We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
145
16
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
145
16
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brownie the owner exceptional hospitality local cuisine awesome food home stay dr suresh jacuzzi browny cook property beach shore
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2019

We had a splendid 3 night stay at Ocean Hues this mid January. It was a perfect way for us to end our Kerala vacation. The property is unbeatable in terms of its location and amenities. As many people have mentioned in their TA posts, this place is right on a white sand beach! The hospitality is great and we were well taken care of by Mr Reddy and his team. Mr Reddy is an amazing cook and he doesn’t fail to surprise you every meal with his creations. We also got a chance to say hello and thanks to the owner, Dr Kannan and his family for how well we were taken care of.

This is undoubtedly one of the best places that we have stayed in. We will be back for sure!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjeev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2019

Our 5 night stay didn't start off well, as GPS didn't work well to find the place (we drove through a football field), and the check-in felt unnecessarily bureaucratic (why did they need forms from each of us plus photos, as well as the usual photos of our passports?).
But our room was gorgeous, and had a wonderful beach view.
Features of the room that we particularly enjoyed were the huge "day bed" in a bay window (for reading or siesta), the large picture window providing a beautiful sea view, and a generously-sized and rather fancy bathroom.
There was a lovely terrace just in front of our room where we could sit to enjoy the sun and warm breeze, and where dinner was served when it wasn't served round by the kitchen. (We were lucky to have the place to ourselves, so either location was fine by us.)
It is a very short walk down to the beach through a nice garden (with tap to wash the sand off your feet on the way "home"). The swimming was great - good sand, warm water with some waves - sometimes a bit rough for some less confident swimmers, perhaps.
Our room rate included all meals and the food was marvellous. Every breakfast was different, and plenty of vegetarian dishes if you didn't want fish.
We went for a couple of small walks in the neighbourhood but spent a lot of time just hanging around the hotel as it was so lovely.
Only negative: sometimes the top gate (to the "street") or bottom gate (to the beach) was locked when we weren't expecting it. Oh yes, and only 6 clothes hangers in the cupboard!

Room tip: We had the ground floor room - it was great
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoctorFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 December 2018

We stayed at this homestay on our recent holiday in Kerala. First the location is fantastic literally right on the beach. Just walk though the gate and you are on the beach. The beach is completely unspoilt no development and local fishermen still use it to bring their catch ashore in the morning. Apart from the fishermen we had the beach to ourselves. The room we stayed in was upstairs and overlooked the beach. It was very clean and had been recently renovated with large marble bathroom jacuzzi bath and rainfall shower. Bedroom was large and comfortable with lounging area too. Lighting was LED and could be set to suit your mood, with more options that you could need. Mr Redi's food was superb. We ate Indian food breakfast, lunch and dinner and we had a number of different dishes every meal everything fresh and local. In short it was a great place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a serene private beach and a home next to it Ocean hues is the place. Amazing views, lovely Kerala cuisine and tons of leisure time. Lots of greenery around, lovely walks on the beach. Loved to spend time in the clean water. Missed the coconut water though. Each room is different there is one with a Jacuzzi as well. If you love natural settings go for it you will love the experience. The hospitality is top notch.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Rajdeepg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Ocean Hues,a perfect modernised, well maintained, beautiful beach home for quite,calm,peaceful,stressfree family holiday. Situated at the end of a narrow road, you are in for a pleasant exciting surprise as you take the steps down n enter the beach home premises as it is right on the beach giving you beautiful sea view, sea breeze everywhere you go around the beach home. The rooms are well maintained with all modern amenities. Deluxe n Luxury rooms are the best, even Standard n Superior rooms are quite comfortable without any hassles.
Coming to the food, Mr. Reddy, an awesome cook, with his simple delicious cooking with freshest sea catch will blow your mind away. Varieties he cooks n his food is jus so tasty that words cannot explain more as one has to eat to believe it. He takes care of other needs too during stay n very helpful in everyway.
They have a cutypie petdog Brownie at Ocean Hues. He is so adorable n he is like a small wonder roaming around n good company.
Overall we had a great awesome time at Ocean Hues n just can't wait to go back there. Thank you Dr. Suresh Kannan for everything n Thank you for having us at your Ocean Hues to experience the amazing place. We had a lovely time.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Abhinetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews