We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel$20
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
14
7
4
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
7
4
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017

When we made a booking, we had booked one two bedroom apartment and one standard double bedroom. At least, that is what the booking confirmation said. When we arrived, they first showed us the apartment. The apartment was clean and spacious. Rooms and bathrooms neat. The rooms were air conditioned.

When we asked about the additional room, we were directed to another apartment, where we were asked to share an apartment with another family. We were not prepared for that. It should have been mentioned to us on the website at the time of booking that individual bedrooms are given in two bedroom apartments which would be shared with other guests.

Although Akash, the host, was gracious to understand our problem and gave us additional beds in the two bedroom apartment, I think it was rather unfair to us. A request to the owners, please don't make your guests share an apartment since they would like their own privacy.

Rooms apart, the location is nice. Roads were very narrow for cars, which made parking quite a hassle, but once the cars are parked, everything you need is at walking distance - the beach, supermarket, hotels. The kitchen was not well stocked with cutlery. There was barely any soap to wash dishes. The additional beds we requested were brought immediately, but one of the mattresses was torn and in a very bad condition. As mentioned by someone else, the linen wasn't very clean. One of the bedrooms didn't have a functioning bolt. We were rather doubtful of the quality of the water in the can which was put in the room for us.

Akash was very nice, and communicated with us very well. He tried his best to make our stay comfortable. The place is peaceful and quiet. Overall, the stay was decent. Not good for families perhaps, but when you're with a group of friends, those little problems barely matter.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apoorvabunglae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2017

A very peaceful accommodation we loved so much. The staffs were very co operative and helped us very much. The room was so spacious and comfortable. Bed was fine. Bathroom was clean. But restaurant was not available. The breeze from the sea was soothing. The facilities were to international standards. Well recommended.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerraghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

I had booked a 2 bedroom apartment here on my way back to Kochi from Kollur. Reached Kannur by 9PM and was shocked to see the approach road to this place. I drive a XUV and the road was just wide enough to accommodate a XUV. If you are not careful, then a scratch or two is guaranteed. If you are driving alone then all the more difficult because you need someone to navigate you on the other side to successfully get past this road. The place is very sleepy and I think it has only one staff. I saw only one person doing everything. He does check-in, payments, housekeeping, room service and what not. May be because of this apartment needs some good cleaning and maintenance. I paid Rs.5000.00 for one night and I except a more cleaner price for that money. After we checked in only, the caretaker realized that bathroom is not cleaned. He cleaned it immediately. Then there was no set top box with TV. He got it from somewhere and connected it. There is no restaurant here and so we ordered from outside through him. They charged Rs.80 as service charge for ordering and serving the food at room. There was no clean plates in the Kitchen. We had to clean the plates ourselves. Their description in booking sites mention about fully equipped kitchen. Kitchen only had a fridge and few plates. Is this what they mean by fully equipped??? There is no free Wi-Fi, no power backup. Even though description says air conditioned, AC is available only in bedrooms and living room does not have AC. TV is available only in living room and not in bedrooms. Bed linens were not clean as you would expect.Attitude of the staff is really good and he was very approachable and helpful. But overall this place needs some serious maintenance and cleaning. With out that rent of 5K is not worth it.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank gpriyesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2016

First thing first, the place is located in the city of Kannur but it is secluded from all the hassles of the City tucked in by lanes. Akash welcoming nature and he is always available for any help. We were given the room with shared kitchen and living area, when it was told to akash we want independent service apartment, he readily arranged for one. Kerala welcomed us with Open Arms, some of the Nicest People, they make you feel at Home. Now Kannur Down with an Awesome stay at Malgudi and discovering the undiscovered territories of KERALA. KERALA is AWESOME.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank AkramChetpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

There were some hairs and dust what looked like swept and kept on the corner. Toilets looked like being a used one, not as cleaned. Have told the attendant to clean the room when we went out for shopping, came back to find it in the same condition. Have to change 2 rooms at checkin due to above cleanliness and AC issues. The 3rd one we settled for is also not completely floor cleaned( as mentioned above hairs, dust). Positives are away from traffic, calm, home like in the midst of residential area. Have to drive through a very narrow Lane in the last leg (100 meters) and scratched my cars (sedan) side mirror against the wall in a turn in that narrow lane just before the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Senthil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews