We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEGLIGENT ATTITUDE”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kairali Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kairali Heritage
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Kannur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NEGLIGENT ATTITUDE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Somebody rightly said.. its just a 3-star cheating at kannur. Though the rooms are pretty decent. That was the only plus point. The food was horrible and there was no element of customer service. There was a so-called food fest going on with local dishes like upma which was again pathetic. The sports room smelled like as if it wasnt opened since ages.
I had payed the advance amount for the room and when we were checking-out the next day they gave me the bill from which they had not deducted the advance amount which i had already paid the previous day. I gave them my debit card to deduct the balance amount but they deducted the full amount including the already paid advace creating lot of confusion. Then the entire transaction was cancelled and a slip of VOID SALE was given to me. They told that the deducted amount will be reversed. But even after 10 days it wasnt reversed. Upon calling them they told that it might take 1 week to 1 month for it to get reversed. It was nearly 10,000rs so I lodged a complaint with HDFC bank which had deducted the amount. The bank people told that we will have to lodge a complaint with ICICI (my debit card bank) and then ICICI people will send a notification to HDFC and then the amount would be reversed. Because of these idiotic people I am made to run around so much. AVOID THIS RESORT AT ANY COST.

Room Tip: "suites are better for a group"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viju13hegde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    25
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
29
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

After being tortured by the humid climate of mumbai, for last several months, on May 27th, we 2 families,a group of 7 left for Kairali Heritage resort, kattampalli, Kannur,. It was difficult to believe, how the resort management Mr. Levraj, Mr. Hari, and all time smiling Jayan, maintained a lush green, resort of 24 rooms, bank on the river. A quiet place, with friendly people trying to meet your requirements, a resort initially recomended by RCI, and later warned us not to visit. .We calculated that if it rains on these days, it will be a great place, to visit. Welcome drink of pineapplejuice added lots of Mn to the body followed by coconut water, was a great treat for all of us.
Rain was delayed or our calculations were wrong, but we enjoyed its large swimming pool, kerala cuisine both veg and sea food, and the drive in beach . I hired a bicycle, and the children were booing but was useful to move around the resort, esp when the phones were busy or you required ice for your night shots. Fishing is an experience, esp to catch karimeen( hope I spelled correctly).
The house boat, not very large, was a great place in the quiet cloudy afternoon.
The food was too good in the resort both the veg and the non veg. They served us shear fish fry, prawn tawa fry prawn curry, chicken 65, chinese was also just fantastic ( though we were a bit worried) . The chef Siju was too good. Hats off to him. This is a must visit place.
The resort has staffing problem. This can be resolved with a smile. We knew, as were warned by RCI, so we tried to see where to adjust. Walking down for food was ok with us.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moitraak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannur, India
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

We had spent a day at the hotel .The facilities were good.But the food as well as serving were like a countryside bar. We were promised to get the breakfast at 8'0 clock. we have waited till 9'0 clock but nobody came. At last the cheff himself came &told us that if you are ready to wait for another one hour more we would think of making the breakfast.the kids were too hungry &we had to make another arrangements for food from kannur town which is 8km away from the resort.The three stars were burnt into white dwarfs as we left there.
JOY &FAMILY

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cijomcjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kannur hotels

England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

Reception was good, room clean but no king sized beds, pool was grubby with no loungers or parasols.
Bar was dark and miserable and food selection was very poor in the cafe
Staff in the restaurant spoke only limited English and there was little choice
Gardens were very well tended and security staff helpful
Cruise on the boat was pleasant but extremely overpriced

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandAnders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

this resort is the best that kannur has to offer.. it is on the banks of a beautiful lake.. has a good swimming pool.. the rooms on the banks of the lake make a lovely viewing gallery at sun rise and sun set.. it has a very gud ayurvedic massage center which is also very reasonably priced. i did the full body massage and it was an amazing experience.. the food is decent.. its not one of those exotic resorts but it is reasonable and light on the pocket.. its also not very conveniently located unless you have your own transport with you or hire the resort's private taxi. getting public transport from there is a nightmare.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank satyan_israni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kannur hotels
2.0 km away
Malgudi Holidays
Malgudi Holidays
#16 of 23 in Kannur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
6.6 km away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#2 of 23 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 km away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Malabar Residency
Malabar Residency
#13 of 23 in Kannur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1703.5 km away
Hotel Sky Pearl
Hotel Sky Pearl
#15 of 23 in Kannur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Rainbow Suites
Hotel Rainbow Suites
#12 of 23 in Kannur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kairali Heritage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kairali Heritage

Property: Kairali Heritage
Address: Kattampally | Kannur Kerala, Kannur 670603, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Kannur
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,990 - ₹ 6,678
Hotel Class:3 star — Kairali Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kairali Heritage Resort is set along the banks of the Kattampally River in Kannur, India. It is 8 km from the city centre. The nearest airport, which is in Calicut, is 115 km away. Bask in solitude as you settle down in any of the rooms at Kairali Heritage Resort. Each accommodation has a private toilet and bath with shower, dining area, and balcony/ deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, OYO Rooms, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Kairali Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kairali Heritage Kannur, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing