We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than perfect”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“more than perfect”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Arrived at the Hotel we were welcomed by a lovely, young Hungarian receptionist, who checked us in. She was very helpful and polite, always smiling - she recommended walking trails as we had our dog with and even explained the name of the village. She was great, but not only her, the staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was basic but comfortable and spotless. The best bit - the bed was amazing - best night's sleep I have had in ages.
Will be going back, I can not fault this hotel - really worth every penny, stayed in many higher rated hotels that were no where as professional. Real highland hospitality at is best - thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review of The Boat Hotel, l'm delighted that you chose to visit and explore all that the hotel has to offer its guests. Whether you're arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time or returning for your second or third visit of the year, the welcome upon arrival at the hotel is something that we hope will set the mood for the entire stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Boat Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    419
    226
    136
    66
See reviews for
185
786
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we had an outstanding experience.
Service and attentiveness was first class.
We stayed for 2 nights.
We are a family with 4 young kids and the menu catered as much for them (in a positively healthy way) as it did for Mum & Dad who ate off one of their various menu selections. The clean plates all round was testiment to the quality of food.
A great selection of wines and local beer helped wash it down for the adults while a wide selection of single malts (including the fantastic Benromach that the Bar staff introduced Dad too) helped finish the evening.
The Room was terrific and again they excelled themselves by accommodating us all. When we met the house keeping staff they were charming and everything was done with a smile and a friendly hello and nothing was too much trouble.
All in all good value, good service and most enjoyed by everyone from 4 to ....well much older!
We will definately be going back without a second thought.
Outwith the hotel there is a lot to do for Children with Landmark at Carrbridge and the Highland Folk Museum at Newtonmore a huge hit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
The Boat Hotel prides itself on being many different things. For some guests, The Boat Hotel is a rural retreat from work or other commitments and a destination for rest and relaxation. For other guests, it’s a place to bring family, friends, children and dogs in search of time together.

It is excellent to read you that felt that The Boat Hotel welcome extended to every member of your party, including the youngest members of the group!

Your review highlights two of the most important elements of The Boat Hotel experience - the emphasis that nothing is too much trouble and that each person who walks through the main entrance is unique with individual tastes.

I am delighted to read that you are full of praise and we hope that you will find another occasion to return soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Now this place stamps your dance card. From the second you step through the door, you get that feeling that everything will be taken care of and they will be fulfilling your expectations and desires. The place has a quality feel of an age past when doors were opened and everyone said please and thank you. You feel a sense of history here and a quality of service. The rooms have sumptuous beds, the towels are displayed in the shape of swans, you sink into the pillows for a lovely nights sleep. But before that well earned sleep... the meal. It was superb, beautifully prepared, presented and cooked, just the right amount and served with that extra amount of attention to detail. From the table to the settee in front of the roaring fire fora night cap of Malt and the evening is complete.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobalobajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Guest,

The Boat Hotel prides itself on being many different things. For some guests, The Boat Hotel is a rural retreat from work or other commitments and a destination for rest and relaxation. For other guests, it’s a place to bring family, friends, children and dogs in search of time together.

It is excellent to read you that felt that The Boat Hotel welcome and service hit the spot

Your review highlights two of the most important elements of The Boat Hotel experience - the emphasis that nothing is too much trouble and that each person who walks through the main entrance is unique with individual tastes.

I am delighted to read that you are full of praise for The Boat Hotel and we hope that you will find another occasion to return soon.

Kind regards

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We booked a four poster junior suite to discover no four poster bed in the room!!
On checking the description the website does say four poster or king bed, however the room description in BOLD is very misleading.
The room was clean and very spacious, it had a nice outlook.
There were some maintenance issues which include a tap that did a 360 degree turn,
The power shower was intermittent.
TV reception not great.
Overall, we had a pleasant stay but would not say that it was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thanks for your review following your stay with us. I am somewhat embarrassed about the room type heading description on our site as we have 2 x Four Poster Junior Suites and 1 x Deluxe King Junior Suite ( the one allocated to you on your stay) I can now assure you that the issues that you highlighted have been dealt with as well as ensuring more clarity on the brand booking site with the additon of the 'Deluxe King Junior Suite' on the booking engine. Thankyou for bringing it to our attention and I would ask that if you plan to stay in the area again that you make contact with myself as I would welcome the chance to personally ensure you are looked after.

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over the Easter weekend and got a great deal on the room rate - well worth the money we paid for it through 5pm.
It is a pretty location, easy to get to and only around 10 minutes to Aviemore.
Positives = friendly & helpful staff, clean, good food at a reasonable price, good sized room (we booked an Estate room), free car parking and a lovely glass of sauvignon blanc can be had at the bar!
The main positive personally for me is that i am coeliac and need gluten free food. The staff and the chef were very accomodating and everything was made for me with no gluten which was fabulous. The special sauce made for the chicken dish was divine - thank you!

negatives = there are not many.... the beds were very hard and the pillows too soft so, for us, made for quite an uncomfortable nights sleep. But that is it!

Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetotravelGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you kindly for your positive review and we would be delighted to have you return. We note your point on the rooms pillows and these have since been changed, however please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectation.

Kind regards,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
5.3 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
8.8 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
8.1 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
7.7 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
518 reviews
12.0 km away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Property: The Boat Hotel
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,722 - ₹ 13,864
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing