We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage, wonderful scenery, wonderful...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Meadow Cottage

Meadow Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Meadow Cottage
Heated swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Meadow Cottage
Heated swimming pool
Lounge fireplace
Lounge
Dining area
Kitchen
Double bedroom
Downstairs bedroom
Triple bedroom
Twin bedroom
Hall
Garden
Meadow garden
garden view
pool exterior
Pool view
Fishing lake
Free coarse fishing
on the farm
In the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Winkleigh, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandpie
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage, wonderful scenery, wonderful holiday.”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just back from a super week at Meadow Cottage. A beautiful, large, farm house on an organic sheep farm in Devon. The indoor swimming pool was a great way to start the day and kept the whole family entertained even when the weather wasn't so good.
Sophia and Roy always make you feel welcome, this was our forth visit, can't stay away.
It's delightful to watch the sheep and lambs, so relaxing in the wide open country side.
Great Torrington is full of historical interest, the Panner Market there is well worth a visit for bargains.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulmers81...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just had a fantastic week in Meadow Cottage, Roy and Sophia are so welcoming the cottage is spacious and clean. Unfortunately we needed a doctor while we were there, Sophia sorted it all out for us with her own GP many thanks. The swimming pool is bonus that we made full use of, the children (and adults) enjoyed the pool immensely .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquillity
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xbx09
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect getaway!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Me and my husband stayed in meadow cottage along with 3 other couples and had the most perfect weekend away! The house itself was just beautiful and the grounds it was set in were idyllic. There was plenty to do from swimming in the indoor pool... Sitting round the log fire... Or fishing in the private lake! We were never bored. We met the local animals who were all very friendly... And the owners were extremely helpful and lovely... But at the same time left us to our own devices during our stay which was great! We really did love our time at your beautiful farm and are already planning our return in September thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Far above standard”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage was beautiful, fully furnished, very comfortable. Area around was the perfect getaway. The proprietors were very welcoming, friendly people, provided all the necessities (towels, toiletries, etc), we informed them it was for someone's birthday and they were even kind enough to provide a birthday cake and a bottle of wine. Really fantastic people. Probably the nicest holiday let I've stayed in. Would recommend to anyone looking for a break from society.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjp_wcc
devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding place with total tranquility”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Warm and wonderful. Sophia and Roy may are always very helpful and there is so much available to do both on the farm and around the are a must to go and stay there

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 129
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing