We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place to stay in kannur”
Review of Kairali Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kairali Heritage
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“the best place to stay in kannur”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

this resort is the best that kannur has to offer.. it is on the banks of a beautiful lake.. has a good swimming pool.. the rooms on the banks of the lake make a lovely viewing gallery at sun rise and sun set.. it has a very gud ayurvedic massage center which is also very reasonably priced. i did the full body massage and it was an amazing experience.. the food is decent.. its not one of those exotic resorts but it is reasonable and light on the pocket.. its also not very conveniently located unless you have your own transport with you or hire the resort's private taxi. getting public transport from there is a nightmare.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank satyan_israni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    26
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
30
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dehradun
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

The resort was huge, but needed better maintenance. It is at a considerable distance from other attractions in the town.

The room was spacious, but had numerous problems with the AC, hot water in bathroom etc. The sofa cushions in the room were stained and dirty.

The resort offers a river cruise in its houseboat, an enjoyable experience. However, it is rather exorbitantly priced.

The restaurant is average, many dishes are not available. The staff is unable to communicate effectively in English. Rather highly priced too.

The swimming pool is well located and maintained. However, the hotel staff made no attempt to stop guests without proper swimming costumes from entering the pool. A sad experience!

The housekeeping staff was efficient.The resort was huge, but needed better maintenance. It is at a considerable distance from other attractions in the town.

The room was spacious, but had numerous problems with the AC, hot water in bathroom etc. The sofa cushions in the room were stained and dirty.

The resort offers a river cruise in its houseboat, an enjoyable experience. However, it is rather exorbitantly priced.

The restaurant is average, many dishes are not available. The staff is unable to communicate effectively in English. Rather highly priced too.

The swimming pool is well located and maintained. However, the hotel staff made no attempt to stop guests without proper swimming costumes from entering the pool. A sad experience!

The housekeeping staff was efficient.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ganeshnag75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kannur hotels

Chennai, India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We stayed In Kairali Heritage in Kannur for 2 days.
Pros:
1. Great arrangements and facilities
2. Option of houseboat stay and cruise in river Valapattanam
3. Staff courtesy
Cons:
1. Quality and taste of food in the restaurant could have been better

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ArindamDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We took a very short holiday of 2 nights and 3 days at Kairali in Feb 2006.

We travelled from Bangalore to Kannur (formerly Cannanore) by a state transport bus. The ride was terrible through the western ghats, with the road virtually non-existant. Once we got into Kerala, the roads were better.

From Kannur bus stand, we got an auto to drop us to Kairali. He charged us only Rs.50/- - quite reasonable given the distance. We got an early check-in, and had a reasonable breakfast at the restaurant.

Room service was non-existant then. All guests were asked to have all their meals at the restaurant. We were able to get the restaurant to offer us items outside the menu for our kids - flexibility on their part was appreciable. The food is OK. We were not looking for high quality from this resort. The service could definitely improve.

The pool was small & clean. My kids got into the kids pool as soon as possible. That is where they wanted to be, but we pulled them out so that we could go out. They were back in it whenever possible.

The resort has a small electric cara - REVA - that you can ask for to transport you from the room to the reception/restaurant.

We stayed in a studio - it is just one room and a bathroom with high roof. Has AC and fan. An OK bed. Extra beds can be ordered. Sound proofing could be better.

A water scooter ride for 2 adults was built into the package, and it was enjoyable ride. It is amazing to see people stand in what seem to be a river, and pulling sand out on to boats. It seems to be heavily silted.

The sunset houseboat ride was quite expensive, but I did get some wonderful sunset shots. The resort seems to own the boat, and are milking it.

The trip to the drive-in beach was worth it. Wonderful sunset views. Also to the St. Angelo fort, a snake park, and a famous temple. Boat rides along the river are available at the temple.

We had a normal check-out, and went to Kannur with a car to do some local shopping - check out the bannana chips (crisps) fried in coconut oil - a Kerala speciality. We tried to check out alternate ways of reaching Bangalore as we were dreading the bus ride back. Railways are connected to Bangalore - with a once a week train direct. Taking multiple trains is also an option. On the way back, the bus driver took a break in a forest area, and with no lights, we got to see a great sky - full of stars. Worth the bad bus trip!

  • Liked — Clean pool
  • Disliked — Inadequate service
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikkalakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kannur hotels
6.6 km away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#4 of 23 in Kannur
186 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Rainbow Suites
Hotel Rainbow Suites
#11 of 23 in Kannur
40 reviews
1703.5 km away
Hotel Sky Pearl
Hotel Sky Pearl
#18 of 23 in Kannur
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
221 reviews
3.0 km away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#3 of 23 in Kannur
289 reviews
1.6 km away
Aroma Ayur Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kairali Heritage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kairali Heritage

Property: Kairali Heritage
Address: Kattampally | Kannur Kerala, Kannur 670603, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,179 - ₹ 14,678
Hotel Class:3 star — Kairali Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kairali Heritage Resort is set along the banks of the Kattampally River in Kannur, India. It is 8 km from the city centre. The nearest airport, which is in Calicut, is 115 km away. Bask in solitude as you settle down in any of the rooms at Kairali Heritage Resort. Each accommodation has a private toilet and bath with shower, dining area, and balcony/ deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, OYO Rooms, MakeMyTrip and Agoda so you can book your Kairali Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kairali Heritage Kannur, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing