We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Agoda.com
$57
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Trip.com
$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/22
Traveluro
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
251
73
5
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
251
73
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr sunil the owner his team calm place to relax home away from home memorable stay appam prawns family vacation stayed for nights great holiday couple of nights perfect place stone's throw beach resort delicious food fish fry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2019 via mobile

Malabar Beach Resort was too good ,had a very pleasant stay with beach near by , had a great food specially fish fry n prawns , staffs very very helpful, Special thanks to Mr. stephen.

Good Hospitality by the resort people and kind enough to serve us what we required.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank AnneP3208
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunilTheMalabarBeach, Owner at The Malabar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2019

Dear Ms. Anne,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Malabar Beach Resort and for taking time to write a review our resort on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that our team’s effort made your stay special and exceeded your expectations.
I have shared your gracious comments with the team, in special to Mr. Stefin, the Manager.

Once again thank you for taking time to write the review. The team and I hope that The Malabar Beach Resort will continue to be your preferred hotel always whenever you travel to Kannur.

Yours Sincerely,

SUNIL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018

My family, consisting of 7 adults and 2 kids, spent two nights at Malabar Beach Resort after Christmas. Here are what we liked and what we didn’t about our stay. The place is basically serviced villas/rooms, far cry from the 'resort' in the name.

What we liked:

The staff were welcoming and courteous. Shahnaz in particular was particularly helpful and served with a warm smile.
The proximity to the beach: The beach is literally a few steps away from the resort and the sound of the waves can be heard all day from the resort. It would have been even nicer without the hundreds of plastic bottles that littered it
(trash gets constantly washed up shore from the city).
The cleanliness of the rooms: The rooms , in particular, the bathroom were clean.
The resort had badminton racquets and a football which were given on request.
The food, barring a few items was well prepared.

What we did not like:
The food was extremely pricey, for what was on offer. The rates for fried fish and meals were akin to 5 star rates or more. We were charged Rs 200 for a single 2 mm thick slice of the commonly found king fish!. When we requested the option of having noodles for a change, we were surprised to find overcooked Maggi served to us, sans any embellishments and that too Rs 150 for a small bowl. Just make sure you ask the price of what you’re ordering first. In hindsight we should have done this, little did we expect the modest serviced villa to charge 5 star rates for food.
As we have a disabled person in our group, we decided to have all meals in house.

Our bathroom door handle was missing and the door did not have a lock. A bit tricky when little kids are around!

The television sets and the internet were not functional. The excuse given was 'possible lightning strike'.

On the whole, the only two good things were its location and the great staff. We felt a bit cheated at the end with the food pricing. I don't think we will visit again.

Date of stay: December 2018
2  Thank Alphadog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunilTheMalabarBeach, Owner at The Malabar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2019

Dear Dr. Vinod,
We would like to thank you for taking out time to share the experience of your stay with us on Trip Advisor. Our team at The Malabar Beach continuously strives to improve upon our existing standards and guest feedback helps us immensely to measure our progress in our quest of providing luxury hospitality.
We have made a note of your feedback and shall positively look into the same in an attempt to further refine our product and services. Kindly be assured that your concerns have been taken up with utmost seriousness with necessary action.

We hope that you give us another chance to serve you again.

Yours Sincerely,

SUNIL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

Awesome place for staying with family and friends. Staff are very friendly and honest. I had left my valuable stuff (Gold Chain) in the resort, the resort staff kept it pretty safe and ensured that I get it back. I am not recommending this because of this incident but overall a great place and enjoyed at that place with our biking group

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Sumukashyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunilTheMalabarBeach, Owner at The Malabar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2019

Dear Mr. Sumukashyap,
We sincerely appreciate your detailed feedback on the Trip Advisor.
Thank you very much for choosing The Malabar Beach Resort for your stay in Kannur. We are very happy to welcome the RD350 Vintage Bike Group of India to our Resort. We are delighted to hear that you and your team enjoyed the stay, food, and overall ambience, however, it was in fact very different experience for us too as there was more than 30 Vintage Bikes parked in the Resort and the bikers were in uniforms with logo etc.
I will share your feedback with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Once again we thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and look forward to personally welcome you back as and when you plan your next visit to Kannur.

Yours Sincerely,

SUNIL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

It was a ride with the Bangalore RD 350 and Biker of India clubs that destined at this beautiful and peacefully calm place away from the city chaos, right next to the beach with almost nothing in the surroundings that would disturb ur peace....
3 days ride with 2 night stay here was a peaceful bliss, property was very clean and well maintained by the staff...
Food was good too...
With miminim rooms around this resorts was for all ourselves with all 7 rooms booked for us...
Staff was supportive and understanding enough to provide us and assist us with almost everything asked for and extending their hours to serve us better...
A must visit if you are looking for some peacefully beautiful location to unwind ur weekend...

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Faddyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunilTheMalabarBeach, Owner at The Malabar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2019

Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate your detailed feedback on the Trip Advisor.
Thank you very much for choosing The Malabar Beach Resort for your stay in Kannur. We are very happy to welcome the RD350 Vintage Bike Group of India to our Resort. We are delighted to hear that you and your team enjoyed the stay, food, and overall ambience, however, it was in fact very different experience for us too as there was more than 30 Vintage Bikes parked in the Resort and the bikers were in uniforms with logo etc.
I will share your feedback with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Once again we thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and look forward to personally welcome you back as and when you plan your next visit to Kannur.

Yours Sincerely,

SUNIL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

We had visited this place as a group and booked the whole resort. The stay is simple and basic. Clean rooms and toilets. Good food, very accommodating owner Mr Sunil who made sure our stay was comfortable. Very courteous staff headed by Mr Stefi who made sure personal attention was given, And the best thing of all , you step out of the resort to a lovely secluded clean beach . Overall a fabulous stay.
Only drawback I would like to point out is there are no sign boards to the place and you need to rely on GPS as it is a bit deep inside from the main road.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Sid3141
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunilTheMalabarBeach, Owner at The Malabar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2019

Dear Mr. Sidu,
We sincerely appreciate your detailed feedback on the Trip Advisor.
Thank you very much for choosing The Malabar Beach Resort for your stay in Kannur. We are very happy to welcome the RD350 Vintage Bike Group of India to our Resort. We are delighted to hear that you and your team enjoyed the stay, food, and overall ambience.
I will share your feedback with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Once again we thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and look forward to personally welcome you back as and when you plan your next visit to Kannur.

Yours Sincerely,

SUNIL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews