We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Called for lunch.”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Reviewed 27 April 2012

we called for lunch it was very nice both the food and service was very good.We had a beer which was good but pricey! We will call again when in the area.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

A huge thank you for your review. It is wonderful that you found The Boat Hotel 2 AA Rosette Bistro a good experience, and I am especially pleased that you found our team to be so friendly and accommodating, as I firmly believe this is what makes The Boat Hotel such a special hotel.

I do hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Kind regards,

Jonathan McConnachie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,137 - 1,141 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

We have just spent another fantastic break in the Boat hotel and were delighted how easy it was to take our well behaved, friendly spaniel. When we arrived we were given a bag of treats for him and a notice for our door to indicate when the dog was in the room. It read 'Paws Please', dog is in the room!!
Once again the food was out of this world. We sampled the usual Speyside delights of succulent salmon,Highland Beef and desserts to die for.
We had a couple of minor criticisms. I was disappointed not to have any seasonal fruit at breakfast. I love to be able to have grapefruit segments, prunes,and other fruits as a starter instead of cereal at breakfast.
Secondly we were a bit disappointed that the Bistro offered 2 menus. The Table d'hote and the A La Carte...out of which we were allocated £20. We felt a little cheated in a way as most of the really special dishes were either expensive or had hefty supplements. We found ourselves choosing to keep within our budget as we like to know how much our break is going to cost

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owenEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Thank you very much for your review. I sincerely appreciate your praise of the welcome fro yourself and your four legged friend that we have here at The Boat Hotel.

I would like to clarify that guests who are booked on a Dinner Bed and Breakfast package are free to use their £20 food credit per person in either our daily Market Menu (table d'hote - this allows you to dine for £20 for 3 courses) or our main Bistro Menu or alternatively room service within your budget dependent on dishes chosen.

Please also note that your comments regarding the breakfast experience have been taken on board to help us enhance the quality delivered.

Kind regards,

Jonathan McConnachie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My family and I stayed for two nights at The Boat Hotel and I have to say , it's one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. All staff made us feel very welcome and had a genuine interest in ensuring we had an amazing stay. The food and wine were outstanding, both our children decided it was the best fish and chips they had ever tasted, they also loved the hot milk and cookies brought to the room just before bed time (a beautiful touch) and keep asking when we will be returning, which I hope will be very soon. The manager Zolt and his staff should be proud of their wonderful service and beautiful hotel. Thanks again.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Garden View Rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Many thanks for your lovely contribution. I must agree that our privileged location overlooking The Cairngorm mountains is truly special indeed, and we are incredibly fortunate to hold such a beautiful spot.
Your praise of the welcoming, helpful nature of our team, the quality of our bedrooms, and of the food offering in our award wining 2 AA Rosette Bistro, we do strive to deliver seamless, perfect service.
We do hope that you return to visit us again, and enjoy the stunning setting and great hotel we have on future occasions,

Kind Regards,

Jonathan McConnachie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Arrived at the Hotel we were welcomed by a lovely, young Hungarian receptionist, who checked us in. She was very helpful and polite, always smiling - she recommended walking trails as we had our dog with and even explained the name of the village. She was great, but not only her, the staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was basic but comfortable and spotless. The best bit - the bed was amazing - best night's sleep I have had in ages.
Will be going back, I can not fault this hotel - really worth every penny, stayed in many higher rated hotels that were no where as professional. Real highland hospitality at is best - thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for your kind review of The Boat Hotel, l'm delighted that you chose to visit and explore all that the hotel has to offer its guests. Whether you're arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time or returning for your second or third visit of the year, the welcome upon arrival at the hotel is something that we hope will set the mood for the entire stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Boat Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Jonathan McConnachie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we had an outstanding experience.
Service and attentiveness was first class.
We stayed for 2 nights.
We are a family with 4 young kids and the menu catered as much for them (in a positively healthy way) as it did for Mum & Dad who ate off one of their various menu selections. The clean plates all round was testiment to the quality of food.
A great selection of wines and local beer helped wash it down for the adults while a wide selection of single malts (including the fantastic Benromach that the Bar staff introduced Dad too) helped finish the evening.
The Room was terrific and again they excelled themselves by accommodating us all. When we met the house keeping staff they were charming and everything was done with a smile and a friendly hello and nothing was too much trouble.
All in all good value, good service and most enjoyed by everyone from 4 to ....well much older!
We will definately be going back without a second thought.
Outwith the hotel there is a lot to do for Children with Landmark at Carrbridge and the Highland Folk Museum at Newtonmore a huge hit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

The Boat Hotel prides itself on being many different things. For some guests, The Boat Hotel is a rural retreat from work or other commitments and a destination for rest and relaxation. For other guests, it’s a place to bring family, friends, children and dogs in search of time together.

It is excellent to read you that felt that The Boat Hotel welcome extended to every member of your party, including the youngest members of the group!

Your review highlights two of the most important elements of The Boat Hotel experience - the emphasis that nothing is too much trouble and that each person who walks through the main entrance is unique with individual tastes.

I am delighted to read that you are full of praise and we hope that you will find another occasion to return soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan McConnachie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
8.8 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
8.1 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
5.3 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
585 reviews
8.3 km away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
8.3 km away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range: ₹ 2,472 - ₹ 13,598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing