We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,090)
Filter reviews
1,091 results
Traveller rating
488
297
133
93
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
297
133
93
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room long driveway entrance hall the ground floor brasserie restaurant groupon deal evening meal wedding planner overnight stay family room haggis beautiful grounds lovely room poster bed stayed here for one night a lovely stay birthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,091 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed with our friends- staff went above and beyond their service was outstanding- we couldn’t of asked for more - especially Timea with her special little touches she made the stay very special as our friends had 30th wedding Anniversary- we loved it - Thanks to all the staff

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JackieG144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P, Front Office Manager at Melville Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Jackie G,

Thank you for your kind feedback.We hope you had a great stay with us and it was very special for your friends Wedding Anniversary,

Kindest regards,
The Melville Castle Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

It's a castle, so it's as handsome as you would hope. A bit hard to find in Google maps, but worth it. Beautiful grounds, very peaceful, our group spent all afternoon sitting our in the back were we easily accessed the bar and they also brought out food that we ordered. A couple of ponys graze the field behind a tall fountain.

Some of the rooms are large, several quite small, and the small ones :/ the second floor have nice looking bathrooms that aren't terribly functional (No headroom in the shower). Also no elevator for those couple of rooms, but they will have someone assist with luggage.

All staff was wonderful. The gentleman running the desk and bar at night we consider a friend whom we will miss. Morning staff at breakfast gave us wonderful tips for seeing the Roslyn Chapel and the castle ruins next to it.

The food is also exceptional. Our dinner was perfect. I had a Scottish Lamb Lion stuffed with black pudding that I highly recommend. We also had wonderful fish and chips and Risotto.

This was a gorgeous, relaxing stop during our travels that we will talk about and recommend for years.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank lvnourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P, Front Office Manager at Melville Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear lvnourlife,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay with us.

Its great to hear you got to enjoy the Scottish summer weather and also had the chance to sit outside.The weather is known for being quite temperamental in Scotland therefore the outdoor furniture isnt used as much as it should be!

Out of the 33 bedrooms we do have 2 bedrooms nestled away in a second floor turret but we always offer to assist with luggage as you kindly pointed out as it can be quite a trek.

Our Chef and his team will be over the moon to hear you enjoyed your dinner in our Brasserie, we have just launched a new menu so that is a great excuse to come back!

Kindest regards,
The Melville Castle Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The property was very quiet and the landscape well manicured...The castle is tucked away down a long drive - very serene! Nice touch to see chickens and horses in the back along with a beautiful fountain we could hear from our room. Our standard room was nicely decorated and very comfortable and spacious with all the amentities needed. The area felt very safe that we left our window open all night and enjoyed the fresh country air. Felt like we were far away from the city- not just 7 miles. The breakfast area was very comfortable and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Many items to choose from at the breakfast bar.
Only one thing was annoying and that was the short shower curtain. Could have been longer to fit over bathtub with magnets so it did not blow and try to stick to you while showering-- but that was only issue

Room Tip: Get a room with view to backside of castle- nice views and very quiet
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank MsVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P, Front Office Manager at Melville Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear MsVic,

Thank you very much for leaving a review following your stay with us. Its great to hear you enjoyed your surroundings and our extended family of horses and chickens!
We are very sorry to hear about the shower curtain being the wrong size, a note has been made for housekeeping to arrange having it replaced asap.

We hope you had a fantastic holiday.

Kindest regards,
The Melville Castle Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

My husband and I, along with our daughter and son-in-law stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. What a delightful treat it was to stay in a castle! And one with such a storied and eventful history. Wonderful ambiance and old-world charm still occupies the rooms. Ours was beautifully decorated, with a wonderful bath and great hot water--thank you! We enjoyed a delicious breakfast buffet with numerous choices. Plus, we ambled around the grounds, everything so quiet and peaceful, and discovered there was once an old carriage road that allowed guests to arrive at the castle in past centuries. This road has long ago been abandoned, but dreaming of those long ago events gave us a world to talk about and made us smile. Yes, we would love to return! Thank you for the wonderful memories!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P, Front Office Manager at Melville Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Good Afternoon Ruth G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a wonderfully detailed review following your family stay with us. Its lovely to hear you admired the decor - We do like to stick to the original theme of the castle and have it as authentic as possible! Its a great escape but also not too secluded being only 20 minutes away from the city centre. Its great you had the opportunity to walk and explore the grounds while the sun was out. We really hope you come back to visit us to continue making memories!

Kindest regards,
The Melville Castle Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Melville Castle is lovely from the outside and had beautiful grounds, however, the room was extremely disappointing. I stayed for two nights and paid £170 per night for a superior room. My room was dated and had stains on the walls and carpet. The bath that was in the bedroom was mouldy and felt generally unclean. In comparison to my friends superior room that was twice the size, I felt extremely disappointed considering the cost.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jade_117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, General Manager at Melville Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Jade_117,

I am very surprised and sorry to read you review of this room, as we have recently painted the room and replaced the bath. I have been to the room and not seen any sign of the mould you mentioned.

I would however agree that the carpet is in need of replacing and had already added this to the upgrade list of our bedrooms.

If you could contact me directly for your next booking, I would be happy to ensure you get one of our newly refurbished bedrooms.

In the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours sincerely,

James and the Melville Castle team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews