We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place in the world!”
Review of Kannur Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kannur Beach House
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I can't explain how much we love this place, and Rosi and Naz. The rooms are beautiful, lots of locally made fabric, dark wood, and wonderful bathrooms. Each room as a terrace/balcony, which is perfect for watching the sunset. The breakfasts and dinners which are included in the price are the best i had in the whole of India, healthy, home-made and totally authentic. Its so lovely to sit around the table with the other guests, making friends and sharing stories. The beach is out of this world, you can have 2km of white sand beach to yourself. At lunch time we take a walk to the nearest bakery where the food is excellent. We have been visiting here for 3 years and can't wait until next year.

Room Tip: I like the first floor, room on the left if facing the house. But honestly they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

This beautiful house has a great view across a lagoon to the golden sands on Thottada beach, flanked with coconut trees. Thottada beach is the most pristine and unspoilt we found on our travels and the Kannur Beach House a fantastic way to enjoy it. The rooms we had were spacious and simply decorated with a traditional homely feel. There are plenty of verandas and hammocks to relax in the shade. The homestay includes breakfast, tea and dinner in the company of the other guests and fantastic hosts Rosie and Nazir. We were extremely well looked after, enjoying the hosts local knowledge and meeting the other guests. Our hosts arranged for us to see a Theyam event locally which was a great cultural experience and we really enjoyed use of the canoe for birdwatching on the lagoon. This was a truly magical stay and a highlight of our trip.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Seren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

We've spent a couple of weeks at Kannur Beach House. Not only it is an absolutely gorgeous place, on a beautiful beach, but it has also the most incredible local cuisine. Everyday is a food party. And the owners are also very helpful for any cultural visit, including ceremonies of Theyyam! We recommend it!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank yoruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

A family of five with three children, we spent a wonderful week here just before Christmas. Rosi and Nazir were the consummate hosts, both respecting guests' privacy and space but also being there for all questions, suppertime conversation, problem solving, whatever might be required. Of the five homestays we stayed in in Kerala on this trip, Rosi and Nazir were our standout hosts, making us feel hugely welcome, comfortable and at home. They felt like friends by the end of the week. The rooms we stayed in were clean, comfortable and well-furnished. The garden was a lovely place to relax, the beach itself very beautiful and literally a minute's walk from the Beach House, with fairly clean (though not pristine) white sand, a fringe of uninterrupted palms and water gentle enough for the children to swim in safely. The backwaters behind the Beach House made for lovely early morning bird-watching boat trips in the Beach House's own trusty vessel, which guests are free to borrow whenever they want. It's worth noting that the village itself is very quiet, with no cafes or restaurants within walking distance, just a bakery and grocer's shop. We didn't consider this a disadvantage at all, quite the reverse, but if you're expecting a Goa-style tourist infrastructure, it might come as a bit of a surprise. Alongside the unspoiled beauty and peace of the location, the food at Rosi and Nazir's is one of the key attractions. Served around a communal table with much chatting and comparing of travellers notes, every dish was absolutely delicious, authentic Malabar cooking with lots of variety, even milder options for one rather unadventurous son - some of the very best food we had in India on this trip. Finally for anyone interested in the theyyem rituals indigenous to the Kannur area, our hosts here directed towards an extraordinary example which took place in the middle of one night in a nearby village: one of the most wonderful and invigorating experiences in many years of travelling to India. All in all, Kannur Beach House is a gem of a place, fantastic value for money in a peerless location and with delightful hosts: entirely worth a special trip north from Kochi and somewhere we wouldn't hesitate to visit again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor front rooms have beautiful views of the beach from the small veranda of each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Polly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We cannot thank Rosie and Nazir enough for our time at Kannur Beach House - from wild dolphins in the bay to birdsong on the river it was a truly magical break. The location is stunning and the food outstanding but what really made our stay were Rosie and Nazir themselves who made us feel welcome and relaxed from the moment we arrived and answered our ongoing barrage of questions - about everything from laundry to local customs - with patience, good humour and warmth. We are already planning our next trip as well as failing to replicate some of the delicious dishes we were fed.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kannur hotels
0.3 km away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#3 of 23 in Kannur
194 reviews
0.0 km away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
70 reviews
6.3 km away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#17 of 23 in Kannur
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#12 of 23 in Kannur
61 reviews
5.3 km away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
225 reviews
8.6 km away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kannur Beach House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kannur Beach House

Address: Beach house | Thottada Beach, P O Thottada, Kannur, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kannur
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kannur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kannur
#2 Family Hotel in Kannur
Price Range: ₹ 4,951 - ₹ 6,384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a homestay on the beach front in Kannur, Kerala, India. This charming place in a quiet and secluded area, very close to a pristine and mostly deserted Thottada beach is also situated by a small river. On a beach amongst lush green coconut groves and with a view of the sea, it offers the best in food, relaxation and comfort. With 4 double rooms and a triple room, the beach house has been every travelers delight. All the rooms offer a breath taking view of the beach and the sea. Meals are set and conducted at a communal dining area at fixed timings. There are no room service, TV or porters. Wifi is available. Activities include walking on the long stretch of golden beach, among thick coconut plantation through the village, basking in the sun and sand, bird watching, boating, angling, sightseeing or simply watching the village life go by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kannur Beach House Hotel Kannur
Kannur Beach Hotel
Kannur Beach Resort
Kannur Beach House Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing