We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location, great food, Chera really rocks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chera Rock Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chera Rock Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location, great food, Chera really rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Chera Rocks Beach House at Kannur.It had Excellent hospitality, faboulous location and great food. We stayed at Chera rocks for 2 nights and wished it could have been longer . The manager Nived needs special mention as he was a great person to talk to and always coming and asking for anything we need.Everything was all we had hoped for, beautiful cottage, tasteful decor, great staff and delicious food served fresh everyday.Our room was perfect - clean with very comfortable beds and furniture and overlooked the lovely sea. Staff were friendly, attentive and very helpful,particularly Mohammad who took care for us from the very first day. I'm happy to recommend this cottage to anyone keen on having an unhurried and relaxing stay in seaside.I also look forward to visit this place again in the nearby future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bipasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    50
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
75
104
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

|This was our third trip to Chera Rock in as many years and i'm pleased to report things remain the same. I feel it is important to point out that Chera Rock is a homestay that happens to have the most amazing location on a beautiful beach. It is NOT a resort, so don't go expecting resort style service. Rooms and Bathrooms are cleaned everyday and beds changed every three to four days. But if you want to be located directly on a beautiful beach, have amazing home cooked keralan food with friendly service from all the staff especially Ali, and go to sleep listening to the sound of the waves this is the place for you. It is located just outside Kannur, a still untouched part of Kerala, there is not a lot to do locally (except go to a Theyyam - Nivedh can organise this for you, or visit a Weavers), but it is the perfect place to flop and drop and catch up on all those books you've meant to read before or after a tour of other parts of India. The closest airport is Calicut - three hours drive away. Nivedh is trying to run the place on eco principals - all water is filtered to prevent the over use of plastic bottles, all the food is sourced locally with the local fisherman bringing their catch in literally on your doorstep!!! Women from the local village run the kitchen and fisherman and locals are allowed a right of way through the property. There are also plans for food waste to be converted into Bio Gas. A very smalll mosque is located next to the property-due to the fact the rocks in front of the property (after which the property is named) have a religious significance- with the call to pray waking you with a start on the first day, but after this you find that you normally sleep through it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmooLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The hotel is set on a nice beach, but everything else about this place was a real disaster. The food was without doubt the worst we had in two weeks in Kerala. Our last night's dinner here consisted of bread, rice, and what can only be described as potato gruel. Even the fish was prepared in a manner that drained any flavor out of it. Also the service was abysmal -- previous reviews had mentioned Muhammad's helpful service -- but he was not there when we stayed, a new manager may have replaced him. Anything you needed (change of sheets, train schedule, replacing burned-out light) required several reminders to staff. Also, the yoga promised on the web site (and confirmed via email) was not available -- apparently, it's only available when you stay more then 6 days. Also, there's a mosque adjacent to the property that has an early morning (5.30 am?) prayer call, so if you're a light sleeper, definitely bring ear plugs.

It's a real shame, because the location is nice, but management does not seem to have any interest in providing good service to its guests. Their sensibility seems to be "here's the beach, enjoy", but that's just not enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is a trully gem that shouldnt be discovered for the massive Tourism.
Nivedh and all the staff are wonderful people always willing to help and make you feel at home. The food is also delicious!!! All the rooms are facing the ocean and you can see everyday amazing sunsets from your terrace. The beach is really calm and a great place to meet people from the villages around. People from Kerala are the sweetest I've ever met.
Thank you nivedh for everything!! I might come back very soon!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manufernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This review is long overdue. I have been planning to write about this, not sure why I have not done so for such a long time, as this is one of the place that I have enjoyed the most. It is a small place just in front of the beach. There are 2 room a little above and 3 rooms bang in front of the beach. The rooms front of the beach was closed when we were there as it was off season. Right from the time we reached Kannur, the owner was in constant touch with us on how to get there and was very helpful. The road leading to this place is small, and you have to walk a bit to get there, but it is worth every minute of it as it opens up to this beautiful beach between the coconut trees. We were greeted by Mr. Rajan, the caretaker, a very good and helpful individual. The room was small but neat and clean, and it was perfect. You have a small lawn in front of the room where you could sit and enjoy the view and also you could place the dining table there and enjoy the food and view. We asked local food to be cooked and the food was prepared excellently. Mr. Rajan would cook anything you would ask, and it was done very well. We enjoyed all the food that was served to us. He also cooks excellent chicken and mutton dish. We stayed 3 days there and it was worth every moment spent there. Please go and visit this place. You can take an auto to the town and enjoy the fort and other places around and the owner is always there to guide you and also the caretaker know and will guide you happily and arrange taxi or auto to go around. I will surely go back to this place, just too good not to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, take whichever you get, nothing wrong with any of the room. Although we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nardev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kannur
0.0 km away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj Bekal
0.0 km away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#1 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.0 km away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.0 km away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chera Rock Beach House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chera Rock Beach House

Property: Chera Rock Beach House
Address: Opposite Chera Kalle, Kizhunna Para Bus Stop | Thottada, Kannur 670007, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Kannur
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,881 - ₹ 6,678
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chera rocks, the real lonely planet, a complete contrast from busy city life, has no sounds of modern world. I am sure, before you leave the place you will learn to identify different types of natures sounds and also to enjoy the healing effects of these sounds. You will be amazed to find a empty seashore with no sales person or masseur.....You and your gorgeous sea alone! You may be surprised to see the easy accessibility to road, railway and international airports while Chera Rocks remains as a lonely planet.....That's the way God has created it....Come and celebrate your holidays and make it unforgettable.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chera Rock Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chera Rock Beach House Hotel Kannur
Chera Rock Beach House Kannur, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing