We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for number of weeks, best hotel in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Rocas Playa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castro Urdiales
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Stayed here for number of weeks, best hotel in the area”
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

I have been working in a town 10 mins down the road from this hotel and it was a pleasant stay for my needs. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cargo1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    173
    35
    5
    5
See reviews for
75
209
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My husband and myself spent 2 nights in this cosy hotel close to the beach in Castro Urdiales. We had room 407 with great views over the sea and the beach. The room was big, with a leaving room and a big bathroom (with a bath jacuzzi close to the window)
The common areas are nicely decorated and the people staff are really nice and willing to help.
There's also a parking facilities.
The breakfast was with a variety of pastries, tortilla de patata, sandwiches, bread, croissants (the second day they were not fresh), yogurts and fresh orange juice.
Beach towels were available at reception.
The city center is around 5 mns walk from the hotel. There're lots of restaurants and bars where you can go out for pinchos in town. I would like to recommend as a good restaurant La Arboleda. The best tapas bar is called U2 (at least the locals told us about it).
If we come back to Castro Urdiales,we will stay at Las Rocas hotel again. This is the best hotel in town and relation quality price is perfect.

Room Tip: superior room with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a lovely old fashioned beach (not quite front, a 90 seconds walk) hotel, our room 404 was huge, big sitting area, huge bed, lovely bathroom (and an iron - v useful!) bright, clean with lovely beach views. 8 euro locked car park preferable to street parking. We only had breakfast which was excellent, DIY but with proper juice machine and good choice of teas as well as excellent coffee (and they brought me a half-size portion of my husbands ham and eggs!). We trawled round during the afternoon along the lovely (very clean) beach, good swimming areas looking at restaurants and had good late lunch. In the evening we went walk-about with half the population which was relaxed and fun and went on a Tapas trawl which was excellent (not least dodgy) you just look and decide yea or nay but mostly they were "yea"! Back at the hotel we had 2 last glasses of rosado. The only point for mentioning this is that at check out I commented that it was not on our account -they just smiled, said thank you and gave it to us ! we will go back but for several days next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorks
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed just 1night(pity) in June 2012 fabulous room half mile from centre didn,t eat there went into town and ate dodgy tapas. Very attentive staff who spoke good English parking on street 5euros24hrs loads of eating places near

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank franny59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro Urdiales
5.9 km away
Hotel El Haya
Hotel El Haya
#3 of 3 in Castro Urdiales
20 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel  La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 3 in Castro Urdiales
21 reviews
16.7 km away
Petit Palace Tamarises
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
URH Palacio de Oriol Hotel
11.0 km away
Hotel Kaia
Hotel Kaia
#1 of 1 in Zierbena
18 reviews
28.5 km away
Maritimo Ris Hotel & Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Rocas Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rocas Playa Hotel

Property: Las Rocas Playa Hotel
Address: Calle Flaviobriga 1 | Paseo De La Playa, 39700, Castro Urdiales, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Castro Urdiales
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castro Urdiales
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,125 - ₹ 11,928
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Rocas Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Rocas Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing