P O Thottada, Kannur, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kannur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kannur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kannur
#2 Family Hotel in Kannur
Price Range: ₹ 4,943 - ₹ 6,374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a homestay on the beach front in Kannur, Kerala, India. This charming place in a quiet and secluded area, very close to a pristine and mostly deserted Thottada beach is also situated by a small river. On a beach amongst lush green coconut groves and with a view of the sea, it offers the best in food, relaxation and comfort. With 4 double rooms and a triple room, the beach house has been every travelers delight. All the rooms offer a breath taking view of the beach and the sea. Meals are set and conducted at a communal dining area at fixed timings. There are no room service, TV or porters. Wifi is available. Activities include walking on the long stretch of golden beach, among thick coconut plantation through the village, basking in the sun and sand, bird watching, boating, angling, sightseeing or simply watching the village life go by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kannur Beach House Hotel Kannur
Kannur Beach Hotel
Kannur Beach Resort
Kannur Beach House Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing