We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of true paradise.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Hues Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Hues Beach House
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A slice of true paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Last year during same time we visited Kannur but this time I chose Ocean Hues and I am proud on my decision to stay here. Let me assure you that this is the best place in Kannur. Awesome place & Awesome view . But what touched our heart was Super Awesome hospitality and cleanliness.

The two caretakers (one cook, one general helper) were always smiling, attentive, and accommodating. Really like all the non veg dishes Reddy prepared. Als The beach is pretty clean, you can just take long walks on the beach and bath. If you are looking to go to a place to completely unwind this is the place for you!


I really enjoyed my stay and relaxed myself a lot with my family. All in all we would thoroughly recommend Ocean Hues, and would definitely visit there again in future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bawahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Again, this year , July we were on a monsoon trip to Kerala for 2 days and thought of no other option but time and tested Ocean hues beach house. This is one place we have visited more than once of all the destinations we have covered in Kerala. Beauty of this house is that you feel the belongingness..it has the best location that we can think of...and wonderful at-our-service cook , serving delicious Keralite food! I recommend this place to all my friends and relative ...Its a great place to unwind and chillax....by the sea.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VenkateshP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

This is a very homey and private beach house with incredible views and excellent home-cooked meals. It was incredibly clean and the two caretakers (one cook, one general helper) were so welcoming, attentive, and accommodating. They catered to our specific dietary restrictions and preferences and were always friendly and willing to help. Our caveats for this place are three-fold. First, it is not an outstanding deal. The owner himself told us that his hotel is the highest priced on the stretch of beach on which it is located. And while there are certain perks to this place, there are also certain amenities lacking that one expects at this price point. This takes us to the second caveat, the bathroom situation. While very clean, our bathroom did not offer a hot shower. There was a hot water heater, but it did not work well enough to provide more than a trickle of hot water at a time. Not even enough to fill a bucket for a bucket bath without taking at least half an hour to fill the bucket. In order to receive decent water pressure, the water had to be 90% cold, which sort of defeated the purpose for us. Finally, our last caveat is that while this property affords ample privacy it is also near impossible to find unless you hire drivers through the hotel/beach house. Even in attempting to return to the property with two people who are from Kannur, it took over an hour to find again. It makes sightseeing or excursions away from the beach house relatively expensive and inconvenient. That said, if you are wanting to spend all of your time at the house, it is perfect for that.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JEL121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Stopped in for a spot of tea into this lovely oceanfront house. Was welcomed with not just tea but a spread of delectable goodies. The house is exquisite and immaculately kept. We had an unforgettable experience along the oceanfront and only wish that we could have stayed the night!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerala20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

If you want to get away from it all and have a beach to yourself this is paradise.
Food is excellent with fresh fish brought to the gate by local fishermen. Shells scatter the beach and you sleep to the sound of the waves breaking.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flymeLondn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kannur hotels
1.4 km away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#3 of 22 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 km away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 22 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
7.2 km away
Kaula Inn
Kaula Inn
#7 of 22 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#15 of 22 in Kannur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
8.0 km away
Kairali Heritage
Kairali Heritage
#13 of 22 in Kannur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
6.9 km away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#8 of 22 in Kannur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Hues Beach House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hues Beach House

Property: Ocean Hues Beach House
Address: Kizhunna Para | Kizhunna P.O., via Thottada, Kannur 670007, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kannur
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kannur
#4 Family Hotel in Kannur
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Hues Beach House is a beautiful seaside holiday rental, facing the Arabian sea, located in Kannur, a coastal town in North Kerala, in India & is perfect for a beach holiday. It is a modern, furnished, fully air conditioned, well maintained holiday home & has all the facilities for a comfortable stay, in a quiet, homely ambience, unlike commercialised resorts & hotels. It has 2 double bedrooms & a living room cum bedroom, all with a/c & attached bathroom & a sea view. We rent out individual rooms or the beach house as a whole. Meals are provided as part of the package & our menu includes a variety of dishes, including typical Kerala cuisine & fresh seafood delicacies, which will be cooked by our live-in cook. We cater to both vegetarians & non vegetarians. The tariff for an a/c double room, is inclusive of 3 meals for 2 people. We also have an internet connection with wifi. The beach is quiet, clean & uncrowded & ideal for a seaside getaway. You can take long walks along the beach, go swimming or just laze around the beach which is one of the best ways to relax & unwind from the tensions of everyday living. Ocean Hues Beach house has been accredited by the Kerala Tourism Department in the category of Serviced Villas.You can also take time to explore the rich culture of Kerala. Kannur is famous for its pristine beaches, Theyyam - its native performing art & Kalaripayattu - one of the oldest known martial art forms in the world & the handloom industry. You can also visit various other local tourist attractions. We arrange sightseeing tours, airport & railway station transfers & Ayurvedic massages at extra cost. The closest international airport is the Calicut (Kozhikode) Airport, which is about 110 Kms. from Ocean Hues. Ideal for people looking to get away from the hustle & bustle of city life to spend some time to rejuvenate their mind, body & soul amidst the sun, sea & sand. The combination of the homely ambience, surrounded by the swaying coconut trees, and the soothing sound of the waves makes it an idyllic seaside holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Hues Beach House Kannur, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing